We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to shop and enjoy a bit of Jamaican culture & local talent!”

Jacob Taylor Beach, Fishing Village, Craft Market
Ranked #22 of 34 things to do in Falmouth
Attraction details
Dalton
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place to shop and enjoy a bit of Jamaican culture & local talent!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Have been to Silver Sands twice and plan on going back this Fall. Jacob Taylor Beach is always a highlight of our trip. Conveniently located right next door to Silver Sands made it possible to go several times during the week.

You can get some great items at a good price.They are not the mass produced carvings found at the big resorts. These are one-of-a-kind items. Each vendor has their own special talent. Not all are wood carvers (although they are our favorite). Some have hand made jewelry, used clothing, souvineers and some very nice sea shells at reasonable prices. On one visit, we requested a rooster and by the time we were ready to go home it was ready. You can get from very small to extremely intricate & pricy items.

Our teenaged grandsons liked watching the wood carvers. They enjoyed going back several times to make their choice on which items they wanted to take back. Each visit, they had to make sure stop by to see Walton.

The cook at our villa purchased a huge fresh Pink Snapper from one of the local fishermen for our dinner. Caught that morning right before she bought it. It was one of the best meals we had while there. You just can't get any better than that!

Since Leroy's has expanded, we have shyed away. Kind of miss the old place with it's Hemmingway feel and beach bar charm..... but I am sure there are those who prefer the larger establishment.

As with most places - show respect and yet be firm when bargaining. It is not a huge place but has enough variety. You don't feel that rush like at so many places. Not that, at tmes, you don't need to say "no thank you'... but they are not overly pushy. "Respect" is they key.

Even if you aren't staying AT Silver Sands, a visit to Jacob Taylor Beach is well worth your while.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Charwatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Falmouth shopping”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Shopping at the market was fun and worth doing. On Tuesday and Wednesday there are cruise ships in port at Falmouth and they are worth seeing. Wednesday seems to be the busiest day at the market, lots of venders and not just tourist stuff. This is a market also for locals. The locals area seemed to be mostly at the back, clothes, shoes, fruits, veggies etc. The tourist shops all out along the road..everything says Jamaica on it! Fun shopping, worth seeing! We just hired a cabbie from our hotel, he actually stayed with us as we walked thru the entire market, very nice!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Steph300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun place to shop, drink, chill, or what have you...”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Great place to visit while in Jamaica! Much more relaxed than a crafts market, but still has a nice collection of hand made wares to take home as souvenirs. Make sure to check out the bar there (Leroy's Reggae Spot) as well. Always a good time with live music on Saturday nights. If you come early enough in the morning you can watch the fisherman come and go to sea. Easily walkable if you are staying in Silver Sands or Duncans Bay. Highly recommended for anyone looking to get out of the high walls of Silver Sands for a short time...

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
6 Thank TWRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York pa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place to shop for wooden crafts”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Been to Silver Sands every year since 1974. The shops are right outside the gate and on the water. Very good carvings and walking distance from your villa. Limited on straw goods but the wood carvings are good and they can make you one while you vacation at SS.

Helpful?
7 Thank dwjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Odessa, MI
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great place to purchase crafts, talk to crafters and local fishermen”
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Jacob Taylor Beach, Craft Market and Fishing Village is located a short (less than a 2 minute) walk from Silver Sands. There you will find a craft market with local crafters who are not pushy. They will take the time to answer questions, explain the wood they are carving and even show how something is carved. If given the time, they will do custom work. In addition to the wood crafts, there two variety stores, the handmade baskets are one of the many items they sell.

The fishing village is another part of Jacob Taylor Beach. You can talk to the fishermen, ask questions about their fish traps and what type of fish they catch. It is very interesting if you want to see a little something more of Jamaica than the inside of an all inclusive resort.

These are genuine, nice people and I have been to this area many times in the past three years and felt very safe at all times. There is a Monument to Jacob Taylor. This is very laid back, not a lot of action type of place.

Helpful?
9 Thank emay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacob Taylor Beach, Fishing Village, Craft Market also viewed

Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 

Been to Jacob Taylor Beach, Fishing Village, Craft Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing