We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Caribbean food!”

El Racar Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 102 Restaurants in Fajardo
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Puerto Rican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Caribbean food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

It is just a little hole-in-the wall, but it's good. Don't be afraid to go there and eat. Birds want to be fed and will swoop in close.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Icelandic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    14
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good place to grab some local food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ate lunch here with the family (including young kids). We walked from the El Conquistador, which is a half mile or so away. The food was really good. We got lunch fare, mofongo, tostones, etc. I would recommend for a change of pace away from the resort. The area looks a little rough, some closed businesses and such. May be worth driving at night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent affordable seafood...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great selection of fresh seafood right near the Seven Seas Beach. I had a conch platter with fries and three Corona's for about $25. Food was great and tasted very fresh. There is also a lot of food available for much cheaper prices. We went to dinner in our swimsuits....very informal setting. Nice view of ocean from our outdoor seating area. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Chincorro ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

It might look like a stingy little place but it has amaaazing food, extremely well portioned and priced and the drinks are super cheap. On fridays they've got karaoke and it gets packed. Great place for locals and tourist. I'm a local and if you'd like to have the real local experience I suggest you go there. I would give the value a 7, you'll be amazed how cheap it is. They also have lunch specials.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kolmedabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a local hang out which is why I like to go there. They offer drinks/ beer very inexpensive, homemade pastillio and arepa s for a quick snack plus a full compliment of entrees. The atmosphere is casual.... Could wear your bathing suit. They offer indoor and outdoor seating. This is the place to go when you need directions or advice on what to do on your vacation. Ask for Wilfred ......very pleasant and helpful. Drive by Racar anyday at lunch and you will see that it is BUSY..... A sure sign that you will enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topangazmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Racar Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Racar Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing