We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Service in PR” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Service in PR”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very beautiful location and great service. The bartenders jetsemaniel and alexander provide great service at the pool and bar. Both always attentive and friendly. The only bad thing was the bar WAS NOT WELL SUPPLIED. Don Q is essential in PR. We want to try the local rum not the international!!!! Help your emoyees give a better service!!!

Everything else was great. A great weekend, great view and stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alejo_1pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Alejo_1PR,

Thank you for speaking so highly of our Resort and its wonderful employees. We pride ourselves on being able to give authentic, from the heart service. Please come back and visit soon, we will ensure the bar is stocked with all Don Q flavors for you!

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    372
    136
    75
    50
See reviews for
879
322
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

A lovely property - simply lovely. Lush and tropical, but NOT 5 Star pristine. If I wanted to nick pick, there are areas that could be ‘5 Starred’, but not enough to comment or IMHO ruin a stay.

Check in was a breeze in an informal, relaxed setting. Our butler ‘E…’ was great, ushered us to our wonderful one bedroom Villa, answered effectively all our questions, filled our refrigerator with water and made it clear he was available “as needed” (meaning ...call me, I will come, but I will not be hanging around solely for you). Everything we asked of him was answered with “no problem”. He delivered for us.

Plan to walk a bit. South side rooms = you will walk allot more. The hotel at its’ finest = AN OCEAN VIEW VILLA (splurge, and settle for nothing else. . . .you become more relaxed and accepting when you are visually happy, with an awesome balcony oceanic view of an island and not looking around for fault in the room and service)!

Your experience will be greatly heightened, just with the ease of reaching the El Conquistador (approx. a 5 min. walk) from the north side of the hotel, while being on the south side will add an additional 10 minutes UPHILL to your walk to the main hotel. You can call for shuttle pick-up if walking is not an option.

Something for everyone. Many pools (the infinity pool is wonderful), many forms of entertainment, many resort shops in the main hotel.

There are plenty of opportunities to buy the latest in beach/resort wear – swimwear, hats, sundress, shorts, tops, shoes, everything. . . . of course at 15% more! The Spa is great + expensive and the Las Casitas exercise room is very well equipped and includes assorted classes during the weekend.

The private island is really fantastic with games for kids and adults. Island drinks and food, (reasonable considering you are on their private island, about $15 for sandwich and $10/$11 for a mixed drink) and a beautiful coral beach (if you forget your water shoes, they will sell them to you in a hotel shop, about $25, before you board the ferry and they even have a little shop on the island for resort purchases).

Iguanas, horses and other things to do (Of course, nothing is free!) They ask you not to bring food or beverage to the island, but they did not check our bags when we got on the ferry to the island.

We visited the hotel and the private island during off season, and it was pretty empty, but during season there would appear to be plenty of pool and beach space, but limited space on funicular (30 people max) and elevators and even on the ferry.

Make sure you factor in walk time, (5-15 minutes) and wait time for the funicular (10 - 15 minutes) and elevators, (2 -3 minutes) as the ferry is pretty accurate in its’ scheduled leave times, both from and to the private island. I’d plan an early arrival to ensure a pleasant experience anywhere at the resort, as this is a huge place. If you go in season, plan for crowds and a party atmosphere in the main hotel!

The 18 hole golf course is full of rolling terrain, and is also very well maintained. Simply gorgeous.

Dining is just so-so and considerably more than you would pay elsewhere. If you want cheaper prices, rent a car and go into town. The surrounding area offers plenty of local flair, both good and bad. I cannot imagine going to the resort (which is on a hill, gated and secluded away from the rest of the ‘flavorful’ surroundings) without my own private transportation to explore the area and see the true Puerto Rico!

I believe it to be cheaper in the long run to rent Avis or Charlie’s at the airport and drive in as this allows you the freedom to drive to the Rain Forrest, which is about 30-40 minutes from the hotel, or the Bio Bay Tour, 5-10 minute drive, or to Passion Restaurant – (5 minutes away, the best eatery we experienced on the island), or to visit San Juan --another hour + away--, or other areas of the island.

Driving to the lush grounds will take you through the first gated entrance for the main facility, turn right when you see Las Casitas Private Villa sign, as going straight will take you to the main hotel. You will then go through another gated entrance, be handed your parking signage, (so that you park free) and continue UP more hills to the reception.

So, rent a car, go to Wal-Mart for your sun items and load up on groceries at Ralph’s, both on the main street (right before you turn left to head up to the resort). Get an ocean view villa, cook/eat in the villa, (save a few bucks, so you can afford the villa) or eat out in town.

Venture over to the main hotel for the robust entertainment and casinos and enjoy your villa for the peaceful calm, pool and Jacuzzi outside your door! Relax, Las Casitas is great!

Room Tip: Splurge and get a north side ocean view villa- while all rooms are nice, the villa will make you fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HopesandDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear HopesAndDreams,

It was very kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review of your visit to Las Casitas Village. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our butler service, Eddie is indeed a gem. I also appreciated your level of details and insight. If you allow me to add that we always recommend to contact our Personal Concierges ahead of the trip so that they may share equally important information about the resort and share how to best enjoy it.

HopesAndDreams, all of us truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My partner and I celebrated our 1 yr. anniversary in Puerto Rico and we can honestly say our experience was memorable. Here are the Pros and Cons:

Pros:

Amazing views (breath taking)
Hospitable people
Efficient service
24hr. Pool accessibility
Everything you need is on site
Spacious room
Comfortable bed
Spacious bathroom
Safe/secured location
Private Island accessibility
Local eateries within a 10min drive from the hotel
No dust in the room
Very accommodating to guests

Cons:

Far from San Juan/Old San Juan
No microwave in the room
Stains on sheets, curtains (housekeeper replaced immediately after complaining)
Minor rusting in the tube
Not all the restaurants were open at the time of stay/ some of the restaurants/shops closed too early

Overall, great experience and would certainly recommend in staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a retreat of peace and quiet definitely stay at the Villages "Las Casita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mjenkins711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México
Level Contributor
422 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very impressive place with breathtaking view to the sea and adjacent islands... Huge convention place, beautiful golf place and nice and clean bars and pools... I was there a couple of hours, visiting (didn't stay overnight)...

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Fevigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We came for our Honeymoon at the last week of Sept. We arrived from the airport after the shuttle stopped running, so we had to get a cab...$89. Our villa was amazing, spacious, great view of the ocean, full kitchen. Since it was off season, most of the resturants were closed on the resort and the ones that were open closed at 9 or 10pm. The food was crazy expensive and only mediocre as was anything else we bought at the resort. We found out that there were a few good restaurants within a 7-10 minute walking distance. (Through the gate, at the marina where the ferry leaves for the private beach) You walk past a park where you will find all of them. We loved El Bohio. It was really good food and reasonable prices. I would not suggest walking past 7-8 pm, however, which limits your time to enjoy a dinner outside of the resort. We HIGHLY suggest planning ahead to rent a car. Everything else was amazing. Tip your housekeepers, they are very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Concord, Kentucky
Level Contributor
239 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Las Casitas Villas serves as our annual paradise/vacation location. The Staff - Max (GM), Ana (Exec. Asst.), Chick & Daniel (Housekeeping Managers) and Butlers provide professional service and makes everyone feel welcomed and VERY special. The Villas are beautifully equipped, contain a full kitchen and have their own pools and bar, but are also co-located with the El Conquistador Hotel with many upscale restaurants, shops, huge pools and great bars. The property is located on a 300' cliff overlooking the ocean/sea and their gorgeous private Palomino Is. served by their free water ferry. The on-property Golf Course and Spa are World Class. Butlers are available 24/7 to provide any and all services, to include pre-arrival provisions (food, alcohol, water, ice) and transportation to/from auto parking, hotel, golf course, etc. LOTS of walking opportunities around the beautifully maintained grounds.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet, relaxing vacation then select Las Casitas Villas. If you want to be closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The setting here is beautiful, mostly due to the beautiful coastline and a hotel that takes advantage of its views. However, most amenities leave much to be desired. The best day we had was spent entirely on our balcony - enjoying the breath-taking view, the breeze, and not using any hotel amenities.

Pros: 
- There's something here for everyone; no age group can get bored. 
- Our one bedroom ocean front room at Las Casitas was VERY comfortable. Our balcony was our favorite place to hang out. We had a reasonable rate, and the kitchen was a convenient amenity. For the same price as a one-bedroom in the main hotel, we're very happy to have been here. It was much more peaceful.
- The beach is beautiful. The pool at Las Casitas North Village is very quiet, and the North Village is very convenient to the resort - a very short walk. The South Village looks much less convenient.
- The gym in the spa building is terrific and underutilized - we were usually working out alone or with only one other guest. 
- Blackjack tables were very reasonably priced - $5 min on nights we went. 
- Fabulous dinners at Strip House, Stingray, and La Piccolo restaurants. We loved the food, ambiance and decor at all three.
- Our best experience was with our babysitter Minnie. Minnie is a hotel employee who babysat our infant son all 4 nights of our stay, and she was wonderful. Plus, we loved having the same babysitter every night. Thank you to Minnie and to the concierge Juan who set this up for us prior to our arrival. 

Cons: 
- Daytime dining was our greatest disappointment. One restaurant had to make my omelet 3 times before they got it right. (Tomatoes, peppers and cheese - how difficult could that be?) Salads tasted bland. Grilled chicken - whether on salads or sandwiches - was over-cooked. Lunch menus contained a maximum of 6 options. The best lunch I had was a burger at the Golf Grill (which is a fast food stand). 
- For dinner, Blossoms is in need of a make-over, and is certainly not "Asian fusion" - that's just a fancier way of saying Chinese and Japanese food. 
- Drake's bar had nice strong drinks, but slow service and sticky menus. (Yuck!) We drank at the Strip House bar the next night for a better experience. I strongly recommend it.
- Hotel felt under-staffed. We realize the economy probably doesn't support full staffing, but instead of providing too little staffing everywhere, we would have preferred if resources were consolidated. (ie. close the juice bar and golf grill in the off-season; update room service menus with accurate hours, etc) For example, we waited WAY too long to check in, partially because the airport shuttle dropped us at the main building and we didn't know we should have checked in at Las Casitas. Then the front desk had the wrong rate in the computer for us.  I read a rumor on Trip Advisor that there are butlers here. Must just be a rumor. My husband called room service for lunch - menu says its served till 1:30 - and he was transferred 3 times, then told that room service no longer serves lunch. The spa's gym, which is open till 6pm "everyday", closed abruptly at 5:30 one afternoon when I showed up. I never saw the juice bar open, though I went almost everyday and was told they open Fri-Sun. The first day we arrived, the pool at the North Village had no towels left, and there was no one around to ask for more. (i called the front desk and they had it restocked.)
- The only day we went to the beach, we arrived on the 10am ferry; the beach was still rather empty, but all the shady chairs under umbrella huts were reserved with towels but no personal belongings. Where were these mysterious guests who reserved all the shady chairs so early and disappeared? We had an infant, and desperately needed shade for him. Should we have bribed our imaginary butler in advance to reserve our seats? I don't know. We never went back.
- Wifi is hit or miss - usually miss. Don't expect reliable access.

This is truly a beautiful resort. Just don't have high expectations for service or casual dining. Lots to do, beautiful setting, and Las Casitas are quiet and peaceful. 

Room Tip: The North Village is a very short walk to the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cortney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing