We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Blue Iguana

Blue Iguana
Ranked #33 of 102 Restaurants in Fajardo
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

First night at the hotel, we decided to try this place. It was almost 9:30pm, but the service from our waitress was an excellent one. We didn't wait too long for our food, they serve in great quantity, so be ready to come hungry. Food was fresh and hot. Prices were not too expensive. Waiting to come back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichiePR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good and.cheap”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to escape the el con prices so we gave this place a shot. It is very good for the money. The portions are large.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indysmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Large portions, good food, service lacking”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We came into the hotel late at night and hadn't eaten all day. We were without a car at that point and so went to the Blue Iguana since it was in the hotel. The food was very good and the portions were enormous but the service was a little too casual for me. We had to go to the bar and flag down the bartender to get refills and the waitress was more interested in talking to the cooks / staff than the customers. I can say that it was typically bland like most real Mexican food but it was cooked well and there was a lot of it. We left feeling very full and satisfied even if the service wasn't particularly prompt. If you are staying at the hotel, it's a good place to start.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was good, service lousy”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food was very good, but the service was awful. There was one waitress working to take care of the bar and all of the tables in the dining room. If you eat here make sure you have plenty of time to sit and wait. We had chicken quesadillas and they were delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jordy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in a casual setting”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Three of us had lunch once and dinner once at the Blue Iguana while staying at the Fajardo
Inn recently. My 2 companions had the steak fajitas, and were happy with their choice. I had the Caribbean explosion burger which was cooked to my order, and was a very satisfying and filling lunch. It was served on a toasted bun with lettuce, tomato, bacon and guacamole. On another occasion, we ordered a large cheese pizza from a separate menu, and it was quite good. It could easily have fed 4. One issue was the crust which was a bit soft even though I had requested it extra crisp.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Iguana also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Blue Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing