We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Spot is a must do for north shore visitors.”

The Cool Spot Bar & Grill
Ranked #13 of 24 Restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I have been dining at Cool Spot since it opened and we always make a point of visiting when we are there. I own a vacation home nearby and love what (owner) Sammy and his family have to offer. Cool Spot is more upscale than many Jamaican restaurants and the food inventory is usually extensive. They don't mind special orders and you can get some American style dishes and fries for the kids. The location is absolutely amazing and the outdoor dining is one of a kind. Have a Red Stripe, some fresh fish with Rice and Peas and go home with a full belly and a relaxed mind.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ReefWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2010

I visited this place with my family last night. Its right on the beach in a nice location. The place is empty with the exception of a few locals. Our hotel FDR PEbbles suggested we eat here. We ordered lobster and chicken. When the lobster arrived it was BROWN!! The waitress said I was right it looked over cooked and offered to take the over cooked portions back to the kitchen. I ate the fries that came with the lobster while I waited for her to bring my dinner back out. She brought the bill instead. When I complained about the food not being brought back out, and said I would not pay full price, I was asked to talk to the manger. He quickly demanded I pay for the whole meal and repeatededly called me cheap. I paid more for the ride to the place than I did for the food- not cheap. Like the above review we were asked to pay prices much higher than what was on the menu. I was told I did not understand the exchange rate. Funny since ive been to Jamaica over 35 times! The manager is a a dishonest scammer and this place should be shut down!.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank brincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

BE CAREFUL! Great location right on the ocean just West of Falmouth. We were a group of 9 and ate outside on the balcony. Good menu with lots of choices of traditional Jamaican dishes. Service was very slow. We waited almost 2 hours to be served our main dishes, but food was good. Then we got the bill....the prices on the bill were much higher than the prices listed on the menu. We consulted the waitress and she said that they had ordered "new" menus to be printed with these "new" prices but they hadn't arrived yet. We asked to speak with the owner. He told us that the waitress should have told us that the prices in the menu were incorrect! We reluctantly agreed to split the difference between the printed menu prices and the "new" prices. The average increase in price per dish was over 30%. I believe they saw a group of Americans walk in the door and came up with these "new" prices! Be careful. We won't ever be going back! We have been going to Jamaica for over 20 years and have never had an experience like this. We love the Jamaican people so it was disappointing to be treated this way.

1  Thank wydaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolJeff, Owner at The Cool Spot Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2009

I remember this group that dined in our establishment. They were wonderful
guests and seemed to be very understanding when we explained what had occurred.
We were going to waive the additional charge but they suggested that we split
the difference.

I guess they were not pleased with the arrangement to split the difference,
even though they suggested it. We were ready to charge them the price they saw on the menu, but believed that what they had suggested was fair .

Since a lot of our seafood is done to order there may be a small wait time. We
do suggest reservations for large groups so we may prepare for their arrival.

I am also very sad that it was suggested we would deceive our customer's
in such manner. The fact that it has been claimed that we would intentionally
target Americans. Since I am also American.

I take pride in maintaining my prices as economical as possible for tourists
and locals alike. I explained the fact that new menus were being printed. This was an honest mistake by our server who was unaware that the menus had not been updated as previously discussed in our staff meeting.

I hope the guests from the Rocky Mountains would consider dining with us again. We would like to offer them a few drinks on the house.

We are very sorry for the misunderstanding.

Sincerely,

Jeff @ the cool spot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cool Spot Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 

Been to The Cool Spot Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing