We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, cool place with great atmosphere”
Review of La Estacion

La Estacion
Ranked #3 of 104 Restaurants in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Kitchen opens Thursday -Monday at 5pm. Restaurant closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Contemporary Puerto Rican and BBQ fare all cooked over natural charcoal on an outdoor grill. Ingredients locally grown or caught. Outdoor seating and indoor dining room available.
Jackson
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Funky, cool place with great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We dined here for my daughter's 13th birthday and had a great barbecue meal!! All the food is grown locally so the menu changes often. Started out with the sangria of the day which was star fruit and mango. Very good!!!! the barmaid Maybelline helped us out with our birthday celebration. The premise of this place is an old gas station that was converted into a restaurant. there are still the garage doors there and the outdoor seating is funky!!
Located at the service entrance to El Conquistador/Las Casitas the cab ride is not worth the $$ but if you can convince someone to take you to the gate, you literally walk through it and directly across the street is this place... if you take a cab, it will cost you $5 per person each way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bearly2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,371
    366
    82
    24
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The food was great and the service was excellent. I had a moron go with octopus in white wine and it was delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yaritza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great dinner at a very local place”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

It is called "La Estacion" since it was once a gas station. Now it is a popular and very well managed restaurant near the entrance to El Conquistador. The food is very local (fried red snapper, mafungo, etc) and extremely tasty. I brought my family of 3 college kids and my wife there and all raved about the food and desserts. This is one of the best eating places around as agreed by both locals and visitors. Not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajardo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great atmosphere and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

If you are in Fajardo you must eat at La Estacion. My wife and I had the grilled shrimp and also grilled Chorizzo for appetizers . Served on skewers with vegetables they were both fantastic. The shrimp was served with a large Tostone that was perfectly cooked and served with a delicious homemade dipping sauce .

For dinner we both had the chicken mofongo . Very generous portions and the chicken was grilled with a guava BBQ sauce that was outstanding . If you like a bit of a spice ask the waiter/waitress for the homemade hot sauce. A little goes a long way but it adds a nice touch to the mofongo .
The mofongo was served with a small side salad with fresh greens .

The dessert was fantastic. We had bananas in what was a fried dough and served with ice cream. A great way to finish an outstanding meal.
Also try the red sangria . Best we had on Puerto Rico .

The restaurant is a very short cab ride from El Conquistador and is a MUST visit for a truly authentic and delicious Puerto Rican meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyI30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Dinner took quite a while but was worth it. Not expensive at all and the waiter was very cordial. Definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank bnkzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estacion also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Estacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing