We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's more than the bay and the lagoon!”
Review of BioIsland

BioIsland
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's more than the bay and the lagoon!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sure, we all take this trip to watch the water in the lagoon light up when we disturb it, and to enjoy spotting wildlife among the mangroves on our way to the lagoon and then back, but it's Jeff's narration and explanations that make this exceptional. Another big plus for visitors who live in cities is (if your excursion is on a clear night) that you will get to see many more stars than you can at home, in a very peaceful setting. What a lovely an unexpected bonus! And if you plan to drive to Fajardo from the Rio Grande area or from San Juan or further west you can stop for local cuisine in one or more of the "kioskos" in Luquillo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ThumbsupThumbsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    50
    20
    9
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LOS ANGELES
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the ride”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sure I could have done the kayak but why do all the work when you don't have to? Taking the electric boat allowed me to relax and really take in ALL of the experience. I didn't have to worry about running into trees, other kayakers, the boats, or even tipping over, which would have been FREAKY considering the surroundings. Plus in the boat we are able to travel out further in the lagoon and learn all about it from the captains (who rock by the way!) I was even able to capture some amazing pictures on my digital camera thanks to Capt. Charlie who was knowledgable enough to fix the settings on my camera and take pics of me. This is an absolute MUST DO in Puerto Rico. HAVE FUN!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLunaSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Great trip to the bio lagoon”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This trip was lots of fun. Captain Charlie and Captain Jeff are very knowledgeable. They make sure that you have an opportunity to experience the illuminessence in the water. So beautiful! Be sure to look for the land crabs and iguanas on the trip in and out of the lagoon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank glendaruth1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUCYRUS, KS
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“don't miss amazing tour!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Family recommended us to see a bioluminescent bay while in Puerto Rico. We were originally told to take the kayak tour as it would be "fun" to be closer to the water. All of the kayak tours were booked, so we called BioIsland which is a boat tour. After seeing the kayakers struggle, tip, crash, and work so hard-we were so glad we took the boat ride. Our captain was amazing-and added bonus was able to help all of us with our cameras to help us get night photos. The guide was extremely aware of this environment and it's history and was able to answer ALL questions that anyone might have. Come to think of it, he was able to answer ALL questions about any environment anywhere. The kayakers didn't get this kind of one on one information. Being on the boat allowed us to go out further into the bay, whereas the kayakers were prohibited from going out into the bay very far. The wonder and the beauty of the illuminated waters and fish is unbelievable (very cool also!) The mangroves, the iguanas sleeping in the trees, and the singing frogs (I think they were frogs-I thought they were birds at first, was side tracked by staring at amazing scenery) were all unforgettable. We are not big wilderness people, but after this tour and visiting Puerto Rico, we suddenly are. EXTRA HIGH FIVE FOR OWNERS/OPERATORS OF BIOISLANDS TOURS: At the end of our tour, we had no ride. There were no cabs and our rental car was still at the ferry dock (we had a very long day.) We asked them for help finding a cab, and instead he drove us himself to our rental car about 20 minutes away. When we tried to pay him for the ride, he repeatedly refused and insisted that we use it for a drink on him. Do not miss this tour and definitely do not go with a kayak or with any other company-THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO GO IF YOU WANT THE COMPLETE AND ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE OF THE BIOBAY.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RAECHEL_BRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Unique and fun experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just returned from our bio bay tour and had a blast! I highly recommend taking the boat vs. the kayak...very relaxing and enjoyable. Our guides were funny and informative. They spent a lot of time explaining everything to us. Would do it again!

Helpful?
Thank cromak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BioIsland also viewed

 

Been to BioIsland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing