We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Friendly Charter Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sailcaribe Yacht Charters

Sailcaribe Yacht Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sailcaribe Yacht Charters offers both bareboat and skippered/crewed charters throughout the eastern coast of Puerto Rico including the Spanish Virgin Islands of Vieques and Culebra, USVI & BVI. We have brand new, fully equipped Jeanneau sailboats and Lagoon catamarans available. The boats are equipped with linens, cookware, dinghy & outboard, snorkeling gear. Full provisioning service is available upon request. Transportation may also be arranged through a local provider.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Most Friendly Charter Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Every aspect of our experience with Jim and Debbie was professional, personal, friendly and impressive. These guys are great !! Started off with a warm welcome from cabbie Victor who brought us from the airport and talked the whole way to the marina. We had a very friendly Maria waiting for us at the boat despite our late arrival. Check out with Pedro was personal, friendly, informative and he got us out in a timely fashion. Support on the trip from Jim was top notch right down to the ever friendly technician Popo who did a great job on a repair needed. I've rented from 5 companies on 9 different bareboat charters and I'd have to say Sail Caribe rates amongst the best of them. The Spanish Virgins were fantastic and I hope to see them again, and when I do, Sail Caribe will be my choice of Charter Companies. Sincerely.....thank you Jim and Deb.

From: Sail Team Gilbert

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    5
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Friends and I have chartered from many places through big and small charter outfits (including the big name brands like Sunsail and Moorings), and we all agreed that our experience with Sail Caribe was the best. The boat was clean, in good repair, and ready to go. Staff was professional, extremely friendly, and organized. They were responsive to questions and requests ahead of time and really went out of their way to make sure we got off to a great start. The sailing around PR and the Spanish Virgin Islands is fantastic and uncrowded, a nice break from the hordes in the BVIs, and Culebra is a fun island. We are not afraid to anchor but loved the free moorings that are maintained by the parks to preserve the reefs. We chartered a 36-foot monohull in early April, and though I am not a huge fan of Hunters, it was a great boat for a week on the water with friends.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank jpm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unresponsive, uncaring, and rude management practices dominate.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Personally visited with friends at the Fajardo/ceiba location on Feb 21. After reviewing the boat, expressed a sincere interest, and outlined our qualifications, references, and experience with other charters such as Sunsail and Moorings (supurb companies). Staff is unenpowered to do anything. Told to return to speak to Jim the manager, Jim did not show in morning, but office manager also unenpowered. Told Jim may show about 10:30. An agin expressed strong interest, and left name and number for Jim to call, since we had a prior committment. Jim, or no one else ever called. Several days letter we did go sailing with someone else and had a great time. Beware of careless sloppily run organization.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great despite Hurricane Irene!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

The attraction listed here as Caribe Yacht Charter has the website sailcaribe.com, which is the name I use to identify it. We made use of SailCaribe's discounted rate on monohulls in late summer to charter Roxanne (Hunter 33), knowing that there was a risk this would put us there during a tropical storm or hurricane. Sure enough, Irene hit Fajardo soon after we arrived, becoming a category 1 hurricane almost on top of us. The day before Irene made landfall, we stayed overnight on the boat at the marina, and awoke the next day to Jim, the head of the company. Jim introduced himself and informed us that Irene had strengthened overnight and was heading for the marina. He and his wife had made all the arrangements to put us up at a the Ceiba Country Inn, in Ceiba PR, at no extra charge to us. We weathered the worst of the storm there. The trees around the Inn took heavy damage and the power was out for almost the entire two and half days that we were there, but all things considered, it was much safer than sitting on a docked boat and we enjoyed our stay at the Inn. After staying at the Inn for 2 nights, Jim called to ask if we wanted a change of scenery and offered to put us up on one of the larger, air conditioned boats so we could be closer to our boat if there weather improved enough to sail. We took him up on the offer, and we stayed on a roomy Hunter 45 for the night, running the boat's power and air conditioning off of the boat's diesel generators as power was still out in all of Fajardo and the marina. Jim said we wouldn't have to worry about the diesel cost for this temporary accommodation, and we were never charged for it. That evening we also had a hilarious knot tying session with the salty sea dog Boris, one of the Sail Caribe employees that had been scrambling around to get the ships stripped down for the storm. The next day, conditions were good enough to sail, and after a pre sail briefing that included an underway tour of the marina and demonstration of the mainsail's furling system by Jim and company captain Ramon, we set sail for Culebra.

We (originally) had six people on the Hunter 33, and although technically able to accommodate that many people, the fresh water tank would have required refilling at least once in our 3.5 day voyage (after the storm). This is true even though Jim's team was nice enough to also supply us with an additional portable tank of freshwater. However, because three people ended up staying on Culebra, we ended up having ample water and space for the last two days of sailing. The boat itself packed a lot of features into 33 feet - the smallest vessel in their fleet, and all the important and secondary systems worked well. One unfortunate exception was that our Hunter 33 did not have a functioning air conditioner, although it is listed as one of the optional upgrade specs on sailcaribe.com. We even found what appeared to be the compressor for it, but this apparently was out of order. I had not planned on using it much, and this was supposed to be a low-tech getaway, but it would have been especially nice to have on that first hot overnight stay docked at the marina.

While around Culebra we did some dining at the Dinghy Dock restaurant (with our dinghy no less), some snorkeling at Carlos Rosario beach, and some swimming at the famous Flamenco beach. The highlight was the night that we spent moored in the protected anchorage at Isla Culebrita. With no other boats or civilization in sight we each had a shower off the stern of the boat and settled down to watching shooting stars cut across the milky way with a bottle of wine. That night alone was worth the waiting through Irene. The next day after exploring Culebrita some more we had a picture perfect sail from Culebrita to Isla Palomino, where we moored at another free mooring and caught an amazing sunset over mainland PR. The next day we returned to the marina for a hassle free debriefing and refueling, with our total fuel costs being very reasonable. As with our arrival trip, Jim arranged for transport for the return trip to the airport, and all of this went without a hitch.

Things To Bring:
- As little as possible. They provide linens and you can provision at a WalMart that is a quick ride from the marina. See sail caribe's FAQ for more info.

What I liked most:
- The very professional way that Jim, his wife Debbie, and his team handled our stay with a hurricane bearing down on us, and the speed with which they got us underway afterwards. They could not have handled it better from our perspective..
- The user friendly systems of the Hunter 33.
- The Hunter 45 - we'll be chartering that one next time :)
- Culebrita.

Things to Improve:
- The Air Conditioning feature should be removed from the Hunter 33's specs (on sail caribe's website) if it is not actually functional.
- The FAQ's on the site listed the costs associated with a charter but no mention was made of a security deposit until we had paid to reserve our spot and received the charter contract. Deposits of this sort are pretty standard in the industry, but given that it equaled the total cost of the charter in our case, it caused some logistical headaches and should have been disclosed earlier.

In Short:
I would definitely charter from Sail Caribe again and would whole-heartedly recommend them to friends looking for a sailing adventure to the Spanish Virgin Islands.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank GybingGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, responsive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I have sailed a number of times - mostly with bigger name sailing companies. This was our first venture with a smaller outfit... and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. The boats were in good working order. The questions we had were addressed right away. The staff was friendly and made sure our stay in PR was a good experience. The staff even had the cab driver stop by a local favorite for a snack before our flight home. Thank you, Caribe!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank cmfrohling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailcaribe Yacht Charters also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Sailcaribe Yacht Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing