We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kiteboarding Mecca” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retreat Guesthouse Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Retreat Guesthouse Luxury Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kiteboarding Mecca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Just spent 2 nights with Joyce the owner, and had a great stay. She is super friendly and made me a homemade Jamaican breakfast that was great!

As a kiteboarder the location was fantastic almost directly across the street (approx 3 miles once you get out of neighborhood) from the best kiteboarding spot in Jamaica. Kiteboard Jamiaca is locatesd at that spot.

If you stay here make sure you get directions from Joyce as the place can be hard to find.
Rick

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
23
35
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Personalized, courteous service; A relaxing ambience which provided a wonderful personal retreat, while remaining in close proximity to civilization, yet without the characteristic distractions and disturbances.

-A guest house that Jamaica can be proud of!

Room Tip: Lovely view of the pier from the suites upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstewart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Value for money........
Need to have own transportation.....

Great choice if the trip is REST & RELAXATION

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkinjuice0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

I have stayed here twice now for week long research trips. It has the most spectacular view from my little personal balcony. It is spotlessly clean and freshly painted. Ideal location. The chef makes wonderful breakfeast for extra cost. I would never consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Retreat Guesthouse is built on a mountain. It is a copy of the mansion in 'Gone with the wind' and is quite spacious. The owner is a very open and friendly woman that has been raised in Jamaica, lived abroad in the Uk for many years and came back to Jamaica to retire. She's an excellent host and great cook. The rooms are great, especially to one that we were given (we were the only ones in the guesthouse at the time), see pics attached. Nearby is 'glistering waters' where you can book a trip at evening and see the water glow in the dark by movement. Retreat Guesthous is a great place for chilling out. The views from the balcony are spectacular, by the way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We have been to Jamaica on numerous occasions, for holidays in Ocho Rios, Weddings in Negril, staying in Hotels, this year we decided that we needed a peaceful relaxing place to stay in Jamaica, someone recommended Retreat Guest House, in Falmouth, well all we knew were the tourist areas, so we thought we would give it a try, the best decision ever, it was quite, the Guest house was beautiful, the bedrooms was spacious with onsuite bathroom, the lady who own the guest house was so lovely and attentive to our needs, we had fantastic meals, my partner and myself entertained ourselves in the games room which was fun, when we wanted to go and shop or seek entertainment else where the lady of the house took us or arranged for someone to take us, it was worth every penny we spent, we are looking forward to going back again next year.
Smile4me and Partner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjsmile4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

I have been to Jamaica over 6 times in the last 5 years and this is the best hotel I have stayed in (and I have stayed in Sandals, Half Moon and many other 4 or 5* resorts in Montego Bay and Ocho Rios).

I'm not entirely sure why people have deiced to give negative feedback on this Guesthouse and can only assume they were unfamiliar with the area, were looking for a either a hedonistic, dance-hall inspired holiday or just didn't understand what this Guesthouse is about???

Retreat Guesthouse is exactly what is says in the title, its a RETREAT, a secret hideaway where you can escape the hustle and bustle of Jamaica's over populated tourist spots Montego Bay and Ocho Rios but its location between the two parishes makes it close enough to still drive into to get some of the action when needed!i

Falmouth is a small developing parish NOT in the middle of nowhere but neatly located in between Montego Bay and Oho Rios making it an idyllic oasis for honeymooners, couples and families.

The owner is a COMPLETE angel, she did everything in her power to make us feel at home, feeding us AMAZING home cooked traditional Jamaican food on a daily basis at very reasonable prices and providing a shuttle service to and from the beach or into town whenever we felt the need.

The website and pictures of the hotel are EXACTLY as they are shown and are no way misleading (see my personal pictures attached) .

The rooms are spacious, clean and all have there own closets, en suite bathrooms, satellite TV and ceiling fans.

If you are looking for a tropical getaway then Retreat Guesthouse is for you!!

PLEASE DON'T LET THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS PUT YOU OFF!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamlover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
14.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mangos Jamaica
Mangos Jamaica
#2 of 4 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royalton Blue Waters
Royalton Blue Waters
#1 of 4 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fisherman's Inn
Fisherman's Inn
#3 of 5 in Falmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
16.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retreat Guesthouse Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retreat Guesthouse Luxury Suites

Property: Retreat Guesthouse Luxury Suites
Address: 6 Newcourt Ave Retreat Heights, Falmouth 00000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Trelawny Parish > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Retreat Guesthouse Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Retreat Guesthouse Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retreat Guesthouse Luxury Hotel Falmouth
Retreat Guesthouse Luxury Suites Trelawny Parish, Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing