We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect day in Falmouth!”

Jamaica Culinary Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed January 12, 2015

This was our 3rd visit to Falmouth on a cruise ship. My husband and I decided to spend the day getting to know the people and cuisine of Jamaica vs. spending the day inside the man made port shopping. I discovered this tour on Trip Advisor. Falmouth Food Tour delivered on everything they promised. The food was delicious and the places we ate were definitely off the beaten path. Sanya and Steve were our guides. They were very professional, informative and fun. We loved what we ate and drank. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get to know the real side of Jamaica.

2  Thank RMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janais2000, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2015

Dear RMU,

We're so flattered by your comments, and are glad to hear that our Falmouth Food Tour delivered on everything we promised. We do aim to take our guests off of the beaten path, and are pleased that you found that to be your experience. We're also happy that you were satisfied with the quality and taste of the food and that you found our Tour Guides to be professional, informative and fun.

Thank you so much for giving us a five star review and for recommending the Tour to other Trip Advisor readers interested in experiencing "the real side of Jamaica".

Best regards

Janet Crick
Co-Owner/Tour and Creative Experience Director
Jamaica Culinary Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food tour"
in 49 reviews
"coconut water"
in 37 reviews
"coco bread"
in 23 reviews
"sugar cane"
in 40 reviews
"walking tour"
in 36 reviews
"local food"
in 24 reviews
"mackerel"
in 13 reviews
"beef patty"
in 15 reviews
"food stops"
in 11 reviews
"love food"
in 6 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 28 reviews
"pastry"
in 14 reviews
"tropical fruit"
in 4 reviews
"different foods"
in 6 reviews
"great tour"
in 21 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 14 reviews
"tasty tour"
in 3 reviews
Filter

245 - 249 of 298 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2015

Our guides were informative and personal, it was like being shown around by friends. The food was tasty and the sights were lovely with interesting historical information mixed in. So glad we did it, highly recommended.

2  Thank bklynlou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janais2000, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2015

Dear bklynlou73,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a Five Star review of our Falmouth Food Tour. We do try to make our guests feel comfortable and at home with us, so it's truly great to hear that your Tour Guides made you feel like you were among friends.

We're so glad you found the food to be tasty and appreciated the visits to the cultural sites and the history that we were able to share with you.

We hope you'll join us again if you return to Falmouth!

Best regards

Janet Crick
Co-Owner/Tour and Creative Experience
Jamaica Culinary Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2014

From the time I sent queries to determine if the tour was something I might be interested in to the conclusion of the tour I was very impressed with Janet Crick and her wonderful staff. Prior to booking, all of my queries were answered promptly and with plenty of detail to help me to decide to book the tour. Sonya and Steve met us promptly at the port and detailed our wonderful tour. Of prime importance to Sonya and Steve was a very safe and enjoyable experience, which we all had. Sonya was well informed and made this historical culinary experience one I will remember fondly for a long time. From the Jamaican Patty at the bakery to the desserts (which I was too full to eat) the tour was a wonderful culinary experience. Falmouth is a poor area, however, the people are quite friendly. I specifically enjoyed the joy that Sonya displayed as she explained the food, culture and history of the area. Both Steve and Sonya showed a true joy for their jobs, interaction with their clients and the history of Falmouth. It was also nice that Janet Crick met us during the tour to see how are experience was going. A very nice touch. I was a wonderful experience which I highly recommend.

1  Thank maeplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janais2000, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2014

Dear Maeplay

Thank you so much for your review of the Falmouth Food Tour. We are pleased that we were able to offer you a seamless experience from start to finish, and that you were able to walk away with a wonderful culinary experience and long lasting memories of our food, culture and history.
Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and leave a review, and for recommending our Tour to others.

I will be sure to convey your very positive comments to Sanya and Steve who will be delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with them!

Best regards

Janet Crick
Co-Owner/Tour and Creative Experience Director
Jamaica Culinary Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2014

While most of the passengers from 'Divina' caught the shuttle to Montego Bay, we did the walking Culinary tour.
This is a very interesting way to see Jamaica and learn about its history and cuisine. We also felt very safe walking through the town.
The food selections were interesting and our guide was informative and pleasant. Although I liked the jerk restaurant, Anne's colonial house for sweets was a real treat.
Make sure to wear a hat and sunscreen as the sun is very strong in Jamaica.
Highly recommended.

2  Thank kazganymede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janais2000, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2014

Dear kazganymede,

Thanks so much not only for recommending our Falmouth Food Tour, but for captioning it as the “best way to see Falmouth”! It was our pleasure to introduce you to the history and cuisine of Jamaica, and we are glad that you enjoyed the food selections. Anne will be pleased to hear that you found the stop at her period home to be particularly memorable.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.

Best regards

Janet Crick
Co-Owner/Tour and Creative Experience Director
Jamaica Culinary Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2014

Terrific introduction to Jamaican culture and cuisine. The tour begins within the Royal Caribbean "Disneylandish" seaport and continues outside the gates into the real Jamica. If you have any hesitation to journey out this is a terrific tour.

Jerk chicken was eaten in a courtyard cafe and meat pies were enjoyed a a neighborhood bakery. Pastries were served in the garden of one of the historic homes.

The tour walks on rough surfaces and it may be challenging for people who are not used to long walks. Rest breaks are provided at the bakery and cafe.

Tour groups are small, about 12 people, and the guides do an excellent job explaining the food and culture.

2  Thank Cavydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janais2000, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2014

Dear Cavydad,

Thank you so much for your five star review of our Falmouth Food Tour. We aim to give our guests an insight into Jamaican cuisine and culture, and are delighted that you encountered the “real Jamaica” through our Tour. We appreciate the helpful tips that you have shared with Trip Advisor readers, and hope that you will find it possible to join us again sometime!

Best regards

Janet Crick
Co-Owner/Tour and Creative Experience Director
Jamaica Culinary Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamaica Culinary Tours also viewed

Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 

Been to Jamaica Culinary Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing