We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money”

Jamaica Culinary Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I booked this tour while on a cruise on Liberty of the Seas in April 2014. We reserved online (which was easy) and the cost was VERY reasonable.

The tour was well organized and we walked through the streets of Falmouth trying different local foods. Along the way our tour guide (Sanya?) provided information about the culture and history of Falmouth. She was very knowledgeable. One stop was at a church where William Knibb was buried. Mr. Knibb played a large role to end slavery in the parish of Trelawny. It was a very moving part of the tour.

The tour ended at a private residence where we were served delicious desserts in the garden.

I recommend this tour if you want to get a real taste of Falmouth and like to walk. The women who run the tour will be sure you arrive back to the dock in time for your departure. No worries there.

One strong recommendation I have for anyone wanting to take this tour is to email and confirm the exact location of the meeting spot with the Jamaica Culinary tour. Our directions were vague and we got no help from the Falmouth dock people, including the Information desk staff. We nearly missed the tour (and it would NOT have been the fault of the ladies of the Culinary Tour).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sborosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaicanyardie, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sborosk,

Your ringing endorsement of our Tour is truly appreciated! We are so pleased to hear that you found the Tour to be good value for your money, and that you were moved by certain insights into our history which our tour guide was able to share with you.

We’ll be sure to keep some of those delicious desserts warm for you, so do come join us again!

Warm regards

Janet Crick
Tour and Creative Experience Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“An Interesting Tour”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This tour exposes you to a good cross-section of Jamaican food plus throws in a good helping of history and interesting facts.

We would strongly recommend the tour to anyone visiting Falmouth/Mobay.

Janet was most pleasant and informative.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RodGarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaicanyardie, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear RodGarnett,

Thank you so much for your review and your endorsement of our Falmouth Food Tour.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and your wife, and we're so pleased that you enjoyed not only the food, but also the rich history of our food, culture and heritage that we were able to share with you.

Many thanks!

Janet Crick
Tour and Creative Experience Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get away from the cruise crowds, take this Culinary tour!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We are always keen to take culinary tours in ports we sail into and this was one of the best. Our guide was Sonya ( who later we found out had been in a Jamaican TV soap opera!). She was lively,entertaining and knowledgable. She seemed to know every other person in town and took us to places we would never have ventured to on our own.

We were treated to various food and drink treats with the most enjoyable eating barbecued yams, sweet potatoes and salt mackerel from one of the market stalls. I don't want to give too much away as it will spoil some of the surprises.

I can't recommend this tour highly enough whether a foodie or not. You will get away from the cruise crowd and meet interesting local people where importantly they get the benefit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaicanyardie, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear MarkyB,

Thank you so much for your recommendation of our Falmouth Food Tour. We aim to create an experience for our guests that will take them off the beaten track, and allow them to interact with the local vendors, and are happy that you appreciated these deliberate features of the Tour. We’re also pleased that you enjoyed your time with our “local celebrity” tour guide, who was equally pleased to share her passion for the town and the food with you!

Many thanks. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Janet Crick
Tour and Creative Experience Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“NO PROBLEM on the Jamaica Culinary Tour!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The wife and I took this tour while cruising on the Oasis of the Seas. We were in port on May 13, 2014.

I have been disabled for 20 years and have great difficulty walking long distances. I communicated this via email to Janet Crick, one of the owners of this tour, and she assured me they would accommodate a slow walker. These 3 ladies took every opportunity to keep me comfortable over this approximately 1 mile trek. They brought out the stools when needed and made the experience very pleasant by looking to a few simple needs I have.

Now, the food:

I am a foodie. So it would be difficult for me not to enjoy something that is built entirely around food. Our first stop was a fruit cart. It's hard to describe just how fresh and sweet the numerous local fruits were. Delectable! Next stop was a roadside market where most of the local tastes we sampled were displayed for sale. Then on to another street cart where we sampled Bread Fruit, Yams and Mackerel, served in hollowed out coconut shells. The final treat here was a palate cleanser of coconut water. Not far from the last cart was a small restaurant where we were served a Jamaican favorite, the Beef Patti. The Patti is absolutely delicious. The best way I can describe it is to take the best beef stew you’ve ever had, and wrap it inside delicious, flaky bread that reminds you of a fried pie. It was indescribably delicious. Next on the tour was Pepper's Jerk Chicken. The Jerk was very good. We also received a cultural lesson on the origin of the name of Jerk Chicken. The final leg of our journey took us to an affluent Falmouth homestead where we were served tea with a trio of coconut based desserts. All were yummy!

The ladies made sure to incorporate a good deal of the history of the city of Falmouth as we made our way through the narrow streets. It was really neat to see the push carts all along the streets that were made famous in the movie, Cool Runnings.

Having visited many of the islands in the Caribbean and having taken numerous historical tours in stuffy vans, this tour was a fresh breath. For a great look at another culture, you can't go wrong with Jamaica Culinary Tours.

Two Thumbs Up!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank garnmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaicanyardie, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Gammar,

You’ve given us a thumbs up, and we give one right back to you for your wonderful review! It is always such a pleasure for myself and the Tour Guides to host guests as appreciative as yourself and your wife, and we are happy that we were able to accommodate your needs and keep you comfortable during the tour. We’re even more happy that you thoroughly enjoyed the tastings, and I’m sure that your description of the patty is making all our readers jealous and/or hungry!

I have shared your lovely review with the Tour Guides who remember you fondly and look forward to your next visit with us! Thanks again.

Warmest egards

Janet Crick
Tour and Creative Experience Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A taste of Jamaica”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

The guides were prepared for everything. It rained and they had ponchos. They even carried toilet paper. Three very dear ladies were our guides and they took excellent care of us. They kept the street vendors from bothering us and escorted us back to the ship. It was a walking tour but it was an easy walk. There was some amount of standing so be aware before you book it. Some of the food was an acquired taste but the beef patties were delicious as was the desserts. I would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a cultural experience rather than an activity.

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaicanyardie, Owner at Jamaica Culinary Tours, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear David L,

Thank you so much for your great review. We love your caption – “A Taste of Jamaica”, and are so glad that we were able to give you just that! The beef patties are always a hit with our guests, and we have fond memories of you and your friends savouring every bite of yours!

We do strive to be attentive to details and to respond readily to the needs of our guests, and are so happy that you appreciated the care and attention of our Tour Guides. Many thanks for your recommendation of our Tour – it was our absolute pleasure to host you!

Janet Crick
Tour and Creative Experience Director
Jamaica Culinary Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamaica Culinary Tours also viewed

Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 

Been to Jamaica Culinary Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing