We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,768)
Filter reviews
7,769 results
Traveler rating
2,990
2,398
1,211
723
447
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,990
2,398
1,211
723
447
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island palomino island water park puerto rico marina area chops horseback riding rented a car water shoes walk in closet cafe caribe ocean view las casitas main pool tennis courts family vacation bio bay
Filter
Updating list...
4,573 - 4,578 of 7,769 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was extremely disappointed with the overall quality of this hotel.

The building is extremely dated and poorly maintained, the pool area is inadequate and old fashioned, the building itself is like a concrete maze from which one can derive little pleasure, in addition there is no direct access to the beach and this can only be reached with a Ferry.

The beach is in a private island and as this belongs to the hotel, prices for food, drink, and activities are extortionate. There are no other hotels or businesses in the area and you are forced to eat and drink in the resort at ridiculous prices. Moreover, they charge you for everything; if you want to use one of their “rusty” cabanas you pay, if you want to use the golf course you pay, if you want to access the waterpark (which consists of a slide in a pool) you pay, these are all services that should be included on a 4* rate.

When it comes to the services they offer, forget about hiring a bike, exploring the neighbour areas or anything of the kind, this is a resort for you to enter and not leave until the end of your holiday…

I also had a number of problems with the service:

1 – Our room was located by the Noisy Ice Machine and the elevators, despite a number of complaints the hotel staff failed to resolve this problem and we were left to suffer the noise in the same room for 8 nights.
2 – Poor housekeeping as they failed to clean our room on one of the days.
3 – Cleanliness, the carpets are dirty and you cannot walk bare foot. The duvet was dirty, and overall the room didn’t feel clean.
4 – Bed linen was old and felt old and used.
5 – Food, the breakfast had a poor choice of unhealthy foods, and both the Steak and Italian restaurants were overpriced and could not be referred to as fine dining. After a couple of days you are desperate to eat good food, or go to a supermarket and buy something healthy… but again, this is impossible at El Conquistador.
6 – Serviced by the pool took over 1:15 hrs when I had just ordered a pizza.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and I feel sorry that my holiday was spoiled by staying there. This is a stain the Woldorf Astoria name.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the treatment to everyplace you went there was always a great ambient plus theres is so much to do you just feel totally disconnected from everything. I did not have the time to enjoy all parts of it and all activities due to my business responsibilities but the areas a did went were very pleasing and relaxing. Would definitely stay there again some time.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Juan Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the marina and had a full ocean view room - breathtaking an worth the upgrade! We took advantage of the resort restaurants and dined at The Stingray our first night. The food was good but not worth the price. Would recommend going off site for dinner (La Estacion!). Definitely take advantage of Palomin Island but bring sunscreen and reapply per directions - PR sun is unforgiving! Some of the staff were out of this world (two from NYC come to mind - Jasson and Willie) but definitely room for improvement. We spoke to the manager on duty at checkout. She was very gracious and apologetic for some of the poor service we received, one instance in particular, and gave us her business card to call her personally for a reservation if we should return.

Date of stay: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuppeltFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is ok. I expected more from Waldorf Astoria. The rooms feel like Ikea. Half the staff was very friendly and the other half had attitude. There is a $57ish surcharge on top of the hotel rate for extras such as the boat. You have to pay for the slides. The water sports are very expensive. Nickel and dime you. Our first room was next the elevator and ice machine which kept us up most the night. Next day they were kind of enough to switch our rooms. Our check-in was 2 hours past what it should have been so they gave us a late check-out. There is a lot of walking to get around. First day or two not bad. But by the 3rd day tired of taking funicular to get to beach. Boat ride is 7 - 10 minutes but you have to walk to the funicular, wait for it, wait for the boat... so really to get to the beach is more like 30 - 40 minutes each way. Food is not good. We had one nice meal at Sting Ray but was NYC prices and a little higher. Two good places to eat 5 minutes from the resort are Passion and La Estation. Thought taxis were expensive for short drive. To go the restaurants were $40 and $30 round trip and while it is $100 to drive an hour to the airport. The resort is very large if you like that sort of thing.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank hansthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent views!!! Top of a hill looking down to the sea and Puerto Rico other little islands. Water park awesome for kids! Great employee services and attention! Our room very spacious and clean! Best And biggest PR hotel. A real gem!

Date of stay: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinIrlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews