We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More A Hilton/DoubleTree Resort Than A Waldorf-Astoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

If it wasn't for the golf course and the beach (on its own island), this would probably be a Hilton or a DoubleTree resort. In fact, a few years ago, this was a Wyndham resort.

The rooms have 26" Zenith TVs (yes, Zenith), not Samsung or Sony or LG. There is a desk in the room, but you can't easily reach the electrical outlet. The room decor can best be described as bland.

Housekeeping was inconsistent. it took a couple of days for one trash can to be emptied. We took water the first day we were there, but if was several days before the water was restocked. One day we returned to the room in the late afternoon to discover no bath towels, but an air mattress that we never requested.

The resort has a very large convention space. When we were there, there were 2 conferences. The first was fine. The participants from the second were slamming doors at midnight and being loud drunks in the hallway at 3:30 in the morning.

There is no longer a casino at the resort. It's now an entertainment area with pool tables, track car racing and basketball games.

Not all is negative. The resort is situated right on the water. The views are quite impressive, particularly if you have a water view room. The resort has free wi-fi.

You take a 20 minute boat ride to the island with the beach. There are a lot of lounge chairs on the island, but you should try to get to the island as soon as you can in the morning for the best choice of location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripstersAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,891 - 4,897 of 7,751 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went for a week for a business trip with personal time added on. The location and the resort itself are beautiful. The private island is gorgeous with fun activities.
Everything at this resort is extremely overpriced. While basic room charges were OK because of our group rate, the extras got to be ridiculous: $20 daily resort fee (still don't know what I got for this), $15-25 daily parking fee, $20 for bell service, daily charge for maid service etc etc etc
The conference facilities were quite good except for the distance to the rest rooms. The meals served as part of the conference were well below expectations: Overcooked and no taste. The service staff at the banquets were however very friendly and helpful.
All the restaurants that we tried were over priced. As another reviewer mentioned, I don't mind paying high prices for meals if the food is good but nothing that we tried was even average. We tried the Asian restaurant, the seafood restaurant by the marina, the bar and grill by the marina, Iquana's on the island and Caribe Cafe. Drinks were also expensive as mentioned by most reviewers. Bars closed down ridiculously early and with no other alternatives because of distance, that made for grumpy hotel guests. The service in all the bars and restaurants (with the exception of Drake's) was terrible. Waiters and bar tenders were sour and slow. No interest in serving their customers whatsoever.
The spa was fantastic although also expensive. Staff was professional and well trained.
Tour desk was helpful but everything that we booked started late.
Overall, I was disappointed in the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean or marina view. Stay away from Las Olas - tram is unreliable and slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SC_Dawg1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I read the other reviews and was looking forward to going. Didn't know that we would be charged 15 dollars per day for parking and a daily resort fee. The parking was a ways from front entrence. Everytime you wanted to go out you had to get your card validated with parking attendant then had to wait for shuttle to drive you to your car and then when you came back had to get another ticket and wait for shuttle to bring you back to hotel was a pain. The room was not impressive for being a nice rated hotel paint was peeling off of railing outside. Room needed updating. Bathroom tiles had mold on them and there was tape around the bathroom light. They had no casino anymore they had pool tables and air hockey in its place but you had to pay for that. Didn't have any nightly entertainment. The only thing we like about the resort was the view is beautiful and the island was beautiful as well. As far as that wasn't too impressed. We would not recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariannepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is like a Vegas hotel and its built for you to never leave. The photos you see are the real deal. They had numerous restaurants for every budget. The bar prices were comparable to big city prices. We took advantage of the mini fridge to stretch our dollars a little farther. We also ate mostly in town vs the fancy restaurants. The week we were there was still a little slow and the hotel was not very busy. Service was excellent and the room was modern and clean. We stayed marina level and while it was beautiful there was no going back if you forgot something in your room or car. It was at least a 20 minute process.
The only thing I didn't get is where to find out about the fun stuff the hotel was offering. I would see on face book every day the fun hikes or adventures the hotel offered but that was only after they were done. I wish the hotel would have done a better job of advertising this service. One morning it was a paddle board yoga, another it was a 2.5 mile nature walk. I never asked but they also werent promoting it as much as they could of.

Also, the golf course was beautiful and if your interested they offer a driving range and a club and bucket of balls was only 7.00. That wasnt advertised but worth if you want to take a look.

Palamino island was beautiful. Lots of activities for families. We took a hike and found adult only beach on the other side of the hill. They really have thought of everything. Water was calm even though there were high winds.

Biobay tour is walking distance, rainforest is not far and the ferry to Vieques and Cubebra is nearby. Going to old san juan was a about 1 hour away. If I did it over again I might stay a couple nights at this hotel and then a night or two in old san juan. Driving got to be exhausting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The staff were really nice. The ocean view room was amazing. Their private island was gorgeous. Had a blast with my BF. If you're renting a car in San Juan, rent with Enterprise. We rented with enterprise and parked at the Enterprise parking spot at the hotel so we didn't have to pay for daily parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Menchie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I just spend 5 days in PR and it was fabulous! We stayed in room 4226 on the 2nd floor. Big bathroom with a huge closet. Big comfy bed and pillows. Desk/Vanity and a large couch. The best part was the huge balcony over looking the ocean. This room was more than we could have hoped for. Food and Drink prices were what we expected, but the food was good. The Strip House was very romantic and our waitress Danielle was very good. She had great recommendations. She also suggested we do the ATV excursion thru the rainforest and that was great. We do not have a single complaint. Relaxing, Amazing, and tons of Fun. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krempie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A great vacation spot to relax, enjoy, have fun and get your feet wet ! one of the best things is the free water taxi to the palomino island , which is itself a heaven. the room was clean, service was good. the only gripe i had was about the few restaurants there : bally-hoo and cafe caribe. rest of the restaurants were excellent. would pick this place to stay again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: room with beach view (2nd and 3rd level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonks N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
1.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
8.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $203 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing