We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fajardo Inn Hotel, an excellent alternative hotel”
Review of The Fajardo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fajardo Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    355
    214
    81
    71
See reviews for
227
400
35
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

we stayed for only one night and we ended up with the best room with amazing view on both corners room 242 its a standard for 2ppl but great pools there was putt putt tennis pmayground gym etc ita up to oneself and the company to then be motivated and stay entertained and with no exaggeration the food was phenomenal at starfish best meal i had for my entirety of my pr trip and mind you i went all over the island

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esthefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I are avid travellers, and have stayed everywhere from cheap European hostels to 5 star hotels in Singapore. The Fajardo Inn was by far the worst experience of them all. At $141/night, you expect a certain level of hospitality, cleanliness, and professionalism. None were found at the Fajardo Inn. Here is our experiece, in chronolongical order:
- Check-in is not until 4pm, we arrived at 10am. The staff made us sit in the lobby for 6 hours waiting doing nothing. They would not clean our room even 1 hour sooner. Also, checking in each customer in line took 45 minutes each.
- We asked in our booking for a secluded room, as it was our honeymoon. They gave us a room in the main hallway next to the lobby. When asked for the requested room, they first refused, and made a big deal of it. (Lying, said they were full.) Finally, they moved us to a room next to the parking lot.
- Rooms were asbolute bare bones- cold, dark, cheap furniture (what is there), bathroom dirty, etc. No towels, hair dryer, coffee for the coffee maker. All extra charges!! Very slimy.
- We went to the pool area, as the clerks told other customers checking-in that they had a spa there. Total lie. Enjoy a resort with freezing cold pool water, no jacuzzi or spa, etc. No one was even there.
- Once we were allowed in our room, we turned on the AC, and there was a huge BOOM. The AC and entire electrical system blew out. We had mechanics in our room all night. On our honeymoon.
- When we called the management to cancel our reservation, after we had enough on our first day there, they all of a sudden had many rooms available to move us to. Again, they are liars.
- We called booking.com to cancel our stay, and they said the hotel would allow us to leave, but we had to pay the cancellation charges- which was $141x 4 nights. In other words, they wanted us to leave so they could rent the room, but keep our money. Booking.com fought them for us on that.
- We wanted to leave immediately that night, but the hotel manager said she would still charge us for the first night, which was 4pm to 7pm, for a room which was occupied by mechanics fixing the AC the entire time. She also said that because we arrived at 10am, that was an 'early check in'. Again: they made us sit in the lobby for 6 hours straight.

Other points:
- There is NOTHING near this hotel. My husband and I got so frustrated waiting 6 hours to check in, we walked through town. It is run down, crime-ridden, and there are no restaurants at all nearby. $15 taxi ride to nearest location, which is a Sizzler.
- The restaurants at the Inn are overpriced. $14 for a burger.
- The "resort" is a 2 star hotel at best. I would never, ever recommend it to anyone paying over $50/night for a room.

Room Tip: We moved rooms 3 times in the first day, none were good in any location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhenAtlasShrugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fajardo hotels

Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel could be great instead of just good but it is lacking in those little things. The rooms are clean and very basic. If you want a blow dryer it's a $50.00 deposit. Towel cards at the pool are a $25.00 deposit. If you want coffee to go in your coffee maker, that's a $1.00. There are no fridges in the rooms. The restaurants are OK but you get tired of paying an automatic gratuity on very poor service. The pool swim up bar is never open. The pool areas are very nice and the grounds are clean and well maintained. They have an aviary where they breed African grey and other types of parrots. WIFI only in lobby.

Room Tip: ask for a room by the large pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Continent-Bouncers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

There are not many choices in Fajardo for overnight accommodations. The Fajardo Inn worked out perfectly for us. It's a little tricky to find - even our cab driver got a little confused. There is a good map for download on their web site.

The Fajardo Inn is a great base for exploring this end of Puerto Rico. You are close to El Yunque and Marina Del Rey as well as the Bio Bay. We rented a car from the local Enterprise.

The Inn itself is impressive in size. It sits atop a hill with a view out to the ocean. The grounds are nicely kept. The rooms compare to any mid-priced hotel in the US. There are a couple of restaurants on site. We tried them both - nothing special, but decent food at reasonable prices. The staff was always friendly and helpful, if occasionally a bit on "island time."

If you can't afford the El Conquistador, then The Fajardo Inn is a good choice as a base to see this part of Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

You can decide to overlook the lack of basic amenities or get annoyed. Location is perfect for exploring the east coast but you must be willing to drive to go anywhere. The pool is great but the pool bar is always closed, the jacuzzi is "broken" and the towels are more like the rags you use to wash your car. We paid extra for a balcony room, but there were no chairs to use, housekeeping did bring a few plastic chairs when we asked. Our shower had a ripped curtain and the shower handle fell off, but whatever, the glass is still half full. The place is clean and the staff is friendly. There is s great bakery - golden sweets - about a mile away where you get an amazing latte and deliciously inexpensive breakfast. Fajardo inn is not for a high maintenance person, it a local, basic hotel, with a cool bird house and chickens walking about. There is a nice basketball court as well, but you will need to bring your own ball!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Fajardo Inn for 3 nights during our trip to Puerto Rico and I would have given it 3.5 stars if I could - better than average, but not quite very good. I would describe this resort as a nice place - for exactly what it is... a good value resort that can be utilized as an excellent launching pad for day trips.

Pluses:
+ Value - This is a great resort-like place for families looking to come on a budget. There are multiple pools, mini-golf, basketball courts, and a gym. You will definitely find nicer places, but I guarantee they will significantly more. Everything is clean and well maintained. They also seemed to do a good job of grouping singles/couple in one area and families in another, really allowing everyone to enjoy the resort based on their needs.
+ Location for day trips (not for staying around the hotel) - You can hop in your car and be at the Ferry for Culebra and Vieques in 5 mins, El Yunque in less than 30 mins, Luqillo Beach in 20 mins, and the Bioluminescent Bay in 10 mins.
+ Talking birds... gotta love those talking birds
+ Friendly staff who were helfpul with driections

Minuses:
- Pool/Beach Towels... are you kidding me!!! Their towles are as thin as T-shirts. They are very strict on returning towels and not losing your towel cards ($25 for each card if you do). The towels might be worth 50 cents on a good day, but don't lose that card or misplace your towel. Even front desk clerk checking us in joked about their towel situation.
- Internet in the lobby only. Makes it a bit tougher for planning those day trips
- Location in town is not the greatest. You must drive to any restaurants (other than the 2 restaurants attached to the hotel) or to the beach.

Other:
= Blue Iguana is a typical tex-mex type restaurant that serves the purpose of an easy meal or a drink instead of needing to get into your car to go to a good restaurant. An ideal place after a long day when you just want a quick meal and aren't expecting anything that will knock your socks off. Great deals on the daily special. Staff was very attentive and friendly at the restaurant.
= Mini-golf was really fun for only ~$2 for each person, but the course has definitely seen some better days. Just like the resort, a good value for exactly what it is...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
6.0 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
8.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
11.8 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fajardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fajardo Inn

Property: The Fajardo Inn
Address: 52 Parcelas Beltran, Fajardo 00740, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fajardo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fajardo Inn offers clean and comfortable accommodations for business travelers, vacationers, and events, such as conferences, retreats and weddings. Also offered is a unique on-line honeymoon registry. Relax beside one of our pools, one with water bar, spa, beach, waterfall and slide. Dine at our Blue Iguana Mexican restaurant, or the elegant Star Fish Restaurant. Try our mini-putt, or one of many excursions, such as hiking El Yunque Rain Forest, kayaking, snorkeling or diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Fajardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fajardo Hotel Fajardo
Fajardo Puerto Rico
Fajardo Hotel Puerto Rico
Fajardo Inn Puerto Rico
The Fajardo Inn Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing