We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, lovely travel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely property, lovely travel experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend a weekend recently at this resort. I found the service exceptional, the rooms spacious and very comfortable and the overall resort an experience. There were many families vacationing there and it is an ideal place for parents with children with the water park, pools and so much to do. One of the best experiences was taking the catamaran to Palomino Island - a lovely ride and awesome beach. As others mention, the food and beverages are expensive but no different than other resorts of a similar caliber. The services at the spa are outstanding and if you book a spa appointment, make sure you take advantage of all of the services associated with the spa. I would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,853
    2,331
    1,177
    696
    413
See reviews for
2,861
2,029
85
893
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,610)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Expensive but, worth it!! we loved it so much we returned asap with the kids. Save money and rent a car, 40 min. drive. Stop at Walmart or Kmart. (snacks/fruit/beer etc.) Use car to eat in town. Hotel transportation is $52-$74 per child & adult r/t. It is safe to go into town & only 10-15 min. ride. Rain Forrest was ahhhh...ok. Blossoms Chinese in the hotel was HORRIBLE!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ & Get a room with an Ocean view. (La Brisas?) They offer AAA & Military di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally10998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last year in April, and it was so wonderful that I had to come back this year.
However, this year, I have been noticing some major needed improvements that I missed last year.
Basically, to sum it up, the hotel is falling apart. The rooms are dirty, (not dirty as in bugs on the floor or dirt, but first as in faded walls, dusty, and fingerprints on smooth surfaces such as pictures.) My door to my balcony won't close all the way, the shower head is moldy, the walls are smudged, and there are various small cracks in different parts of the room.
The whole place is VERY expensive. Not worth the money, I am sorry to say.
I have 2 children who came along with us. The hotel has an arcade room that they were just drawn too from the beginning. However, most, if not all of the arcade games DONT WORK! Meaning, some of them eat your money (you put two tokens into the machine, and it doesn't start) and most of them don't give you tickets if you win.
However, the location of the hotel is Absolutley gorgeous. Even if the hotel was non existent, the view of the hillside and the ocean would make everything worth-while. I stress to you- there are MANY different types of rooms. There are probably 5 to 6 different types such as a garden view, partial ocean view, full ocean view, marina, and private rooms way at the top of the hill. So everybody's experience will differ based apon the room you were given. (Also based on how much you payed per night).
I want to thank the staff of this hotel for being very friendly, and helpful. This hotel is very nice, however it really isn't worth the money because everything is outdated. I hope that the hotel management will update this in the near future, or suffer from negative reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I was glad to read from your review that you found our hotel to beautiful. I do however understand that you thought that our property was somewhat dated and that it was showing signs of wear and tear. Our main priority is for our guests to leave our property with a good impression and I truly apologize that we could not deliver this for you. I do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We absolutely loved everything about this resort - what a perect vacation. Here is a list of all the pros (there were no cons!).

Wonderful staff - everyone we came in contact with (even those on their way to work) greeted us warmly and asked if there was anything they could do for us.

Beautiful room - we stayed in an ocean view room in Las Brisas. Large room with a balcony with a vast ocean view. Large bathroom with excellent lighting which is a rarity these days. Large walk-in closet with a refrigerator. Plenty of seating, clean, comfortable bed.

Private island! - 15 minute boat ride to beautiful beach (kayak, wave runners), horseback riding, cafe, bars, lots of lounge chairs and shade. Water was pristine.

Beautiful grounds and walks, fantastic views, great pools, water park, marina.

Dining - many dining choices. We usually ate dinner at our favorite restaurant outside of the resort at La Estacion. We did eat breakfast at Starbucks every day - very reasonable prices and lunch at the beach which also had reasonable prices and good food.

We used valet parking which was always very prompt but could have used the self-park. It really is not that far away and can be easily walked.

Room Tip: Ocean view room in Las Brisas for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our second visit to El Conquistador with no regrets. Our room was amazing on the forth floor, facing the ocean. The warm sun poured into our room every morning. The sound of the coqui's at night lulled us to a sound sleep. The pool is clean and another favorite is the beach at Palomino Island. The beach is gorgeous, even with hiking trails leading up top of the hill for more beautiful views. We wouldn't hesitate to return again!

Room Tip: Be prepared for a lot of "resort fees".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruzer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at El Conquistador resort. While it is a beautiful resort, the comforter had mold on it and the "shuttle" service for the self park lot was essentially non-existent to the extent that the shuttle bus drivers literally took off from the lot eventhough they could see you parking your car in the lot. This happened at least 4 times during our stay. As for the mold, we had to complain twice before it was properly addressed.

Aside from those two customer service snafus, the hotel is magnificent.

Room Tip: Water view rooms offer the best ambiance. Court yard rooms are more dark and dreary due to lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel amenities were nice. The problem that I experienced was that a very nice room was booked on Hotwire and the room I ended up with was good but not the nicer one that I had booked. This occurred after the reception clerk phoned a manger and she was unaware that I could understand her Spanish even though I look 100% gringo. Various bogus reasons were offered, such as it's a good walk from the hotel; there are only 2 double beds and no rooms with a king bed; it's too quiet, but the lack of a king bed for my girlfriend and I was the clincher.

After taking a walk around the grounds later that day and after a very large group checked in, it was obvious that there were many vacancies in the Villas, as there were the following day.

I complained to the very same clerk who checked us in and was given another bs story, this time time with a little more 'tude.

So, would I recommend staying here? Yes, BUT make sure you get exactly what you book!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing