We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place -- would love to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I just returned from a 5 day stay at Las Casitas. My family of 5 and a friend's family of 5 stayed in a 3 bedroom villa (4 adults; 6 kids age 6-13). The villas are beautiful!!!! Very clean and spacious and we were upgraded to an ocean view at no extra charge. It is much quieter in the villas than the hotel and I would recommend staying there.
We did not use the hotel's transportation. Instead we used TM Transportation. The owner, Tony Mateo, is very professional. He was waiting for us in the baggage area and was instantly friendly and polite. We needed a large van to transport the 10 of us and he had a cooler of water, soda and local beer for us to enjoy. Although he is from NY he has lived in PR for 20 years and was a wealth of information. On the way back to the airport he drove us through Old San Juan to show us the sites. Since it was Good Friday, all of the stores were closed. The cost was $290 for all of us. I highly recommend this service.

We took full advantage of having a stocked kitchen Each family packed a suitcase of non-perishable foods (muffins, cereal bars; pop tarts; gold fish crackers; fruit roll-ups, etc.....) and then we sent in an order prior to our stay to have other food (meat; cheese; milk, etc...) in our refrig when we arrived. We ended up eating breakfast in the casita every morning; packed sandwiches and chips for lunch and made 3 dinners. We did eat dinner out near the marina one night....our bill for 10 people with tip was $185. The food was average and very expensive considering we only had burgers and cokes!!!!
The butler service was non-existent and, overall, the service is not that of a 5 star hotel. While everyone is very nice, they are not proactive in asking if you need anything. Our butler announced when we arrived that he would be off for the next 2 days. He said his partner would be able to help us but we never heard from him again. We finally saw them the night before we were leaving to see when he should come by to bring down our luggage. It would have been nice to be contacted each day to see if we needed anything.
The private island is very nice and was not crowded considering it was spring break/holy week. The boat to the island was easy to use and the kids really enjoyed it. Unfortunately, the island closed down for the remainder of our stay because Puerto Rico was experiencing 20 foot waves (first time in 45 years!!!). We brought a soft cooler of sandwhches, fruit and drinks to the island. Everyone seems to do this.
The water park is fun and I recommend only doing a half day. It is small with only 3 rides and a lazy river......I do not think it warrants a full day. We were able to bring our own snacks and drinks.
My husband and friend played golf and said the course was very nice with beautiful views. They brought their own shoes but rented clubs.
My friend and I used the spa and had a message. It was great!!!! You are able to use the spa amenities all day for no extra charge. Since we had 6 kids waiting for us, we only stayed for about 2 hours.
There are plenty of pools to choose from with the Infinity pool at the casitas being the prettiest.
I would definitely go back to this hotel even though the food and service are below par. The grounds are beautiful, the views are breathtaking and the casitas are worth the price. Next time I would rent a car and venture off the poroperty. I would have loved to taste Puerto Rican food -- which is non-existent at the hotel. I recommend this resort for families with kids. My kids loved it.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank nytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Nytex,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our TripAdvisor community. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your villa and Palomino Island.

All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2008

My family and I stayed at las casitas village for our 1st time. We come here alot, but usually stay in the main hotel. Both of my parents have special dietary needs, and our butlers Will and Manny were both amazing helpful. They recommened us restraunts, made reservations, and most of all they always had a smile on their faces. My sister and I both thought they were funny, and totally helpful. My family and I are going back in MAY!! and we requested Will and Manny again!
TRY IT OUT FOR YOUR SELF

Stayed: March 2008
Thank frizzled89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Frizzled89,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our TripAdvisor community and for honoring us with your first review. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review.

We also appreciated that you recognized your butlers Manny and Will. The butler service really sets Las Casitas Village apart and we are blessed to have such incredible employees.

All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful stay and experience at Las Casitas Village in Puerto Rico. We made our reservations through their website which was easy to do. We were later contacted by Ana Colon, a Personal Vacation Planner at the hotel, who sent us an e-mail with helpful guides to planning our arrival. Prior to the trip Ana was very helpful via e-mail in orienting us to the El Conquistador facility, provided restaurant suggestions and reservations, waterpark tickets and even personnally, took on a special food request we had by enlisting her Mom to make us some typical Puerto Rican food! Service can't get any better then that!!!

The property is large, so be prepared to walk and plan your activities. The pools are spectacular and numerous. The private island is absolutely beautiful and excellent for water sports. We have 2 small children and they had a blast snorkeling and swimming in clear emerald green waters.

We had breakfasts at Las Brisas restaurant and dinners a Blossoms and Othellos at the hotel. Food was excellent, but it was pricey. Reading other reviews we expected this so it wasn't a surprise. Transportation to and from the Village to the main hotel via golf-cart shuttle was fine, although I can see where this might be get cumbersome for some people or be problematic if the hotel is super crowded. Our villa was in the south Village of Las Casitas and although we did walk once to the main hotel, its all uphill and we only did it once.

I'd definitely recommend Las Casitas and we're certainly planning to go back. Given this experience I'd request a villa in the North Village to be a bit closer to the main hotel, and I'd better plan our menus and stock the villa to do breakfast in to conserve some dollars.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PetePuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear PetePuma,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our TripAdvisor community. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review.

We are also grateful that you recognized Ana, our Vacation Planner. By the way she is still one of our valued team members.

All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for our wedding. Everything was great!!!!! It is a little expensive but it is a big beautiful resort. WHAT DO YOU EXPECT? If you can't afford to pay a little extra for food and drinks you should stay in Puerto Rico anyway. Our butlers Eddie and Jose were terrific!!!!!! They were so great to have they made everything easier. Definitely as for them!!! There are really no complaints for this hotel at all!! All of our guests had a great time and they had no issues either. I am already making plans to spend our 1 year anniversary at Casitas. Feel free to email me if you have any questions!!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcjc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Mcjc08,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our TripAdvisor community, it was an honor to have been the Resort selected for such as special occasions as your wedding. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review.

We also appreciated that you recognized your butlers Eddie and Jose, whom made a difference during your stay.

All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back...for that anniversary maybe!

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

This is an oasis within an oasis. Las Casitas is perfect place for a family vacation. oy vacation. Spring Break, 6 kids, Aunt, Uncle, Grandma and my wife. They have butlers and staff that take care of everything. Manny Santiago and Wilfredo Carmona are tow good examples.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank JTMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear JTMclean,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our TripAdvisor community. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review.

We so appreciated that you recognized those employees that made a difference during your stay. The butler service really sets Las Casitas Village apart and we are blessed to have team members such as Manny and Wilfredo.

All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

I spent a week at las casitas village and let me tell you, it was more than I expected. I was overjoyed with the idea of having my own personal butler service and enjoying the new facilities that the property had to offer. My butlers names were Pablo and Jeffrey whom helped me with reservations and appointments, they were fabulous. I enjoyed the calm and serenitive Golden door spa and even went to the highly recommended rain forest. Not to mention I felt like a kid again when I enjoyed the water park. I do recommend this resort not only because of the facilities, but by the great service provided by the staff. Keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vivid_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Vivid_Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our TripAdvisor community. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review. We so appreciated that you pointed out the great service you received from your butlers Pablo and Jeffrey.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you have not visited us since then.

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Las Casitas Village. Since the moment we arrived we felt amazed with the beautiful property. We fell in love with our ocean view casitas villa which had a pool just a few feet away. The staff members were friendly, specially our butlers Jeffrey and Pablo, whom went out of there way to make us feel welcome right from the start. We are looking foward to our next stay and we will be requesting them again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hurley108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear hurley108,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our TripAdvisor community. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review. We so appreciated that you pointed out the great service you received from your butlers Jeffrey and Pablo.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you have not visited us since then.

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.5 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
18 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $314 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing