We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,765)
Filter reviews
7,765 results
Traveler rating
2,986
2,397
1,212
723
447
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,986
2,397
1,212
723
447
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandpalomino islandwater parkla marinapuerto ricomarina areachopssplash barferry ridehorseback ridingcable carrented a carwater shoeswalk in closetcafe caribeocean viewlas casitas
Filter
Updating list...
4,568 - 4,573 of 7,765 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The experience was horrible. The hotel is 32 miles away from San Juan where we flew in. The shuttle cost 80 dollars per person to take, so we chose to rent three cars. Deductibles were 500 $ per car, and 15 dollars per day for insurance. The drive from San Juan to Fajardo takes an hour and a half to go 32 miles. Upon arrival we parked up front to check in. We came out 5 minutes later to a 50 dollar parking ticket. The parking area is a mile away which forces you to valet your car every time because parking is fifteen dollars per day, yet to valet is only 20. The next day we tried to board the ferry to palomino island but could not because we didnt have a " white card" with us. Note, that this " white card " is essential to your survival at the el conquistador, yet no staff member will inform you of this. When we actually got to go to the island, each activity (snorkling, souviner shop, restaurant, etc) takes a different payment form( credit card, cash, white card). None of which is ever explained to the guess. You are not allowed to bring liquor to the island or coolers.

The rooms are very ancient, almost prehistoric. The chair cushions are ripped, no foot stool in our room, different televisions in every room, different iPod stations in every rooms( if they actually work). All the clocks have different times and you cannot change them if you would like to set an alarm. The bathroom door handle is falling off, and my daughter started crying because she thought she was locked in the bathroom. The carpet is from the 80's and the fridge is set for 70 degrees so my beer was room temp.

Furthermore, our room key did not work on the third day, so we went to the front desk to be told that we need our " white card", which we didnt have because it was locked in our room. He could not help us unless we have a "white card". So my wife, infant, and myself were locked out. After an extensive conversation, we were finally re-issued a white card. By then I had lost my mind and was irate.

I would not reccomend this place to any person who has ACTUALLY traveled to multiple destinations across the globe. Do not be fooled by the beautiful landscaping and clear waters. I have only been to Puerto Rico once and will never return based solely on this disheartening experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leahluxem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week with our 2 teens at El Conquestidor. We stayed in a junior suite between marina and water park. Large deck with furniture opened to beautiful view of the sea and Palomino island. Very large room and bathroom with separated kitchen area - two refrigerators, sink, coffee maker and large counter and shelving- and walk in closet with a built in dresser. King sized bed and queen sized sofa sleeper were both very very comfortable. There was another dresser, desk, chair, sofa table and flat screen TV with cable and DVD player. The bathroom was very large with a stand up shower, jetted tub, sink with large counter with lots of storage and shelves and a separate toilet room and 2 windows. Perfect location on the property! The room was awesome per my teens and husband and I.
Coqui water park and Palomino island were awesome. Be prepared to pay to go to water park. After 4 pm it's only $5!
Our only complaint is that the hotel restaurant food (except for restaurant on Palomino island) tastes terrible and is overpriced. The Blue Bell ice cream is good on the lobby level as is Starbucks' drinks and sandwiches. There is a market on sight where you can purchased drinks, snacks, fruit for the room. Additional shops on Libby and ground levels sold reasonably priced souvenirs, shoes, clothing. Staff are nice and helpful. A funicular takes you from sea level to the main lobby/hotel/pool.
Rent a car and venture out to the wonderful restaurants nearby that are reasonably priced. Taxis are pricey and a rental car is the way to go. There is a grocery store, Walmart, and many chain restaurants nearby too. Stock up on water, etc. You can bring your own drinks to the island and water park despite the signs not to. Great place! Close to rain forest and Bio Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was extremely disappointed with the overall quality of this hotel.

The building is extremely dated and poorly maintained, the pool area is inadequate and old fashioned, the building itself is like a concrete maze from which one can derive little pleasure, in addition there is no direct access to the beach and this can only be reached with a Ferry.

The beach is in a private island and as this belongs to the hotel, prices for food, drink, and activities are extortionate. There are no other hotels or businesses in the area and you are forced to eat and drink in the resort at ridiculous prices. Moreover, they charge you for everything; if you want to use one of their “rusty” cabanas you pay, if you want to use the golf course you pay, if you want to access the waterpark (which consists of a slide in a pool) you pay, these are all services that should be included on a 4* rate.

When it comes to the services they offer, forget about hiring a bike, exploring the neighbour areas or anything of the kind, this is a resort for you to enter and not leave until the end of your holiday…

I also had a number of problems with the service:

1 – Our room was located by the Noisy Ice Machine and the elevators, despite a number of complaints the hotel staff failed to resolve this problem and we were left to suffer the noise in the same room for 8 nights.
2 – Poor housekeeping as they failed to clean our room on one of the days.
3 – Cleanliness, the carpets are dirty and you cannot walk bare foot. The duvet was dirty, and overall the room didn’t feel clean.
4 – Bed linen was old and felt old and used.
5 – Food, the breakfast had a poor choice of unhealthy foods, and both the Steak and Italian restaurants were overpriced and could not be referred to as fine dining. After a couple of days you are desperate to eat good food, or go to a supermarket and buy something healthy… but again, this is impossible at El Conquistador.
6 – Serviced by the pool took over 1:15 hrs when I had just ordered a pizza.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and I feel sorry that my holiday was spoiled by staying there. This is a stain the Woldorf Astoria name.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the treatment to everyplace you went there was always a great ambient plus theres is so much to do you just feel totally disconnected from everything. I did not have the time to enjoy all parts of it and all activities due to my business responsibilities but the areas a did went were very pleasing and relaxing. Would definitely stay there again some time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Juan Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the marina and had a full ocean view room - breathtaking an worth the upgrade! We took advantage of the resort restaurants and dined at The Stingray our first night. The food was good but not worth the price. Would recommend going off site for dinner (La Estacion!). Definitely take advantage of Palomin Island but bring sunscreen and reapply per directions - PR sun is unforgiving! Some of the staff were out of this world (two from NYC come to mind - Jasson and Willie) but definitely room for improvement. We spoke to the manager on duty at checkout. She was very gracious and apologetic for some of the poor service we received, one instance in particular, and gave us her business card to call her personally for a reservation if we should return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuppeltFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews