We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day aboard the Salty Dog”

Salty Dog Catamaran
Ranked #8 of 55 Tours in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Looking for an adventure? Salty Dog Catamaran offers a beautiful sailing experience to one of Puerto Rico’s best kept secret white sand beaches. Soak up the sun while you snorkel in the crystal clear ocean waters of the Caribbean. Enjoy a great lunch buffet including rum punch, painkillers and soft drinks.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great day aboard the Salty Dog”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Would recomnend the Salty Dog 110%. Everyone on the staff was great, top to bottom. Lunch was awesome: pasta, sandwiches, fruits, salad. You were never without a drink in your hands. I am from Puerto Rico and I have traveled to Icacos on private boats, but I had a different experience aboard the Salty Dog. Awesome day, would come back in a hearbeat. I made the reservation with a group of friends and we all had a great time. Later, the staff recommended us to go and have dinner in Las Olas. Right on the spot! If want to have a great catamaran experience (Puertorrican or tourist, it does not matter), go with Salty Dog.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Esteban P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    18
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walden, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome time with the crew of the Salty Dog”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just wanted to say thanks to the crew of the Salty Dog, Miriam, Alex, "Captain Ron" and BRIAN. We were a little hesitant, but as soon as we got on the catamaran it was so much fun. From the drinks, food and everyone on board having a great time. Isla Icacos was amazing and snorkling the reef was incredible. Not to mention the good looking Brian that helped out with the scenery. Thanks! We will soon be back again!.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricki0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very decent "booze cruise"”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Four of us booked a cruise in August. Nice folks on the phone. We came armed with the discount coupons that can be found in various places [one per person] and arrived about an hour early. This allowed us to park [quite safely] on the side of the road, right in front of the door into the marina. We thought that 54 people on a "cat" was a bit much, but hey....they have to make a living too.
NICE people on shore...talked with an owner. WONDERFUL [X4] crew. HELPFUL!!
This was a cruise of five hours, including a stop on a nice beach for swimming and snorkelling [all GOOD equipment supplied] Second stop at yet another island for more serious snorkelling.
Lunch served buffet style at the first island [FANTASTIC bread for sandwiches] Yeah...sandwiches. You expect the Ritz on a booze cruise?
The crew kept the rum punches and "pain killers" coming as fast as you'd like....rum and coke available, but the pain killers were tasty [with nutmeg on them]
The alcohol was there, but not so much as to make one stupid. Everybody stayed sane.
One of the better ones that I have done. Good for all ages, and nothing there to upset anybody.
A professionally run operation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DiverDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a great snorkeling trip. The staff are amazing - super friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. They kept the drinks flowing on the way to Icacos (about 40 minute calm boat ride). The beach and water were beautiful, and while the snorkeling might be disappointing to experienced snorkelers, it was great for our family (young children). The beach was also great to play in the sand and the crystal blue water. The snorkeling at the second location was also good, but the water is deeper (not right on a beach). We had so much fun we wanted to go back the next day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cruising Puerto Rico”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We wanted the best day cruise and snorkeling trip and we got it aboard the Salty Dog. Service was impeccable from start to finish. The drinks and the food just kept coming. The staff constantly were refreshing drinks, you are never left without a drink and they are fantastic! Freshest sandwiches, fruit and salads money can buy. Captain Sasso and crew are nothing less than very seasoned professionals who know how to operate a large vessel better than anyone in the business. You feel like you are in good hands the entire time you are on board. You are literally treated like family. I highly recommend the Salty Dog to anyone looking for an outstanding day on the water, on the beach, and snorkeling while in Puerto Rico.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorS812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dog Catamaran also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Salty Dog Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing