We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bio Bay and Borikua Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bio Bay Kayaking

Bio Bay Kayaking
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bio Bay and Borikua Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friends and i just returned from Puerto Rico and i must say, i am pleasantly surprised. San Juan is beautiful and the people are very helpful and nice. Half way through our trip we decided to book a trip at the Bio Bay in Fajardo. Robert from Borikua Tours came to pick us up from the hotel. He was very professional and personable. Kept us engaged and entertained through out the whole trip. Once we arrived at Bio Bay, we checked in and walked around to experience all the outdoor music and food. Kayaking in the bay was amazing and definitely a unique experience. The water lit up as we touched it and kayaking was quite the work out. At the end of the tour Robert collected us and took us back to the hotel. He was very patient and attentive to all our needs. We enjoyed traveling and hearing all he knew about Puerto Rico that we booked a second tour the next day to go explore caves. It was definitely worth it. I have and will recommend him to all my friends and anyone visiting Puerto Rico, he definitely knows how to suggest well worth activities. Puerto Rico stole my hear with its beauty and welcoming people. I will definitely return again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    14
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bioluminescent Bay was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went with wife and two kids (13 and 10). Had an excellent guide named Tony. Took the late trip that started around 8:30. Kayaked in the dark across a small shallow bay then along a narrow river/canal (about 30 ft wide or so) until we reached the lagoon. The whole trip was magical. Lots of whispering and laughing. Tour guide gave the group great information and was funny also. Plenty of time to paddle around the lagoon and watch the crazy fireworks in the water or lay back and watch the stars. Very unique experience. Whole family enjoyed it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Great guide!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went out last night with Kayaking Puerto Rico to the bio bay. There were 3 of us and we arrived late, unfortunately. But luckily, Angel was waiting for us. We figured it was too late to go, but Angel kept saying, "Don't worry!". We jumped into a couple of kayaks and Angel hooked us together and we all started paddling, though Angel was doing the most work. Really fun to go through the mangroves, while Angel pointed out herons, iguanas, termite bolls, etc. then on to the bay. Overall, lots of fun for a reasonable price!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“See how the water glows at night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This excursion is worth the trip if you have some free time while on your stay in PR. But in order to get your money's worth make sure that there will be no moon out or you won't get the full effect. Be prepared for a workout cuz you do about a mile total of kayak. Make sure you have a good partner on your kayak. I was amazed to see water glow at night. It's the bacteria!

Helpful?
Thank MsMomo2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

this is not worth the money...use the money to kayak sure during the day but not at night! I did not see nor the other 7 people I was with any glowing fish except for the laminated book the instructor was holding up with a flashlight pinned on it to display what you COULD see at times when it is their rainy season!!! Oh sure, we saw the light with the paddle but you couldn't even enjoy that because of the oncoming traffic bumping into your kayak based on the fact it was tight quarters and they could not see where they were going!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bio Bay Kayaking also viewed

 

Been to Bio Bay Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing