We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best meal in PR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Estacion

La Estacion
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Barbecue, Spanish, Puerto Rican, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kitchen opens Thursday -Monday at 5pm. Restaurant closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Contemporary Puerto Rican and BBQ fare all cooked over natural charcoal on an outdoor grill. Ingredients locally grown or caught. Outdoor seating and indoor dining room available.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best meal in PR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

La Estacion is down the road from El Conquistador. We were staying at the Rio Mar but were so glad we made our way here. The food and service were excellent. You can't go wrong here! If you can, bring cash as they prefer it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jill19462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,296
    351
    77
    23
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, fantastic & authentic food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Make a reservation!! Excellent food especially the seafood and banana dessert....it would be a shame if you missed it. And, the owner is a highly regarded chef from the Big Apple. You can tell he mentored his staff especially if you glance at the expo station.

Helpful?
Thank samuelroger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“How did a Brooklyn hipster joint wind up in Fajardo?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

La Estacion had been enthusiastically recommended to us by friends before our trip to Puerto Rico, who told us it was a can't miss dining destination. On our first night, we excitedly drove the short distance from the El Conquistador and found...a closed restaurant. In spite of no notice on the website that the restaurant would be closed, we found it shut tight. Indeed, two nights later it was still closed, but an employee told us that the restaurant would be reopened the following evening. It certainly would have been easy enough for the website to let us know of the restaurant's schedule, but with the positive reviews we were willing to give it a try albeit somewhat less exciedly.
When we finally made it the following evening, we were sat at a picnic like table in a hip outdoor space. How did a Brooklyn hipster joint wind up in Fajardo was my first thought. If it wasn't for the warm December weather, one could easily imagine themselves sitting at a stylish spot in Williamsburg.
El Estacion is the product of a New York & Puerto Rico mash up; a Brooklyn vibe with updated Puerto Rican specialties. The service proved to be very friendly and fairly fast. We ordered a couple of appetizers and several pinchos to share. These starters also served as a good option for the children in our party. The bacon wrapped hot dog and jumbo shrimp pincho were the most successful with the kids and with the grown ups as well.
El Estacion does most of its menu on the grill and the items that were the most enjoyed were the ones that lent themselves best to grilling such as the skirt steak, which was prepared perfectly medium rare. The other dish that was universally enjoyed was the lobster mofongo, which we were told was a special that night.
We enjoyed El Estacion and I'm certainly happy to recommend it to other diners, but I would ask that the management do a better job of publicizing its hours via its website. While we had a car, it was easy enough to drive on to another restaurant. However, I would suggest that anyone coming by taxi call to confirm before shelling out any money to make the trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RegularGuyFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Food was excellent and there was a lot of variety. The BBQ chicken is fantastic. It is very close to El Conquistador and the prices are very reasonable compared to the overpriced places at the resort.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Nothing spacial”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Restaurant has a great patio but if you don't get to seat there inside is not cool at all. Very cold and not pretty. There was nothing spacial about food either. I don't understand why people write such great reviews about it. Its a regular bar lunch food to order with beer. I would not recommend it for dinner. It also has pool table but impossible to play because there is no room around it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JewelSvechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estacion also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Estacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing