We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Conquistador Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“El Conquistador Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great potential, but horrible execution at this resort. The grounds are spectacular and the catamaran taxi to Palomino Island was great, but the room was dilapidated and filthy. The service level was poor as well and certainly not what we expected from a Waldorf. Avoid this resort if possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,722
    2,255
    1,136
    674
    397
See reviews for
2,704
1,950
83
871
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

So I booked this nice family vacation to Puerto Rico. I decided to stay in El Conquistador I heard so much nice things about it. (So i thought)..Before my trip i had called the hotel numerous times asking if i had to pay any additional fees, I was told that all i had to pay was $12.05 for the parking daily and the taxes at the end of the trip. So when i check in the lady at the counter tells me that i had to pay an extra $150.00 per night.(As a deposit) I didnt understand y when i had paid for the room months in advance. I have never had to pay a deposit with any other hotel i have ever stayed at. When we finally got everything straighten out (I finally spoke to the manager and was told that i didnt have to pay it.) When we finally made it to our room i couldnt believe what i saw. The bathroom sink was clogged and the lock to the room was broken. I had to call the front desk so they can send out a maintenance guy so he can fix it. The next day we decided to go and have breakfest, for the price that we paid i expected the food to be better. My daughter ordered pancakes and she couldnt even eat them, they where so dry and hard. The pool chairs where dirty and they beach towels where disgusting they looked liked they hadent been washed in a few days. Despite all those downfalls there were a few upsides to El Conquistador. The private island of Palomino was beautiful the sand was clean and the water was crystal clear and the beach was not over crowded. Also, the view from the pool is really awsome. Basically your paying just for the view. I wouldnt stay in this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel and wonderful grounds and not a bad price. The hallway to our room was in poor taste. In need of carpet change and paint. If you stay in the lower room it is quite time consuming to take the gondola to your room but not a bad experience just takes more time. The hotel to me was dated and in need of updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank RObert512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Been Here a few years ago! .. love the place location and specially the private Island! .. Paradise a few minutes away in a ship rite! .. Palomilla island is the name of the private island!... is expensive but if you really want a vacation you better have the money! good for family and adults .. i will return! definitely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetDiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

A very nice looking resort. We stayed with my son and his family at the village and loved the views of the ocean. Both rooms were very nice. Staff is courteous and helpful. I did not care for their breakfast facilities and their menu. The breakfast buffet had a limited variety of selections. Asked for lettuce and tomatoes and was told that they do not offer that for breakfast. We also ate the Cafe Caribe. That place was the biggest disappointment. Asked for hot peppers with my lunch and the waiter told us the the Puerto Ricans dont eat spicy food and the only thing he had was Tabasco sauce. He also forgot to bring us beverages. We asked another waiter and he sent us the manager who brought us the beverages and took 25% off the bill. 2 minutes later, our original beverages were delivered by someone else.
The next day we had breakfast there and my omelet was over cooked and burnt at the buttom. All other restaurants are much better. We dined at the "Chops" and the Italian restaurant. A bit over priced, but delicious food. Pool areas are very clean and accommodating, but no pool activities at all. Just lay in the sun or stay in the water. Other than drinking there is very little to do at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteBlueBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I spent two nights at El Conquistador in July 2013 to go scuba diving off Puerto Rico's east coast. Unfortunately, the other reviews describing this property as "run down," "tired," and "almost great" are spot on. This hotel may have once been worth of its astronomical prices but no longer justifies more than $100/night. Expect extremely expensive food, almost unpleasant staff and a near ghost town at night. The view from our room was great and the only part worth of the Waldorf Astoria name. I would consider avoiding Fajardo altogether.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our boys (14 and 15) liked snorkeling on Palomino Island. We loved the view from our room in La Brisas. The hotel and grounds were gorgeous. The concierge was very helpful when we needed help. Meals and drinks are a bit overpriced. We never ate at any of the high end restaurants as they seemed a bit over the top in terms of price. And even at the moderate restaurants, I have to say that $14 seems a bit steep for 4 shrimp. The gym seemed small for the number of rooms/ guests and only 2 of the 5 treadmills worked consistently. One machine had a note on it the whole week we were there and 2 others seemed to randomly shut off while in use- made your workout interesting. But I managed to squeeze in enough of a workout that I didn't feel too guilty about eating so much fried food. Overall, it was nice enough that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
26.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing