We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“omg need to do atleast twice once with tubes the boarding”

River Rapids Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Falmouth Shore Excursion: Jamaica River-Tubing Adventure on the Rio Bueno
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: River Rapids Adventures is JAMAICA'S most popular river attraction located just 20 minutes from the Falmouth cruise port. We currently offer 4 fun activities on the Rio Bueno river with something for everyone in the family to enjoy . For mild adventure seekers, we offer our river rafting tour, a popular excursion for guests who want to enjoy the many moods of the river in a white water raft captained by one of our experienced tour guides. For something a little more challenging, we have a white water kayaking tour for 2, great for couple or friends who want to paddle on their own and get a better feel of the class 1 and class 2 rapids found along the river course. Our recently added tubing tour is a sure bet for those of you wanting a wet and wild ride on the river while enjoying the safety and comfort of your own river tube. If those 3 tours just don't offer enough excitement, then our river boarding tour is surely for you. Gear up, grab your river board, and surf the cool waters of the Rio Bueno as you make your way through multiple sections of splashing rapids and crystal clear river pools. All tours are fully guided and end on a private beach located close to the river delta. Refreshments, Snacks, Photos, and Souvenirs are available for purchase at the beach.
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“omg need to do atleast twice once with tubes the boarding”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

expeircene of a life time. for people who white water raft this is like a baby step to it not much rapids at a moderate to slow pace but the rope swinging is fun!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    27
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had our team of 23 do the Tubing with River Rapids and is was great...everyone enjoyed it and we had lots and lots of fun...it lasts for about an hour and a half and the end point is the Caribbean Sea, on a very nice beach.....you need to make sure you wear proper water shoes and if your feet are big, bring your own because they don't have any size larger than 10 :) ....other than that, enjoy the river

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Top Klass P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“River Boarding, a unique alternative to tubing.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

While staying at the Gran Bahia Principe in early June, my wife, 13 year old son, and I decided to try the River Rapids Adventure since it was only a 30-minute drive from the resort. We choose to try river boarding, but we were part of a group that included people who opted for tubing, and one couple in a kayak.

The river boarding was fun, since it was my first attempt at this type of activity. The river is pretty, and it travels through some nice scenery. This definitely is not a strenuous excursion, as the river, I would classify this as a stream in the United States, is slow to moderate in flow rate with perhaps 5 – 7 sets of smaller rapids. The most difficult part of the excursion might be the 5 minute walk upstream to the launch point, and my wife who is about 5 feet in height didn’t have any issues carrying her board. With ample protective equipment for your head, elbows, shins, and knees, it would be difficult to injure yourself on this trip. We followed our guide Roy, who gave us very specific instructions on running the rapids in order to avoid the rocks. The webbed gloves allowed us to paddle rapidly through the slow sections of the river. Most everyone tried the Tarzan rope swing built at a deeper section of the river, with some people opting for a 2nd go on the swing. The Tarzan yells were seriously lacking, but there were some good attempts.

At the conclusion of the trip, we ended near the area where a boat normally tows everyone back to the company’s section of the beach. On this day, the boat wasn’t available due to an issue with the motor, so we walked the beach back to the meeting area. No big issue with this, as it gave us an opportunity to talk with Roy. The beach area maintained by the company has fresh water showers, a restroom and changing area. You also have an opportunity to purchase a CD that contains a copious number of pictures from the whole trip, or you can purchase individual pictures. Your transportation is waiting for you at this location when you finish the trip.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend the afternoon”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We booked this trip ourselves instead of doing one of the excursions thru our cruise. We were on a Royal Caribbean cruise--this is a great adventure to do with older kids. Our boys, ages 12 and 13 had a blast riding the rapids on their river boards.nthe guides were terrific, so knowledgable and friendly. They truly wanted to make sure you were enjoying your experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They were great!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

When we got off the ship had a little trouble finding the Driver, but once we found him he was very friendly and gave us a Tour on the way to the Site. We had Anthony as our guide, and we ended up having him as our personal guide thru the whole adventure. He was Friendly, Helpful and knew his stuff. If you get him you are lucky.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EDWIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rapids Adventures also viewed

 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 

Been to River Rapids Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing