We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in service, food, and relaxation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in service, food, and relaxation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

First I want to talk about how excellent the food was, especially Chop Steakhouse- food was amazing, steak cooked to perfection, and our server, Danielle Ramsey, is full of life and went above and beyond. El conquistador hotel has a great location near luquillo beach, el Yunque rainforest, nightlife near las croabas, and snorkeling at palomino island to name few. Great honeymoon. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xWiLox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,555
    2,165
    1,069
    650
    377
See reviews for
2,550
1,814
76
838
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at the El Con at the end of May for a conference. The place is HUGE. Great view and lovely amenities. Unfortunately, being a single traveler (not with my family) I felt there wasn't that much to do. I like to drink and party on vacation but it seemed that the bars were not that exciting. There was a main bar (Bar 21) but other than that, it seemed like a place to bring the kids to hang in the pool, or play golf.

The food was not up to the standards of a Waldorf by any means. The only decent meal I had was at the Steakhouse, which left me $200 lighter when I left.

Room Tip: Getting a room in the Marina means you have to walk FAR to get to your room but it is so worth it. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Korinne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Of all the dining spots on the property, the service & quality of the food is simply the best at Chops. My family and I stayed on property for a week and we dined there twice (once as a party of three and again as a full party of 7 adults and 4 children under 8 yrs). In both instances, we were very pleased. Danielle provided excellent recommendations on dishes at our first visit and Carlos was very attentive in servicing our larger party and all the additional needs that children require.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaceSeeker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The views are wonderful, the rooms stay nicely air conditioned and the pools are nice. But the food situation could be dramatically improved. I understand that supplies on a smaller island are going to raise prices but the value of what you get is very out of sync with what you pay. If either the quality/portions were bigger or the prices lower this would dramatically improve the stay. Many people complained about the mixed drinks tasting like there was little to no alcohol. Many people complained they would only drink canned drinks to make sure they got the content they wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Bar 21 last Friday the 25th. The service was phenomenal! Our bartender Angel was amazing and he made us some delicious cocktails! I highly recommend asking for him to make you something delicious! The bar was very lively and entertaining! We had a great time! Although we did not stay at the hotel, what we saw of it was beautiful and overall our whole experience was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawner129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We arrived and we were impressed by the staff and the wonderful service from the front desk. I want to thank the housekeeping staff also the splash bar nono, Ivan, angel great service and so professional. I also wanted to sat thank you for making our day a trip to die for. We were more then happy. The island is great and the magic show was great

Steve Vargas and Josephine Vargas

Room Tip: Ocean view tip your bartenders and you only live once
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevevargas03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here lots on business and it's a great relaxing place.

The rooms are a good size, but can be noisy depending on the neighbours and some rooms possibly need the bathrooms updating.

But, overall, I keep coming back, it's special!

Make sure you get down to the stingray restaurant on the marina, that my favourite.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
26.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
8.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
30.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing