We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burwood Beach”

Cruise Shore Excursions Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cruise Shore Excursions Jamaica offer affordable, hospitable and customer friendly service to all travelers and guests. We are a company committed to provide prompt, efficient and effective transportation and tours in and around Jamaica regardless of your destination. We are in business to serve, and ensure that all of our guests receive the true Jamaican experience. Looking for the best? Look no further, because at Cruise Shore Excursions Jamaica your search ends with us and the journey around Jamaica begins. all our Vehicles are licensed by the Jamaica Tourist Board Association and are fully insured. Your encounter with us will not be forgotten because we understand what all travelers are looking for. Come to Jamaica and feel alright!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Burwood Beach”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

There are a lot of things to see and do in the port of Falmouth. However, I would recommend contacting a taxi can driver named Carlos (Courtney) and taking a five dollar per person trip to the nearest beach called Burwood. They water is clear and the beach is clean and somewhat secluded. The shops in and around Falmouth are nice as well.

Helpful?
31 Thank RickPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    61
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cruising...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from wonderful cruise to Jamaica and 2 other ports on the Carnival Magic... beautiful ship... we took the Rose Hall tour in Jaimaca... back in history, the mansion was ran by the "White Witch" , Annie Hall... and it was reputed to be haunted.... very informative.. plus they suppled a complimentary cocktail of "Witches Brew"... with or without the alcohol...
gorgeous flowers surround the mansion... best picture of the trip was of my wife smelling an exotic flower that i cannot pronounce the name ... let alone spell it !
am already planning another cruise... to Alaska !
yes, we love cruising... and if you travel at the right times of the year, it is very affordable...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gannsjigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Clean, great wood carvings”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Cruised with HAL, took a tour with Island Transfer & Tours (fabulous, ask for Byron). This port was clean and new. Bought an amazing seven foot wood parrot statue in port. Negotiated hard, down to $200. Would cost $1000+ in USA.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lemon737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowser, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“bamboo rafting down the Martha Brae”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After going to the swamp safari we decided to take a trip down the Martha Brae river. You are taking by bus to the bamboo river trip start where you are greeted with the staff to begin your river raft trip. Of course there is a few market booths up there trying to sell you some stuff. You are also given fruit punch in the bar. then the fun begins. They place two cushions on the seat of the raft for you two sit on (there is only room for two on each raft) and then your captain stands at the front of the raft and with a long pole pushes you down the river. It was very relaxing and pretty. We saw other people with their wares along the river that if you want to stop you can. We also saw birds, pumpkins growing wild, fruit trees and lots and lots of bamboo. It was rather expensive but I know that both my grandaughters really enjoyed it. The captains will try to sell you some of their wares at the end while they are mentioning you can have it with any tip you give but then tell you that some give 30, 40, 50 dollar tips.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Lorenekimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Zip line with Yardie Tours”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Initially apprehensive about the zip because I hate heights. Tour was listed as 5 hours consisting of an hour and half of travel each way, a fruit drink, herbal lesson from Mama TuTu & 3 zips.

Van driver was on time, friendly & informative. Since only 3 were doing the zip, we were transferred to another driver along the way. Beautiful drive with fantastic new road (I've stayed in Jamaica many times) most of the way until we climbed the bumpy hill to our destination.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by relaxed, attentive, professional staff, given an excellent fruit drink & signed the necessary forms. No herbal Mama, which was fine with us, as Orlando (our main man) explained we'd do 4 zips & a swing. Wow! Bonus! Orlando assured us safety was their main concern & staff would demo & explain each zip. They did a stellar job each time.

We climbed a 30' wooden tower for the first adventure--daunting widely spaced steps for a 5'1" person. After the demo, we (gingerly for 2 of us) did our first zip. Amazing! Each trip was longer but only one other scary climb for our last zip--a 45' pole with staples to reach the platform. We were tethered so if we slipped, we wouldn't plunge to our death. The pole was my biggest challenge but...reach like a monkey & you'll eventually get there. Staff always encouraged us to take our time, etc. Never rushed.

Ahhh, the swing, which held all 3. We thought it would be a relaxing, fun diversion. Total opposite. Do not have a wonky stomach before attempting this!!

Enjoyed a Red Stripe at the well-maintained clean facility after our exhilarating experience then back to Falmouth. Empowering for one who detests heights & yes, I would do this again with Yardie. First rate!!

Note: I recommend hiking boots for traction--had an easier time than my zipmates who wore shoes. Also, wear longer shorts or pants to prevent strap burns. Forget your designer attire.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank ANDIAMOkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruise Shore Excursions Jamaica also viewed

Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 

Been to Cruise Shore Excursions Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing