We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,767)
Filter reviews
7,767 results
Traveler rating
2,987
2,398
1,212
723
447
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,987
2,398
1,212
723
447
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island palomino island water park la marina puerto rico marina area chops splash bar ferry ride horseback riding cable car rented a car water shoes walk in closet cafe caribe ocean view las casitas
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 7,767 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Had a fantastic time, the staff went above and beyond to provide excellent service and attention, the room was very clean with all the amenities available and excellent a/c. The public areas and pools we were allowed access to were impecable. Can't wait for entire resort to reopen so we can return.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank valineslaundry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

I should have taken heed from some of the reviews but wanted to stay in a beautiful spot and support tourism outside of San Juan. It was a sad ghost town which is what was worse than the fact that it is under construction. Besides us, the only other people there appeared to be a few govt workers. The place is huge and empty—yes, the Shining came to mind. There was one lonely boy wandering around this vast resort by himself who had been staying there all summer. He helped us find our room. Room was not in great shape and was a little musty. Expensive breakfast terrible. We left after one night. They really shouldn’t be open at all.

Pros:
Beautiful views
They gave me a free toothbrush

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Guest Services Director at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Thank you for choosing our resort for your stay! As we stay focused on Puerto Rico’s recovery, we are accepting reservations while our hotel is undergoing our own comprehensive restoration process.

Please do accept our sincere apologies for the experience while you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful property with the most breathtaking ocean vistas. Room was comfortable and the staff at the front desk amazing. However lots still not functioning so good for busiutrip but not vacation. Cleaning staff a bit unprofessional in entering room. Wait u til all services are back before booking. I was warned by the hotel and chose to stay anyway and overall did enjoy My stay.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Guest Services Director at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel !!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

With the recent storm events experienced last year, I was glad to hear that the hotel was opened. I was extremely please at the accommodation and service granted to me during the stay. I cannot wait to take advantage of this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank keithng0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

El Conquistador continues to house recovery personnel but is open to the public. If you are headed to PR soon, I highly recommend staying here!!!! I recognize the resort is only a shell of its normal elegance and vibrance, but we just stayed 2 nights and had this beautiful resort almost all to ourselves! There are no "resort" services but our room was clean and the view was PERFECTION! The impact of the hurricanes is visible in the physical property but the view makes up for that. There is very limited staff but that suited our needs perfectly. Their private island and water park are closed, but we spent 1 day on a boat trip to Culebra and a second day on a jet ski tour. In the evenings we had the beautiful hotel pool all to ourselves. The inside bar was open and we were able to bring our drinks to the pool. In the morning we got up and roamed the property looking for the perfect spot to watch the sun rise and literally didn't see anyone else until we went to breakfast. Pancho was running the breakfast buffet and he had plenty of time to talk with us about Fajardo. If you are looking for a hotel in Fajardo, have simple needs and want to support the return of a classic resort, please consider staying here. We loved it!!!

Stayed: August 2018
4  Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews