We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a few extra dollars”

Calizo Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 104 Restaurants in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Decor is very similar to Old San Juan in Puerto Rico, where brightly colored road brick Victorian tables, wooden decorations and a beachy touch to outdoor spaces, and also with air conditioned VIP lounge for everyone. Es con una decoracion muy parecida al viejo san juan en puerto rico, en su carreteras con ladrillos colores brillantes mesas victorianas , decoraciones en madera y un toque playero con espacios al aire libre, y tambien con salon VIP con aire acondicionado para todos los gustos.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Calizo is an open-air restaurant which also has an indoor dining room, located a few kms past the Conquistador hotel. The menu is extensive enough to satisfy most tastes; I strongly recommend the seafood. On our first visit I had a seafood mofongo while my spouse had the red snapper. Both were prepared and presented perfectly. The service was exceptional; at no time did we have to look for any of the wait staff. The kitchen rings a bell when a meal is ready and at least one person RUNS up to the kitchen to get that meal ….. no one gets cold food. We did not find the prices to be excessive, perhaps a bit higher than some other restaurants we went to, but you get what you pay for. Calizo was the first restaurant we went to in Fajardo and we liked it enough to make it the last one we went to before we left Puerto Rico. We highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dchinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calizo, Gerente at Calizo Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for honoring us with your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
We hope to have you back, to provide the service and food quality you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for Calizo Seafood Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 538 of 845 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is my second trip to Puerto Rico and my first stop was in calizo seafood. I highly recommend this place the food and service it great i will comeback anytime again highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calizo, Gerente at Calizo Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for honoring us with your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
We hope to have you back, to provide the service and food quality you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I went here last month and I will NEVER return here. Mosquitoes everywhere, bad / rude service, managers and staff having discussions in front of everyone and portions not worth the high price your paying. Small portions and undercooked food. The only thing good was the sangria. Some locals at the beach told me that the owner/manager treats their employees very, very bad. I will definitely not return here. SKIP THIS PLACE!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kaoene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a great meal here with the family. The Paella, Red Snapper, Swordfish and Mofongo with Shrimp were all very tasty and portions were large. The sauces were unique and flavorful. Although we sat inside because it was early, the atmosphere was good, however the outside seating was much nicer. Cost was reasonable and service was excellent. You could tell that everyone there cared about the quality of the food and service. Waiter was Johnny and he did a great job. I would recommend this to anyone in the Fajardo area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dandlwelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were staying in Fajardo, across from Seven Seas beach and this spot could be walked to (minus sidewalks). It was the first place we dined out at and it did not dissapoint. Initially, you are greeted in the parking lot by a friendly staff member, sat promptly outside in their lovely front garden and given a thorough explanation of the menu by the very fluent and kind staff. We started with some shared appetizers, which were delicious. Most of us had our first Mofongo here (shrimp and Beef) and the portions were huge, fresh and the sauces amazing (although not the cheapest Mofongo in town). Some also had the yummy Sangria and everyone was happy with their seafood overall. We had our 3.5 year old with us and they catered to her kindly. We ate into sunset and enjoyed sitting outside on a lovely night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CourtneyM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calizo, Gerente at Calizo Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for honoring us with your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
We hope to have you back, to provide the service and food quality you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calizo Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Calizo Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing