We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool”
Review of Bioluminescent Bay

Bioluminescent Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$165.00*
and up
El Yunque Rainforest Nature Walk and Bioluminescent Bay Kayaking Combo Tour
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Bioluminescent Bay Kayak Adventure Tour from San Juan
More Info
$106.00*
and up
Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Fajardo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the three bioluminescent bays in PR - others are in Vieques and in SW of Island.
Mendham, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very cool”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Definitely worth it to see; the glowing microorganisms were pretty cool. We could see them when we rowed our paddles, splashed water, on our hands and arms with the water dripping down, even when fish jumped! It was harder to see in the biobay because the moon was out half full and bright. Definitely want to check the moon before you go. Maybe go for the later tour if it's darker.
We rented kayaks with "Kayak Rental" for $45 pp. The concierge at our hotel set us up ahead of time. We were a bit disappointed by the "naturalist guide"; not exactly biologist material; more a local with a general ten minute explanation. The kayaking through the mangrove canal was awesome. People didn't realize on the way in that the water was already glowing in the dark canal, they were all so focused on paddling! There were other kayak groups ahead of us and behind us, and motorized boats also traveling through the small canals. Lots of yelling, "stay right!" Through the canals the guides only focused on getting us all in through safely. After we were in the bay, we had a little guided explanation but it was brighter because of the moon so not as fantastic. The current was going out, so on the way out, everyone was bumping into each other; it was a bit comical or stressful depending on who you were.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAbbySeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,363
    469
    227
    129
    109
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“bio bay”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went on 11/4 with Kayaking puerto rico. Trip and guides were great. Long trip through the mangroves to get to the bay. Kind of an adventure in the dark, but lots of fun. The microorganisms that light up in the bay when you move your hand or paddle was one of the coolest things we have ever seen. Hopefully they will keep this natural treasure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank curtis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“definitely worth all the efforts of kayaking 2.5 miles”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I can't recommend enough of the bio-bay tour. One tip for future visitors, please make sure to wear something that can quickly dry because you will be soaked at the end of the tour and you want to stay as dry as possible on your way back to the hotel.

It took about 1 hour to kayak into the lagoon. I've heard from the tour guide that Nov. is the last month to see the plankton for the year and the water is usually on fire in Nov. I guess I got lucky as there was little moonlight that night and everyone in the team was amazed by the nature.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Xinyue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime, our tips, pick a good tour and transportation”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

There are MANY companies that do this tour, the attraction is AMAZING, be sure to pick a good company. We used KPR Biobay Kayak tours. Really easy to book online and the guides were professional and fun. They had nice transportation from what we could tell, although we drove on our own.

We decided to brave the roads and travel by rental car from our hotel in San Juan. We barely made it, due to my limited Spanish and asking for directions, after printing out 3 different sets of directions, downloading an international GPS app on our phone and trying to use that. Needless to say, you can travel by rental car but we don't recommend it. Well worth the extra cost for transportation. It always rains on the way there due to the rainforest.

The tour itself was spectacular, we were on our honeymoon. Kayaking in a two man boat is a lot more difficult especially for new Kayakers, my husband knew what he was doing and after giving me a few simple instructions we were fine. There were a few other Kayakers there that had a really tough time; if you are not outdoorsy and don't pick up on new things quickly I would get some Kayaking experience before going in this tour. People that can't row hold up the line and everyone bumps into them, I thought the couple in front of us fought and complained more than they enjoyed themselves.

Really romantic and special tour otherwise! The water really glows, if you splash your partner you can see hundreds of thousands of tiny blue glowing sparkles all over them. So cool and worth every penny!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lonidixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand junction
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We did the Bio bay tour the last night of our stay in Puerto Rico and we couldn't have picked a better adventure to end our trip with. The Bio Bay was AMAZING, hence the title. We took my 6 year old son and he absolutely loved it and had a great time. The company we went through, Kayak Puerto Rico, was so great as well. The guides were just wonderful and made the tour so much fun! I typically hate tours and have written them off, but I didn't have any other options if I wanted to see the Bio Bay. This company renewed my faith in some tours!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank tonibologna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bioluminescent Bay also viewed

El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bioluminescent Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing