We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We plan to return next year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Indy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We plan to return next year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

El Conquistador Resort was the selected location for our company's Award of Excellence gathering in mid-April. I cannot imagine a more ideal spot for an award-winning getaway!

My guest and I shared a beautiful room overlooking the marina, which made it an ideal location for a quick excursion to Palomino Island, the resort's exclusive property. A white, well-groomed, sandy beach; beautiful wildlife; stunning flora; and, excellent customer service greeted us on the island, along with opportunities for horseback riding; hiking; jet skiing; and, more than I can remember. Families with children wandered freely on the island, too, enjoying the safety and security of the beach.

On the main resort property we found excellent dining, bargain shopping, opportunities for organized tours, fabulous entertainment and a small casino frequented by resort guests and local residents. And needless to say, there were pools, pools, pools and more pools... each one more refreshing than the next.

Was there a bad experience during the week? Well, beside the need to depart - which was more sad than bad - I had an unfortunate experience in the grill next to the marina, for which the resort management more than compensated me. Slow service was the problem, which caused me to miss the departure time for my planned afternoon group activity.

When I returned to my room, intending to rest and do some shopping instead, I decided to alert the front desk - careful not to make a huge fuss - so that this incident could become a positive, teachable experience for the grill employees. Within 10 minutes, the hotel manager-on-duty called to get the details, and he promised to compensate me for the event. Within another 10 minutes, the manager called to advise me that the hotel had made arrangements with Golden Door Spa for a 25-minute massage at my choice of timeframes that afternoon. It was an unexpected treat, and I would gladly re-visit the Golden Door Spa at any location.

The highest compliment that I can offer is the fact that my guest and I are already discussing a return to El Conquistador Resort next year, even though we will be paying for the trip...not our company. It will be worth every dollar!

Helpful?
2 Thank DvoraT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,723
    2,257
    1,137
    674
    397
See reviews for
2,707
1,951
83
871
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I have traveled to many resorts and this was by far my least favorite. We arrived to a very dirty room...something splashed all over the walls and doors in the bathroom as well as something smeared on the walls over the bed. We immediately called the front desk and to their credit, they did have it cleaned immediately. We know another couple that was here with us who switched rooms 3 times before they got one that was acceptable.

The service EVERYWHERE in this hotel is SLOOOOW! Espeically the pool - we waited over an hour for pizza one day and were told not even to bother ordering a burger because it would be forever until we got it. You have to hunt down waiters to get food. There was just nothing relaxing about this. The casino bar and marina bar was slow you didn't even want to drink anymore once they got to you. The one place we received good service was at "Strips" a restaraunt within the hotel...there was very good food here and our waiter was excellent.

I would rather not waste more time with the details, but I really would find a different hotel to stay at if you are considering. Too many people, slow service, average food and Ritz Carlton prices!!

We did go over to the island to hang out and that was by far the best day - although - it takes an hour just to get over there by the time you get down the elevator, down the tram (one was broken, of course) and on the boat. Nothing seemed convenient.

  • Liked — We loved the island, Strips and casino
  • Disliked — service, food, high prices for the quality of food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StillMNatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

Just returned from a 6 day trip to the BEAUTIFUL EL CONQUISTADOR... We traveled from April 19- 24th We stayed at the LAS OLAS SECTION OF THE RESORT in my opinion this is the best part to be in.... Centrally located to everything... need to take the funicular up to the main level but you can go down to the Marina by stairs if you choose to.. you also have a pool to your selves at the Las Olas... I feel it is more relaxing than the main level of the resort. The food is good... The better restaurants like the Strip house, Otellos and Blossoms are excellent. They are alittle pricey but I am from New York so I am used to expensive. There is alot of walking at this resort but that is okay because everywhere you go the views are absolutely breathtaking. I hope whoever wants to go to this resort does not get discouraged by the poor reviews that some people have made. We went to the waterpark 3 times while there my son Justin who is 11 loved it and SO DID I..... The beach is also something to see.. The ocean is so clean and gorgeous... I am definetly going back to the EL CONQUISTADOR IN the very near future. I Have nothing bad to say about this resort Oh I even won money at the casino... I will be posted some photos shortly..... Thank you CONQUISTADOR FOR A VACATION WE WILL REMEMBER FOR A VERY LONG TIME...DONNA FROM BROOKLYN

  • Liked — the room was very spacious and the bed was so comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing was baD
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank brooklyngirl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

I just returned from a family trip ( 10 people) to Fajardo Puerto Rico. Ages ranged from 3 to 65. We stayed at the Las Casitas Village at El Conquistador. Having vacationed last year at the Atlantis Paradise Island, we could not help but compare the two. I will try to enter a comparison somewhere on this site
First - Positive points on Las Casitas:
1) The villas and the grounds were absolutely beautiful, very clean, spacious and tastefully done. You are surrounded by gorgeous views of the Atlantic and the surrounding countryside including the mountainous rain forest "El Yunque" in the near distance
2)We were no more than 10 steps from a roman pool with two hot tubs and a short walk to the beautiful Infinity pool with one hot tub and a view which is magnificent. You are perched high above the Atlantic facing Palomino Island. Fantastic
3) Staff was extremely helpful and eager to be of service - joyfully. Some language problems but nothing you can't work thru. You have to be persistent sometimes to get towels, toilet paper. etc but eventually they will deliver
4) Golf course right behind the Las Casitas village so if you are a golfer this is where you should stay
5) Walking around Las Casitas villas is easy and soft on the feet. 6) There is one small restaurant at Las Casitas. They will bring you food and drink at the Infinity Pool
7) We used room service and Blossom (Chinese and Japanese ) main hotel restaurant delivery quite a bit. Food was good
Overall:
1) If you want to visit Old San Juan and El Yunque (the rain forest) you will need a car or arrange for a tour. I highly recommend Emmanuel "Manny" Mulero - 787-863-7312 -he arranged all our activities at the last moment and on a holiday and came through.I called him "The King of Puerto Rico". He was cheaper than the hotel services as well. We also went on the banana boat and snorkeling too - great experience
2) You may want to skip the kayaking. It was fun but somewhat difficult - it is pitch black - you do this at night time, you kayak through a mangrove swamp to get to a bay where if you swish your hands in the water it glows. Nice but I am not sure it was worth the effort although I am happy we did it. We felt like Indiana Jones.:-))
3) Las Casitas is set off on its own. I like this but be prepared to take the shuttle back and forth to the main hotel and the marina. We all enjoyed the shuttle rides thru the golf course. We never waited more than 5 - 6 minutes for the shuttle
4) Beach on Palomino Island is nice but we had difficulty getting clean chairs in the shade. It is somewhat annoying to have to travel by boat to get to the beach but it is a fun ride
5) Water park is small - three slides, small Lazy River and a nice infinity pool
6) Casino is very small with lots of penny and nickel slots.
7) Some shopping on site - enough for me but not all my family agreed
8) Pool at main hotel was nice - bigger than the Las Casitas pools but not huge
9) Somewhat expensive - a bit higher than the Atlantis
10) No teen club yet
11) On the weekend, it was crowded. Local people stay at the hotel on those days. Not packed with people but more crowded and noisy then during the week
Everyone enjoyed their stay and had a great time. My three year old grand-daughter cried when we had to leave. I took away an appreciation for the Puerto Rican people and their heritage which I didn't have before and an enduring memory of the beauty of Las Casitas and the wonderful staff
I will post my other photos to Flickr under OldAndSassy

  • Liked — The beauty of the place, it's cleanliness and wonderful villas
  • Disliked — No beach close by
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank OldAndSassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2008

Management needs to correct operations at this beautiful resort site. The pricing reflects an upscale luxury property, but there are annoying gratuities added to each bill.

The staff seems to operate at an 80% level and is indifferent to the guests' needs. For example, we tried to have breafast each AM when they open at 7:00 AM and yet, the waiters were still setting up instead of being ready to serve immediately.

Housekeeping never provided any turn down service in our room and we even had to kill our own large cockroach in the bathroom.

On Sunday one of the finiculars was not working.

Valet parking never cleaned our windows on the rental car.

Golden Door prices were outrageous.

El Conquistador has a great location, a beautiful new Water Park and many choices of dining. Management needs to train all employees how to provide service and how to deal with the guests in a friendly, yet professional way. In the end, one remembers the little things, not the huge golf course that is underutilized.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank patgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

I had a wonderful time during my stay at the El Conquistador hotel..From the moment that I walked in the door I was made to feel welcome. It was nice to be greated with a beautiful smile by the lady at the front desk. Her name is Magda Walley and she not only took care of me when I was checking in, but anything that I needed during my stay she made sure that I had it. All I would have to do was call her at the front desk, and she made sure that I was taken care of right away. This kind of service by an individual makes you want to come back every year. I also got a chance to visit the waterpark, which was very nice. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to go on vacation to Puerto Rico, and I will definitely tell them to make sure that they ask for Magda when they get there. Because I know that they will be in good hands. Look forward to coming back again real soon.

Michael

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank jacksonboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

We just returned from a stay at the El Conquistador Resort and Spa and I must say, "what a great experience we had." The staff is prompt, courteous and always eager to help. One of our bags was held up at the airport by TSA, but when it finally arrived at the hotel the next morning, the bell hop brought it to our room within 3 minutes. We also experienced a flat tire to our rental car while driving in the city, but when we returned, the parking services staff pointed it out to us and even fixed the flat immediately. The concierge staff was always very helpful and took time to make sure our questions were answered

The hotel itself is beautiful and very well maintained. It sits atop a craggy cliffside offering astounding views in all directions. How many other resorts can say that they take their guests to a private island? We stayed in the main building with a view that looks out over the tennis courts and the mountainside of El Yunque rain forest. Breathtaking! Outside our door each night in the garden were the sounds of the native Coqui frogs. Loved it!

If you are frugal and can't enjoy the finer side of life, then this resort is probably not for you. The hotel itself and the restaurants are indeed pricey, but the food was always top-notch and delicious and the service 5-star. Couldn't ask for a better experience. I highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spinnervisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,659 reviews
26.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing