We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food - make a reservation.”
Review of La Estacion

La Estacion
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Kitchen opens Thursday -Monday at 5pm. Restaurant closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Contemporary Puerto Rican and BBQ fare all cooked over natural charcoal on an outdoor grill. Ingredients locally grown or caught. Outdoor seating and indoor dining room available.
1birdgirl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food - make a reservation.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We read all the glowing reviews and couldn't wait to go! It was a Tuesday, but we called ahead anyway to make a reservation and was told we didn't need one, so didn't make one. We arrive and there is a 30 minute wait for a table. My advice is to definitely make a reservation no matter what. Our vacation was winding down and we were tired and hungry.
The food was all that and more!!! Absolutely delicious from start to finish and the atmosphere and decor are funky and fun. Our service was lacking. Fair at best. Most likely just an off night, but it wasn't the amazing service we read about.
So, make a reservation to get seated, enjoy the best meal you'll have, and if you get mediocre service like we did, it won't matter!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1birdgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,350
    361
    80
    23
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

La estacion was a very good restaurant! We had lots of Puerto Rican food here...pinchos, tostones, mofongo, flan...all were the best of their kinds that we had in Puerto Rico! The atmosphere was great too...I think it would have been better if we had been allowed to sit outside. It looked pretty sweet! The only downside was that it was really expensive. My husband thought it was worth the $60+ we paid, but I didn't think the food was quite 'that' good! Overall, great restaurant, delicious food!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not such a great experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The atmosphere is great. Other than that it was horrible. It took almost an hour to get a table when there where tables available. I had the lobster mofongo and my husband had the churrasco mofongo. They look amazing but had no taste whatsoever and it was way too greasy. The waitress never brought us our drinks and was no where to be found. A different waitress came to the table and asked what we were having and she didn't bring our drinks either. Needless to say, I will not be visiting again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 875Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

One of the best restaurant in Fajardo!! awesome food, fresh fish (ask for the catch of the day) good prices. try not to miss out on this

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Experience for Puerto Rican Cuisine”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you're in Fajardo and want a night out of great food; a fantastic staff; and a casual 'local' feel - then this is the place to go.

We've been to PR twice and on both trips we've eaten here. The first time - just my wife and I. Then, this trip with all of our adult children and their spouses (Group of 12). The service between 2 and 12 was the same! Food came out together - hot and in a reasonable time without delay. The entire staff was professional and made us feel welcome.

Very nice place and we will come back often.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estacion also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Estacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing