We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educational Tour”

Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.99*
and up
Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Comprised of three headlands that extend into the Atlantic ocean, this nature reserve encompasses seven different ecosystems including forests, beaches and offshore coral reefs.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Educational Tour”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Reserved and paid for the English speaking tour in advance online. Our guide was very knowledgeable and professional which made for an outstanding tour. The tour took us on a tram through the preserve (land-crabs, termite mounds, and iguanas), to a rocky beach area, lighthouse (breathtaking views all around and were able to see bioluminescent dinoflagellates kept there), and mangrove forest (use bug spray here). Low impact tour; the tour is mostly on the tram with little walking. Would return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlanoCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    67
    12
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent and very informative!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Well worth the trip to Fajardo from Old San Juan. Very informative and interesting. Incredible views from the lighthouse. We made a day out of this outing as the reserve is literally right next to a beautiful beach with a couple of eateries around. In the evening, we booked a Bio Bay electric boat tour in Las Croabas (only 15 minutes away). Also amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya5327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

One of our friends booked this tour for us. The tour guide was really funny & informative & everything was so beautiful. You can't beat the views from the lighthouse. I would definitely recommend seeing this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank grounded728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Informative tour with lots of wildlife”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I loved seeing iguanas in the wild and learning about El Faro, the lighthouse built by the Spanish. This tour is great for all ages as it involves a good mix of walking, tram ride, education, and a tiny bit of air conditioning in part of the lighthouse!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aliza26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
253 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This tram excursion was very interesting. You had to reserve a head of time for an English tour.
The guide was full of information. We made several stops in the 2 1/2 hour tour: at the ocean, the lighthouse (bathrooms) and a boardwalk trail. The lighthouse deck had wonderful views. We saw lots of small crabs on the side of the road, a few birds. Bring lots of cold water, it was VERY hot. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelerdebBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing