We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel. The staff was friendly and it was easy to navigate. The pizza and wing by the pool was excellent. Swordfish resturant was expensive. The Island was great. stay on the side closest to the pier. The bottom of te water was betterq

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jmccord66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your quick review of the resort. You mentioned Palomino Island as being great and I agree that it is an amazing way to spend a day! Nothing better than relaxing under some palm trees on the beack, or kayaking out to Palominito (the small neighboring island). Hopefully you will be back again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,676 - 3,682 of 7,755 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 of the 7 nights we were in Puerto Rico. I do agree with the other reviews that the hotel is showing its age a bit and we had several issues daily with the water but this place has beautiful land scrapes, breathtaking views, and most of all a large private island with white sandy beaches. The water taxi seats 150 and takes 7-10 minutes one way. We went to the water park. They have 3 great slides and a lazy river. The park is not include in the daily resort price. We paid $21 each for all day. But the rate drops the later you go in the day. We enjoyed the friendly staff, Maricely especially. She worked with us to plan the perfect vacation. My husband and I went to Puerto Rico for our birthdays. She did a great job making us feel special while we were there.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for writing a detailed review of your stay with us. You mentioned Maricely, and she is a great asset to the resort. Her and her Team are great resources for activities and special events. So glad memories were created while you stayed with us. Hope you can make it back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Nice people. We were well cared for. Facility is really showing its age. The Tours were infromative and fun. The parking was way to expensive. Pizza was only very poor food choice. The poos were well maintained and pleasant. We would probably not go back to this facility unless it is better maintained in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your candid feedback which we have shared with our management team. The resort is currently working on various enhancements including all new furniture to our lobby and lounge as well as new carpeting in our guestroom hallways. Overall we are happy to see that you enjoyed the pools and the warm hospitality from our team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon here. The food at all restaurants except the 4 nicer ones, starts at $14 per meal (equating to bar food) not including a $10 cocktail or $6 beer. Tea, soda, etc. is $4. We saw no good seafood selections or local cuisine offered. We never tried the 4 nicer restaurants because we were already feeling robbed on how much we were spending on every meal. A hot buffet breakfast is $25 per person no drink included. There is a Starbuck's and we ended up eating breakfast there 5 out of 6 mornings we were there. The hotel is secluded so walking out the front entrance took 30 min. And even then there is only one restaurant within walking distance.
We were woken up by an alarm going off 2/5 nights we were there, and did not have hot water for 24 hours of our stay.
We decided to rent a car so we went to the enterprise desk at the hotel. We paid $117 for a compact car, toyota yaris to be exact, for 24 hours. Others rented theirs at the airport and paid much less.
Beware when traveling to San Juan. My husband and I were approached by a American man saying he is from Milwaukee and he and his dad got mugged and his dad was in the hospital as a result and he needed $6. We gave him $5 and he again asked for more saying he needed $6. I googled this and it said it is a common scam.
The only positive about this hotel was that we booked through Costco and were to receive a partial ocean view room. The front desk didn't have a king size partial ocean view ready so we had the choice to wait or take a double queen ocean view room. We took the ocean view room and ended up on the same floor as the lobby, pool, and starbucks which I really liked.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in Las Casitas or the same building the lobby is in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing your detailed review with us. We are currently working on various enhancements throughout the resort including more local fare offerings in our casual dining restaurants as well as daily happy hour and food specials. Your feedback has been shared with our culinary and operations team for action. Thank you again for your feedback and we are happy to know you enjoyed your ocean view accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed six days at the El Con in April. We found the hotel spotlessly clean indoors and out, nicely appointed, with friendly and accommodating staff. Our ocean-view Marina room, on the 4th (top) floor, was spacious and comfortable for a family of four. The oddest part was that the (large) close was in the bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the a/c worked well. We enjoyed the small balcony overlooking the marina. We loved taking the ferry to Palomino Island, allowing about half an hour each way for the wait and boat ride. But we were on island/vacation time, and so the leisurely pace felt right. At the island, water shoes are helpful in the water since the bottom is quite rocky. We jet-skied and snorkeled, renting equipment at the island. The Iguana Cafe was convenient and had a reasonable lunch menu. We ate most dinners off-site (Kasavista and La Estacion were highlights), but did enjoy a delicious dinner at the Singray Cafe in the Marina. Prices for dinners and drinks are a little steep, but honestly, not that much higher than anywhere we go out in Boston for a classy dinner and/or drinks at someplace nicer than the local pub. We also went parasailing with A&J Adventures out of the Fajardo marina, bio bay kayaking with Yokahu, and visiited the El Tunque rain forest. and I would recommend all of these. Finally, the long sandy beach at Luquillo is definitely worth a visit (on a weekday) with lunch at one of the kioskos.

Room Tip: The Marina is quieter and the 4th floor rooms have high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Guest Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so happy to see that your family had an incredible stay with us during your time in Puerto Rico and we are glad you were also able to explore the nearby attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is our 3rd year celebrating Easter at El Con. The accommodations are always comfortable and clean. We love the Las Brisas bfast and Stingray as well as the beach and waterpark which is exceptionally clean and well-kept. Staff this trip was very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Public Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thanks for visiting El Con for the third time and for choosing us as your Easter getaway. We are happy to see you not only enjoyed the various on-site amenities but also the warm hospitality for our team members. We hope to see you again next Easter (if not sooner).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I decided to honeymoon at the El Conquistador. We cancelled after 2 days of bland, overpriced food, overpriced cocktails and a resort that overall has its best years behind it. Palomino island was beautiful but no beach on earth can be enjoyed while paying 15$ for pitifully small mojitos and cheeseburgers a step above McDonalds quality for an equally horrendous price.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your candid feedback. Your comments have been shared with our food and beverage department for necessary action. The resort is currently working on various enhancements including new lobby furniture and corridor carpeting as well as happy hours and food specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
1.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
30.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
30.1 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $197 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing