We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed over Christmas Break-Both Pro's and Con's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Came back from 6 nights in Las Brisas wing of El Conquistador with my family. Signed up for the waterpark package for the kids. The property is gorgeous but when you take a closer look at the facilities, it is clear that they need to put millions of dollars into the resort for a major facelift...particularly in the rooms. Las Brisas was supposed to be the "nicest room"....décor is from the 70's....yes, bathroom is large but shower had old tile with dried rust dripping down (they attempted to re-grout). There were tiny ants on the tv console (they sprayed). And, there was a brown hole in my mattress (they brought a new one). Palomino island is fantastic for kids-so much to do. Kids played ping pong, basketball, did SCOUT adventure hunt, etc. Beach was fantastic. Pools and waterpark were nice too. We ate dinner only 2 nights on property..the other four we ate out in Fajardo. NYE dinner at Chops was delicious but $$$$.
I felt that the room rate was way too high considering the quality of the actual room. Resort gave me some room credit for all the nasty things in my room, as they should've. The hotel was fully booked so they couldn't move us to any other room. Game room was great for kids after dinner and the icecream shop was nice to have on site. Again, beautiful grounds, we had great weather....Property needs serious TLC. They should replace the ripping and stained carpet in the hallways to start....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMF31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,021 - 4,027 of 7,755 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

The resort sits up top a cliff overlooking the ocean, breathtaking views. Palomino Island, the resort's private island/beach is amazing. Water is crystal clear, coral reefs everywhere, hiking trails to the top of island leads you to even more spectacular views. This is where the positives end... I believe the resort formerly was a Wyndham resort and hasn't been renovated in quite some time. The resort is very dated, no infinity pool, rooms show a lot of age, water damage on the walls, very musty and damp, etc. The food options are limited on the resort, fine dining is anything but over priced average at best food. Cafe's, breakfast buffet, and pool side bar is morbidly over priced and the food is average at best. If you have a car or taxi, 5 mins from the resort are local hole in the wall bakeries that serve amazing deserts and sandwiches on sweet breads and not to mention are significantly less than on the resort. You really are paying for the Waldorf-Astoria name when staying here. Would I come back, probably not... I would be ashamed to classify this resort as part of the Waldorf-Astoria family of hotels and resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor or same as the lobby with atleast a partial ocean view. Lower floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

sadly, this place falls FAR short of your typical hopes or expectations given the hefty price and reputation of the Waldorf Astoria name. it is a run-down, poorly-maintained and dated hotel in desperate need of a 50+ million dollar renovation that shamelessly capitalizes on the Waldorf Astoria name and reputation. shame, shame!

full disclosure: my partner paid for our rooms on Hilton Honors points because he consistently stays at them around the world, so technically, we didn't pay the five+ benjamins our rooms cost (multiply that amount by two since we had adjoining family rooms), but there is still a monetary value associated with points and this value cannot be ignored, and i would have been far more vocal and irritated had our stay been paid for with cold, hard cash.

we have stayed here at el conquistador twice: the first time was for one or two nights (i don't recall exactly) at the end of may 2012 (disastrous), and the second time (december 2013), was for two nights. we were traveling with our 67, 72 and 78 year old parents and surprisingly, we were given rooms at the furthest point from the hotel lobby. it was nice to have the view of the marina and ocean, but the distance to/from the lobby was unfortunate given our parents age and with one of them in a wheelchair.

PROS:
truly award-winning, gorgeous views;
private island with included boat shuttle owned by the hotel; and
many attentive and hard-working employees!

CONS:
outrageously overpriced if you're not staying on points;
$25/day charge to self-park and a strange validation requirement that guests must have validated whenever you leave, including the requirement to sign the parking ticket stub (what for?!). the signs state that american parking is the company servicing the account, which might explain the outrageous 'american-style' fees;
glass elevators (in 100 degree heat and humidity) with no (or broken) air conditioning;
stained or ripped carpet throughout common areas in the hotel;
no lock on our bathroom door (really?!);
slow and spotty internet connection;
alarm clock is circa 2004 (junk and outdated) to say nothing of the fact that the illumination from the clock alone served as a light in an otherwise dark room at night; and
TV is old, small and very outdated (pre-HDMI).

in addition to the above, when we arrived, our room had just been mopped and the tile floors were extremely slippery and still very wet. our room must've just had the carpets shampooed because the carpet was wet, as well. there were several other annoyances that may seem petty and pedantic individually, but collectively they make for an unfortunate stay.

additionally (and strangely enough), hotel management found out about this review even before i had completed it because they somehow determined we were still guests in the hotel. upon returning from breakfast, we found two maintenance men at our door to investigate the lack of a lock on our bathroom door, and to inspect the TV and clock radio. then, for the rest of our visit, the manager kept calling our rooms to speak with my partner by leaving messages with my sister-in-law and voicemail messages on our room phone. this was unnerving and frustrating as every time we turned around, there was a request to call the hotel manager. i initially didn't put it together, but then realized after my partner spoke with the manager that they had read my unfinished review and decided to call. one call would have been enough, but no less than five calls were made which were completely unnecessary and bordered on harassment. the observations i made were critical and obvious, but calling us repeatedly was inexcusable in a hotel of this calibre.

Room Tip: if you have anyone requiring a wheelchair, make sure the room location is nearer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank torr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Resort on the busy week of Christmas, we checked in smoothly and once in the room we loved the location, the cleanliness, we had forgotten some toiletry and immediately they brought us some at the room.
It was late on Christmas Day and almost 11.oo pm
We had an excellent dinner at Bella Vista Cafe, the staff is just amazing at the Resort... In all the areas, retail experience wonderful.
Palomino and boat service smooth and inviting.
We will be back for sure, we saw many families having an awesome time.
Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view All rooms have an amazing view!!!! We stay always at the Brisas area, q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The rooms are overpriced, extremely dirty, hidden charges and hotel is extremely tired. Understaffed and the food and beverage is horrible with limited choices. The owners need to put in some serious capital improvements. Even the ferry boats to the island are looking tired and worn. It's a shame as it used to be my favorite destination.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
3  Thank Deneen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family had a great time and the service was wonderful. That is until I get the charges on my card and they are completely wrong. When I call the hotel they tell me I have to wait until accounting figures it out. A real disappointment specially for a Waldorf Brand Hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you are planning a family vacation to PR, seriously consider the El Con. We have travelled around the island and have not seen a better spot for a family vacation. Have tried Isla Verde and Condado Beach as well as visiting Palmas del Mar, and there is no comparison. The private island is absolutely fantastic--and the main pool is equally beautiful. Visited twice during busy times and there was always a spot on the beach and/or at the pool. The food is standard hotel fare but there are wonderful, safe local restaurants close by for off-site dining. Friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JerryFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
1.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
30.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
30.1 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $197 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing