We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic food A step outside the resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Estacion

La Estacion
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Barbecue, Spanish, Puerto Rican, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kitchen opens Thursday -Monday at 5pm. Restaurant closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Contemporary Puerto Rican and BBQ fare all cooked over natural charcoal on an outdoor grill. Ingredients locally grown or caught. Outdoor seating and indoor dining room available.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Authentic food A step outside the resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

While in Puerto Rico at the El Conquistador Hotel there are many restaurants however we wanted some authentic cuisine. We found La Estacion which is right before the resort entrance. La Estacion is very casual and offers a wide variety of food from steaks to seafood. The cuisine is primarily barbecue with a island spin. We went there 2 days in a row it was so good. The staff is helpful and the best part the food was not that pricey. Roughly between $10-$18 per plate but well worth it. La Estacion is a laid back local spot and a must try when staying in Fajardo , P.R . Try the Steak or Shrimp Mofongo !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roccosoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,300
    351
    77
    23
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“GREAT total experience! The food was delicious! And the drinks were NO joke!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had an awesome experience at La Estacion! Our server Maybellene was MARVELOUS! Everything she suggested was delicious! We had the pinchos (pork) for starters...very good. My husband had the grilled fish w/arepas (fried dough) & papaya salad & I had the special mofongo w/shark & lobster. The BEST meal I have had in Puerto Rico! I'd come back here again & again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food Large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

After another day exploring we decided to try La Estacion, on the recommendation we got from a couple we met on another tour
The staff are very friendly, they went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed. The chef made a special dish for my wife a mofongo with skirt steak the mofongo was made from bread fruit and yucca, we had pork tenderloin with rice two large tenderloins cooked to perfection, chicken plantain mofongo and the largest ribs you've ever seen
All in all a great place nice atmosphere and friendly staff

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moondancesxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent service...Excellent food! Outdoor seating in a wonderful setting!!! This place is primarily PR barbeque. Try the chorizo sausage...unbelievable!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bws412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
473 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Loved the ambiance and their mofongo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I, our two sons, daughters-in-law, and two young grandsons recently dined at La Estacion. It was close to the place where we were staying. We enjoyed the casual and relaxed ambiance, as much as the well prepared food. My entree, mofongo stuffed with seafood, was excellent...very moist and filled with large chunks of fish and shrimp. Several others in our group had the mofongo stuffed with skirt steak (churrasco), also very good. My oldest son ordered the ribs and he also liked them. The kids also enjoyed their hot dog and hamburger. The service was also good. The restaurant has street parking in front and across the street. Recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estacion also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Estacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing