We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique place, outstanding views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Courteous staff:
I think you can judge a lot about a hotel’s service by the first encounter at check in. I got a great first impression here with Ruben at the front desk. He was extremely courteous, you could tell he cared about our experience, and overall was what I hope to encounter when I book at the Waldorf Astoria brand.


Amazing resort:
My fiancé and I have stayed at a lot of other resorts in Puerto Rico and throughout the Caribbean, and the thing we liked most about this one was that it was a slightly different experience to the typical beach resort. Its more like a villiage on a cliff - very expansive with several pools, a good selection of restaurants and shops, and plenty of grounds to explore. If that isn’t enough there is a ferry that makes frequent runs back and forth to the resorts private island with a beautiful beach, activities, a couple of beach bars (about 10 mins on the ferry)

Cons - unless you show up without researching this place none of this should surprise you…
- Its about and hour from San Juan / SJU so if taking taxi's assume upwards of $100 each way
- Pricey (it’s a Waldorf)
- Beach requires some effort to get to (the hotel is on a cliff so of course the beach is not at your feet)

Overall very pleased and we will be back, hopefully for a longer visit next time.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RichTheCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and review of our beautiful property. We are happy to hear about the quality service you received while staying here and will be sure to share your thoughts with our Front Office Staff. We believe the El Conquistador can provide unique experiences for all types of travellers and vacations. We are glad to hear that you plan to return...we will be waitnig at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,730)
There are newer reviews for El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,924 - 4,930 of 7,730 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'll start with the positives...the views are beautiful and they have a Starbucks. I did read reviews before going so my expectations where set appropriately low. We arrived on a Wednesday and pretty much had the resort to ourselves. The lobby, pools, & restaurants were empty. Check-In and overall service was average, no bells or whistles anywhere. It’s worth mentioning that the best suggestions came from the Taxi/Shuttle drivers. The common areas were nice enough and seemed to be clean. Our upgraded room faced Palomino Island and the Atlantic Ocean. The room was spacious and bathroom large. The décor stark white with a few colored toss pillows and all the furniture is plastic/vinyl covered. I had read that during off season they give discounts to locals. It wasn’t until Friday evening that we truly got to experience the masses of locals taking over the resort. The hallways echoed with people running and talking loud the rest of the trip. I liked the coqui, I did not like the loud locals. Friday night a loud family settled into the room next door. The walls must be extremely thin because we could hear everything. I’m not naïve enough to think the locals paid anything close to what we paid a night. Once taxes and daily charges for staff & housekeeping were included, we paid OVER $200 a night. I guess the locals wouldn’t have bothered me so much if we wouldn’t have had little bugs throughout the ENTIRE room. When I informed the front desk that we had little bugs all over everything, she told me they were ants and that they would have someone spray. NOT move us, but spray. Needless to say, EVERYDAY I got to kill ants in the bathroom, on the tables, on the vinyl/plastic couch, on the toilet (see picture). We passed the front desk two days after informing them and I mentioned the ants were still present. She told me that it took several days for the ants to find the poison. Great, so by the time we’re gone, they’ll be gone. Great.

Although some reviews talk about the $15 a day parking fee and the trek to find the car, I would still suggest getting a rental. We did not and I would say that it was $80/$100 EVERY time we got a taxi (round-trip). The resort is 50 min/1hr away from San Juan, the airport, most things. I would say we spent $600 on taxi’s, easily.

The restaurants at the resort were okay, but overpriced. For me, the best breakfast option was Starbucks and the best lunch option was the restaurant on Palomino Island. Palomino Island was nice, but you couldn’t just pop down to it or run to the room if you forgot something. You had to take a trolley down to the marina level to catch a ferry which came every hour on the weekdays and every half hour on Saturday & Sunday. The island was definitely a planned outing that at best was a half day commitment.

Overall, I would say this resort is overpriced and run down. I would not return nor recommend the El Conquistador. Not sure if it’s worth mentioning, but Hilton has bought the resort. Possible renovation in the future?!?!? Couldn’t hurt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee_8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay and we apologize for not providing the singular Waldorf experience you look to us for. As the health and safety of our guests is our number one priority, we work closely with a professional pest control company to prevent and rectify any situations such as yours; we will be bringing your experience to them and taking additional preventative measures moving forward. Please feel free to contact me personally if you would like to speak further about your experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can show you the quality service and stay you deserve, should your travels bring you back to the island in the future.

Sincerely,

Dermot Connolly
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Las Casitas. The view from our room was breath taking and the staff and service was great. The food is not very good and very expensive. All of the fine dining restaurants were disappointing-over priced and not very good food. Blossoms was terrible, La Piccola Fontana was okay, the Strip house was okay, and Stingray was pretty good. Our favorite spots were Las Brisas for breakfast, Cafe bella vista for lunch or dinner, and we loved Ventana del Caribe for happy hour. There's a Walmart down the road from the property. It's a good idea to stock up on snacks and beer (a 6 pack of beer sold at the mini mart on the property was $22!!!!!!) The hotel is NOT on a beach. You have to take the funicular down the cliff and then take the ferry to an island. It takes about 45 minutes just to reach the beach. Also, the property is large and spread out so be prepared to walk. My husband and I loved how much walking we did but we could see how others would be annoyed. You're very close to Yunque Rainforest-definitely worth visiting! Also, we rented a car because we read that taxi cab rides were outrageous. The water park was really fun!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesAdair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Been to the Conquistador on several occasions, all with great results and relaxing times. Everything is ala carte so be prepared to shell out some additional $$$ to eat and drink at this beautiful resort. Staying in the ocean view rooms give you great views of the property and the water/islands. Facing the water, stay on the top floor in the left wing.

If you need beaches outside your door, this is not the place for you. A ferry ride over to Palimino Island is rather enjoyable and the island is great. Activities galore, or you can just hang out in the quiet section of the beach.

Love this place and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share some of your experiences while staying at the El Conquistador Resort. The Resort is truly a unique destination with so many differnt options for people to enjoy. It is great to hear of your intent to return and visit in the future. We will be waiting...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The resort was magnificent. the tram that takes you up and down from the resort to lower levels was quite exciting and fascinating each time we took it. Not to forget the Jaccuzis located all over the place. They have a band playing in the outside bar which livened up the place even more and the compliementary rum cocktail sure added to the fun.
If you get a room facing the sea, you'll enjoy the view and the breeze all day long.
It's also conveniently located near the place where you can get the boats/Kayak to see the bioluminescent bay.

All in all, if you choose this resort, you definitely wont regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ocean facing room on the Lowest level
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We are happy to hear that you had a great stay at the El Conquistador Resort. We have made some recent enhancements to our lobby area of the property as we offer table games (pool, air hockey, etc) as well as a relaxing lounge area to sit back and enjoy a cold beverage. On most nights we do feature live entertainment as well for all guests. We invite you to come back again soon and enjoy your home away from home.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes, I stayed this weekend at El Conquistador. Still a beautiful place to stay, very relaxing with a beautiful view of Fajardo coast. A place with ample rooms, very well decorated, white predominates, and all rooms look out to nature. This is the perfect place for a wedding, honeymoon, birthdays or just a special occasion. The swimming pool is spectacular, but try the tram to go the lower level and take a ferry to Palomino Island. The beach there is out of this world!!! When in Puerto Rico this is a must place.

Room Tip: Request the room looking out to the sea, for a beautiful view of the islands.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for the kind review you submitted for our beautiful property. You certainly highlighted some areas of the resort that offer amazing views of Puerto Rico. We hope you can return again very soon.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the gorgeous El Conquistador. The smell of the lobby is delicious. They call it Green Bamboo, but it smells of a faint gardenia/Hawaii. We went as a Girlfriends Get-Away. The property is huge and had everything we needed on the property; or very close by. We had to use the funicular to get to our room which was very neat, we didn’t have any problems. Only con was that by the end of our trip we wished that we had an elevator on our level of rooms; we stayed in Las Olas. The pools, the views, the shops, Starbucks, and the Happy Mojito Hour were fantastic. I will bring my family back for a vacation next time. This hotel has amenities of a Waldorf, but the rooms are more of clean and bright beach hotel. We didn’t mind at all...we had no problems falling asleep after our midnight kayaking, hiking the El Yunque, Zip Lining, and Swimming. Have fun and enjoy! See you soon El Conquistador!

Room Tip: We like the idea if staying in a room that has been carved into a mountain. Nice and quiet, but hone...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConLaLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

It is great to hear about your fantastic stay here at El Conquistador Resort. There are so many things to do while here, it is difficult to get to all of them in one trip. We are happy to hear of your intent to return with your family, as we love our returning guests!! Thank you for taking the time to share some of your memories from your trip, we certainly appreciate it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
30.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
8.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $179 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing