We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Dive center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 35%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant Dive center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

While I didn't stay in the resort I can only attest to the dive school located there.

I found them very helpful and very reasonable priced.

I did 5 dives altogether and despite the conditions not being fantastic (poor visibility due to storms) the crew still found plenty for us to see.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank q547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,358
    2,047
    1,018
    623
    356
See reviews for
2,358
1,689
67
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and huge.This is not the place to go if you have health issues.Not even a bottle of water in the room,nothing. I've been at many hotels throughout the caribbean where there refrigs are stocked with water and soda. Everything you want to consume you pay through the nose. No microwaves in the room either.Yes the beach at palomino island is nice,but who wants to walk a quarter of a mile take a tram car down the hill and wait 1/2 hour for a boat ride to the beach? Better take water shoes because it is a rocky beach in the water.Pricey restaurants yes live bands no.The best night life you get is your tv.If you like paying for a view this is the place for you.If you like to be close to the beach and have a healthy choice for restaurants,this isn't the place for you.Go to the restaurants off the premise for better value and variety.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a real terrace,not the French terrace where you stick your head out like a parak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlito w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Conquistador is a lovely property with beautiful, scenic views. The pools are nice, as are the main lobby and common areas. If the true cost of staying at the hotel was what was quoted (for me, $279 per night on the hotel website), I'd have little to complain about. However, given all of the *extras* the hotel charges you (resort fees, airport shuttle service charge and the like), this resort is not a great value. For over $400 a night, I expect better-maintained rooms and better, friendlier service from the staff. In addition, I expect better dining options, rather then the over-priced and mediocre food that the hotel has to offer. For the amount of money I paid, I expected a much better experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpK-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloneta, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for a weekend looking to wind down in family, my wife and 3 year old were with me. The package included one free breakfast and tickets for the water park. We were accomodated in the rooms that are close by the Water Park. The weekend was spent on the sunny beach of Palomino and at the Water Park and one night at the pools located right next to Las Vistas and open up to late in the night. We snacked at the hotel $$ but decided to eat outside of the hotel area. The service was great, the room was clean and my wife and daughter enjoyed every minute we spent at the hotel. HINT: If you are looking to stay and make the purpose of the vacation visit the private island (Palomino) and the Water Park of El Conquistador ask if there are rooms available on the lower level (La Marina). You have to take a short ride to these rooms but being so close to the Water Park and where the boat docks to go to Palomino (if you plan to go to the island, GO EARLY the lines tend to get very long after 9am) is worth it.

Room Tip: If you are looking to stay and make the purpose of the vacation visit the private island (Palomino...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanMdelPueblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is my second trip to this impressive hotel. The views are spectacular and you have rooms for all types of guests. The place is so large that a lack of maintenance is evident in some places of the premises. I went to the spa which I like very much and the gym is very well set. If you want a easily accessible beach.. you are in for a wait as you have to take a 10'15 minute ferry to Palomino Island, but once you are there you can forget about the ride.
I would come back to this resort with my family ' although I would not look forth to the commute from the airport to the hotel which is at least 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Both times I stayed in room 4330 which has a spectacular view but its far from the ocean.. the breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpug70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryancf2061
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a beach getaway in the Caribbean, and after extensive research settled on 2 nights in San Juan and 4 nights at El Conquistador. After reading dozens of reviews for the hotel, I was a little leary of whether we made the right choice for a couples spot. The El Conquistador exceeded our expectations, and Palomino Island is probably the best hotel amenity I have ever seen. Here are a few tips that benefited us:
1) rent a car. Being able to tour old town San Juan, and hike La Mina trail in El Yunque were two of our most memorable parts of the trip. El Yunque is only 30-40 minutes from the hotel and we ate lunch at La Parilla in Luquillo, which made for a fantastic day trip. Try to get to La Mina trail at El Yunque by 10am because it becomes crowded.
2) eat dinner outside the resort. we had several breakfasts at Cafe Caribe and a couple lunches at Bella Vista that were decently priced and good quality, but the dinner restaurants are highly overpriced for the quality. We had dinner at 3 nearby restaurants in Fajardo and all were delicious and service was exceptional. We ate at La Estacion, Di Yukas, and El Varadero and appetizers, two entrees and several drinks was never more than $100.
3) for couples, there is a secluded, clothing optional beach on the far side of Palomino Island called Hidden Cove. It's a bit of a walk, but more than worth it. We had the beach to ourselves! That being said, there are no beverage services at Hidden Cove, so you will need to bring your own drinks (not exactly approved by hotel but we were discreet and had no issues). There is a Walgreens in town and 12 packs of Medallo were $9 vs the $6/beer you pay at the resort.
4) Las Brisas ocean view rooms were very nice. We were upgraded from a garden view room due to hh gold status. We had two minor maintenance issues that were fixed very quickly.

We are not typically fans of returning to the same vacation spot, but will certainly make an exception for the El Conquistador!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ryancf2061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The morning view, watching the sunrise over Isla Palamino is amazing. Within walking distance to the park for the Bio-Bay tours at night, call ahead for reservations. Many in-house restaurants, night life w/ live bands, and most importantly, you can listen to the Coqui as they sing you to sleep at night. I never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
45.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
30.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
87.1 mi away
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing