We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Worst Waldorf I've ever been too.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I am giving this hotel a 2 only because of its beautiful surrounding views. Peel the views away and you are left with a poorly run hotel that looks tired and has no customer service. From the second we got to the hotel we didn't feel welcome. The bellman were on there phones and every experience with them tended be a nuisance. The front desk lacks training and customer service. We asked where we could eat breakfast and they told us to go talk to the concierge for a recommendation. The front desk was not busy but the concierge was with the phones ringing off the hook goig unanswered and 3 ppl in front of us. the shuttle boat employees also spend way too much time with ear phones in and cell phones out and should focus more on driving the boat or making a guest smile. there were 20+ ppl
Waiting for the shuttle boat at 10:30am and were all just as surprised as we
Were when a piece of paper was posted about the every half hour sign to every hour. maybe the front desk could be informed that this is happening since they told us it runs daily every half hour. The food quality is the worst that I have ever seen from a Waldorf. Just for example BLT sandwich is made from turkey spam, 1 sliced white tomato and 1 piece of bacon. I didn't even know they made turkey spam until this hotel stay.
I was blown away by the amazing views and scenery around this hotel but utterly unimpressed by this hotel. My wife and I were very happy to check out.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,545 - 4,551 of 7,747 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

4 star hotel with 1 star service. Front desk staff and operators are happy to rush you away or transfer you to somebody else and seem bothered when you speak to them. My wife and I both got sick after eating at the restaurants on this hotel. We watched our server pick something out of our glass of water and then serve it to us. Concierge desk employee was on eBay as we walked up to find out information about the area and hotel.
Truly unimpressive experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbarib1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am from Atlanta, ga and I was celebrating my 25th Birthday away from home in Puerto Rico at the El Conquistador. My friend and I were so excited. Once we arrived at the hotel we were taken back by the beautiful landscape. (we had to take pictures) We were greeted by a bellmen that took care of our luggage while we checked in. He was great, even if he died laughing at all the pictures I was taking once exiting the cab. We were greeted by these two great front desk agents. The one that took extremely great care of us was Arecis Ayala. Her sweet personality and genuine kind spirit made it seem like i knew her for years. She made sure that my friend and I knew all the end and out of the hotel. I was so impressed on how efficient she was, before we knew it we were checked in and headed to our suite. The bartenders/ waiters at all the dinning restuarnts were excellent Fernando (lobby bar area),Joel, and Carlos ( at bollyhu). Upon checking out the Front Desk Manager Millie, made it easy for me to express my comments. I was so excited, i didn't even want to leave. I totally am making this an annuel trip from this point on and staying at the El Conquistador Resort!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having been to this resort in 1994 when it was new and amazing, I had high expectations which were unfortunately not met. The bight spot was the staff, without exception very warm, knowledgable, helpful. The worst part was the food! Really terrible from beginning to end.
Facility needs a major face-lift, please do something about all the birds flying around when you are trying to eat; they are not afraid at all and poop all over tables and chairs--ugh!!!!!
Spa very expensive and not at all worth it.
Views beautiful, staff at pools wonderful, Bio-bay amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My friend and I were looking forward to our first trip to PR and the stay on a Waldorf property. Check in was quick and we were in our rooms within 20 mins from arrival. While the room we had was spacious and had a great view of the marina from the balcony, the room was the basics only... nothing flashy.

Restaurants we tried on site were mediocre at best, service was below average and options were way overpriced for the quality. After our first dinner on-site, we realized off premises was the only way to go and ate the remainder of our meals at local Fajardo spots. i would recommend La Estacion and Las Vistas Cafe!!

Took the ferry to private island, which was the best part of the entire property (i do not golf, that course looked nice too). The water is crystal clear and there are activities for all: snorkeling, sailing, horseback riding... and rum :-)

I look forward to coming back to PR in the future, but would not return to this property unfortunately.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissKelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The service at the restaurants was extremely slow except at the Stingray and Strip House. The service there was excellent. However, the service at the Bella Vista, Cafe' Caribe, and Iguana's on Palomino island was extremely slow. For example it took 30 minutes to get a drink at Iguana's; there were several tables around me that had to flag down the server to obtain service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very beautiful hotel!!! I recommend you visit! A bit pricey but you can get better deals during the summer. Great pool/slides, golf, and it has a private island!!! On site restaurants are excellent. Loved the Strip House. Doesn't have a Casino but there is plenty to do regardless. Only 50 mins from the San Juan airport. Friendly staff too...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Fernando O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
1.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
998 reviews
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $242 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing