We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A staple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa's Sea Food - CLOSED

Rosa's Sea Food
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
SanJuan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A staple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Rosa has been around for quite a few years and it is a very nice for lunch with the family. It is a bit loud but the service is friendly. The seafood is good but I recommend asking for fresh snapper and order it fried. You will enjoy trhe dish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Manolo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a gem in Fajardo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were looking for some "gourmet quality" local food and we found it! Chef Luis prepared amazing meals for us--The restaurant was a cab ride away (we were staying at El Conquistador) but well worth the travel. We started with an amazing Sangria freshly prepared with loads of fresh fruit (--some of it mashed to enhance the flavor) by Ruben--our most congenial and attentive waiter! (He brought me out his jacket as I was a bit chilly from the air conditioning).Then we had ceviche and curried shrimp with coconut as appetizers! I cannot describe how delicious both of these choices were. The fish was fresh and seasoned just right! As a main course I had the red snapper which was delicate and cooked perfectly! My husband had octopus which was also prepared well--not rubbery at all. We had a bottle of wine ($24) which was good (for the price!). We managed to stuff in desert--not wanting to miss any of this chef's creations! I had the chocolate cake which was rich and creamy! My husband had the pistachio cheese cake--light but rich! Chef Luis came out to talk with us at the end of our meal. All in all the best meal we had in Puerto Rico!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BerylSkog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent and innovative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Take note correct phone # 787 863 0213. Incredible creative food, super service.

Not your typical seafood place. Worth visiting.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jraul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Foodies paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We just came back from a late night dinner at Rosa's Seafood in Fajardo Puerto rico. We had been in Puerto Rico for more than a week looking to try some authentic or at least decent tasting food. We were staying at the El Conquistador Hotel and had eaten at both highly rated restaurants available at the hotel. Stingrays and The Strip House Steak House. Both are good but insanely overpriced for the amount of food you receive.
After a little research we managed to narrow down our choices and went to eat at Rosa's Seafood. The choice did not disappoint! For starters we had the Ceviche and the coconut curry Shrimp. both were succulent fresh and completely delectable.
Our main courses were the Chilean sea bass and the papardelle pasta and sea food. Both dishes were plentiful, tasteful, amazing presentation very filling.
One should try their signature cafe aux lait which is prepared with a selection od spices that takes this every day beverage to a new level.
We managed to speak at length to the chef/owner Luis who explained to us that most locals find his restaurant too expensive but he refuses to skimp on quality. After the poor experience at ElConquistador Rosa's Seafood was a marvel.
GO and enjoy the celebration of amazing tastes and textures.
By the way the ambiance is nothing special but don't let that distract you. Luis is passionate about his cooking and has over 20 years experience having spent time learning his craft inVenice!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleks_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent place. Spotless, very good service and exquisite food. We had the trifongo and I recommend it!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa's Sea Food also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing