We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gastropub.”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been coming to the Tempest Arms for years after discovering it by mistake.
The food is always good and interesting and follows the seasons.The portions are generous,
not the usual little bit of grub in a very large plate now fashionable!! The cheese platter a meal in itself. Service is a bit hit and miss as they are very busy at times and if you are not a regular
is not easy to find how to book a table. The beers on offer are all real ales and top quality.
Prices are reasonable compared to the quality.
Try it you will not be disappointed

















9i.e.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed you visit to the Tempest we certainly are thrilled you took the time to write a review and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 835 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent a lovely night at here before the Great Yorkshire Show in July 2013. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly those on the restaurant side. The food was very well thought and the menu extensive - portion size is generous so skip lunch if you're going there in the evening! It’s very easy to over-order. We stayed in one of the junior suites which had one of the biggest beds I've ever seen and was very comfortable! Overall a very nice room although did show a few signs of wear and tear which is to be expected in a popular place. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

hello there and thank you for your very positive review! We are chuffed that all was lovely with your stay and that you took the time to write a review. On one point we are actually in the throws of starting a refurbishment program on our bed rooms and public areas but as you have mentioned when it is so busy it is difficult to grab a room back to do this!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This pub and restaurant added new accommodation blocks seven years ago. A great idea. The rooms are first rate - large and spacious, so large that two double beds put together look in scale and there is still room for a sofa and chairs. The bathrooms are also large and well laid out. A small box of chocolates are waiting guests on arrival which is a nice touch as is the complementary home-made cake available at reception. Ground floor rooms have their own balcony with table and chairs. The pub/restaurant feels more intimate now that a good deal of the old function room has been given over to accommodation. But there is still room enough for a comfortable 60 sit down function. A very good base if seeking to see more of the lovely Yorkshire Dales.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AddickMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We are thrilled that you have taken the time to write such a great review THANK YOU !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights for our belated anniversary. We stayed in Room 11, the hot tub suite on the first night and then had to swap to an executive suite for the second night due to availability.
From the first second we arrived to when we checked out we were more than impressed with every aspect of the hotel. The staff are very friendly and made us feel welcome, the rooms were amazing and the pub and restaurant were reasonably priced with a brilliant menu and delicious food.
We really would recommend this hotel to anyone and we cannot wait to come back and stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davemoran86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

THANK YOU for a FAB review it really does make all the difference when guests take the time to tell us about there stay! Thank you once again see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After a gap of a couple of years, we decided to book one of the hot tub suites to stay over for a night to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we checked it to the moment we left the following day, everything was just perfect. The suite had a large bed and beautiful lounge area. The hot tub was overlooking the beck and fields opposite. It was lovely and peaceful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Bar staff and waitresses were all really friendly. Breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice and a very nice (non-greasy) cooked breakfast. Overall, still one of my favourite places to stay and we will continue to recommend you to all our friends. We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Splash out that little bit more to stay in one of the 2 suites (rooms 11 & 13)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oakleigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

thank you so much for your review and nice to see you back again! it is great to see that all was well on your return and that we gave such pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Exec room spacious clean and tastefully furnished. Room 19 has terrace and is very private. A great venue for a private party or wedding as no close neighbours and it feels more like a pub than a hotel. Don't eat before you come but you can always walk I off !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaJCUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Huge friendly service too! Thank you for your FAB review we are chuffed all was to your liking!
With all best wishes and till next time, Martin and Veronica and the Tempest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have eaten at the Tempest on many occasions, and always enjoyed the food, so we decided to stay for a few days as a treat.

The only disappointment was the room, Room 8, which as has already been noted in other reviews, overlooks the back of the kitchen and a very noisy extractor fan, which meant we could not have the windows open. The shower head was also dirty, but when my wife raised this with reception, it was cleaned while we ate dinner. Credit to the receptionist, just a shame it was not checked in the first place.

On the plus side, which more than made up for the room, the service in all areas was excellent, with extremely friendlyand helpful staff throughout , and the food as good as ever, in both quality and quantity. The breakfasts set us up nicely for the day, and the free homemade cakes and biscuits at reception were a very nice touch.

We enjoyed the break, but endured the room.

Room Tip: Rooms 6,7,8 and 9 are best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

More positives than negatives! Thank you for writing a review and we have looked into all points raised and we will be looking into how we can improve our rear area.
I do hope that we see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,197 reviews
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
830 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
4.0 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: ELSLACK | Skipton, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range: $78 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Elslack, Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing