We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise: Las Casitas is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed and we have traveled all around the world.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a resort where you stay and not plan to move about. there is plenty of opportunity for exercise just getting from pool to pool. The architechtural style of Las Casitas Village had us in awe. We loved the Infinity pool but sampled all of them. We were especially pleased at the lack of crowded space. The access to Palomino Is. was superb. It is pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view casita on the first floor and were very happy. It wasn't noisy and we enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,232 - 1,238 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Last night at Las Casitas. The view is great, the room is nice if a little tired. We've had plumbing problems (little pressure or heat) that took two days to fix. The Casitas are fine and have a quiet quality but are part of a huge resort. It was full of families this weekend. There is lots to do and seems like a decent place to take the kids.
The check in team had that cool detached thing not uncommon at some Carribbean and Bahamian resorts. The resort sent us a concierge form to fill out before we came and they did a nice job of having everything we wanted booked and ready. The rest of the staff, including the maids, were unfailingly polite and smiling. The restaurants over at the Conquistador had average quality food and good service with the exception of the Stingray which was quite good (both food and service).
Although a bit of an effort to get to (a 20 minute ferry) the beach here is quite nice. If you like to be near the beach, this isn't the place.
The spa was first class and very relaxing. Take the extra time to avail yourself of the steams, hot tubs, steam showers, weight room etc along with your treatment. It was a very relaxing experience.
I come away not unhappy but not impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chillmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Resort did NOT meet our expectations. Sure you can see the turquoise water, but there's a lot of other fabulous locations in which you will feel you actually get your money's worth. We paid Triple AAA rate $579/nite + resort fees + taxes. We've called maintenance every day for water faucets that don't turn off to no A/C. This resort is old & tired. The owners need to spend some $$$. Attitude of the help was much to be desired------pissed off at the gringos. We recommend the Ritz Carlton on Grand Cayman Island for a better experience!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CiraMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I should say first that my family (2 adults, 2 kids, ages 9 & 8) had a great time here. Having said that, I cannot say that the resort fully met our expectations.

The good:
1. The location is spectacular. Located on the north east corner of PR, the resort has fabulous ocean views and its own easily accessible island.
2. The "casitas" are spacious, reasonably well equipped and have two nice pools reserved for Casitas guests. You are also within a leisurely 7-minute stroll of the main hotel and its larger pools, shops, etc.
3. The hotel breakfast is good (if unchanging) and the sophisticated Stingray Cafe, down at the Marina, serves cuisine of which a top NY restaurant would be proud

The not-so-good:
1. In terms of overall quality of fixtures and fittings, maintenance and, most particularly, service (more on this later), the resort is definitely more Westin (which one guest told me it used to be) than Waldorf. Service is spotty at best, ranging from helpful (housekeeping) to adequate (front desk, concierge, waitstaff) to just plain absent (fishing charter desk).
2. Activities for kids are very limited, with many scheduled activities not actually happening, arcade games old and tired, and staff showing little genuine enthusiasm
3. The overall level of service made me feel that the hotel (not that busy for this fairly peak week) was trying to save money, by keeping staff levels down and failing to invest in training: I needed a pencil for my daughter ("no, we only have pens"); a shuttle ride to the main hotel (no show); dive shop (promised call to confirm never came), etc.
4. With glittering exception of Stingray Cafe, and the decent Bally Hoo Grill, restaurants are poor (avoid Cafe Caribe, above all)
All-in-all, it is practically impossible not to have a good time here, such is the natural beauty of the place, but, if you come expecting the luxurious experience that this reviewer, at least, expects from a Waldorf, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I cannot overstate how amazing our visit to Las Casitas was. The property itself is beautifully maintained, with gorgeous amenities and an infinity pool that is unparalleled. Staying at Las Casitas gives guests access to a private island--Palomino Island--by ferry, which is included at no charge. Frankly, the island was all we needed. Everything else was icing on the cake.

The Less-Than-Perfect: Only one picky thing--the food feels like resort food. It was good, but not great, and very expensive for what it was. We had a car, and were absolutely delighted when we started venturing out to some very nearby places with incredible charm and better values.

The Great: Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful facilities. Access to any amenity you could imagine. Phenomenal staff. Zero stress, from check-in to check-out. This is a perfect place to stay for couples or for families. It's a teeny bit expensive, but a phenomenal value when you consider everything that it includes. Easy access to El Yunque and the Vieques ferry, if you wish to venture out for a day trip. Horseback riding on Palomino Island.

The Unbelievable: Private Island. The pools. The marina bar. The coquis and tropical foliage. Kayaking to Palomonito Cay. Rum drinks. Perfect white sand. OMG. Book this hotel already.

Room Tip: They're all nice. The ocean view rooms will blow your mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoxAndEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our anniversary there and loved it. For the past several years we stayed at the el conquistador. Well not anymore. The las casitas are excellent. Service was tremendous. Wanda at check in was awesome. The room was a regular guestroom with an ocean view. It was great. Housekeeping was great as well. You read reviews and people complain and I don't know why. Must be an isolated situation. Bell service great. No problems other than wifi and cell phone service could not be accessed in our room. Which made it hard to stay in touch with our children and work via wifi. Other than that we love it there. Private island is so much fun. Yes, restaurants are pricey so we mixed it up and went to a few local restaurants that were recommended. Taxi service is great there. We went off property to culebra one day. Ferry is just a few minutes away. 9.00 for the 2 of us round trip. Taxi cost 20 to get there. Flamenco beach is drop dead gorgeous and zoni beach was as well. My opinion, palomino island just as pretty and no hassel getting there. I recommend kyacking over to palomanito it is amazing. We also went horsebackriding and the view was great from the top of mountain. Be prepared for a lot of walking and bring comfy shoes. We love it there!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanessa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at Las Casitas Village from 1/25/13-1/28/13 with two of my best friends for a girlfriends weekend to celebrate my birthday. Our stay was wonderful!! The Casitas are breathtaking as well as the entire grounds of the resort including the Conquistador. The views are amazing as well as the many pools, restaurants and the private beach. The staff was extremely accommodating and the concierge service was a plus. Will definitely go back again and again!! Food on the premises is expensive- suggest looking into local restaurants such as Las Vistas Cafe, El Varadero Sea Side Grill, and La Estacion all only 10 min. from the hotel. They were all delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
26.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $236 - $843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing