We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab rooms, fab restaurant, great beer, loved it”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for an evening following a couple of lunchtime stop offs. The service and room were fantastic. The only improvement I can think of would be to speed up the time it took to get served at the bar, it maybe I was just impatient for more great beer!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello there!

Desperate for beer eh!? I will of course pass on your comments to 'our' Veronica who will like me take great pleasure in the fact that your review was a glowing one! And of course look into levels of service on the bar.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Pint on the bar ready!

Lots of best wishes from all at The Tempest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for The Tempest Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 831 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the Skipton area and ate twice at the Tempest Inn. The Menu is varied and of good choice, at reasonable rates. We choose to have a bar meal and although it was busy we did not wait too long to be served. A great Country pub,friendly staff and well worth a visit

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ohalewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

THANK YOU for a great review we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just back from three nights stay at this wonderful place - have already booked for a return visit later in the year. Attention to detail was all - We had room 14, which was an executive suite, it had a king size bed, comfy sofa, flat screen tv, iron and board, fridge, fluffy white dressing gowns, chocs and flapjack in the room, even an umbrella to borrow if it was raining. Ate in the restaurant all 3 nights, the choice of food was amazing and quality and quantity excellent. Breakfast was delicious, we tried the full yorkshire, the mushroom and wensleydale omelette and the egg and bacon sarnie (on different days!!!) all were scrummy. The staff were very efficient but also very friendly and we can't wait to go back. The owners were actually on holiday whilst we were there, but the place still appeared to be running seamlessly and we recommend you try it. (Forgot to mention the delicious cakes/biscuits that were available at reception free to hotel guests - oh dear my poor waistline!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelma14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

We are so lucky to be able to go away and know that our team look after our guests like we would! Thank you for your brilliant review we certainly look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I visited skipton for the morning and decided to eat here after it had been recommended to us.

We had the toad in the hole and the corned beef pie and could not have been more delighted with the food. Both meals were cooked to perfection and very tasty too.

On the strength of the main courses we couldn't resist a pudding and again we were not disappointed. The chocolate pudding and the chewy merrangues were Devine!

The lovely food along with the excellent and friendly service made for an exceptional dining experience. We shall return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Spikyharold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Cheers and thank you for your FAB review we are chuffed you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We discovered The Tempest Arms about 18 months ago when another local place had stopped serving at 6 on a Sunday. And what a find. We go walking out Yorkshire way and this is our first choice port of call for a meal. And what a meal you get. We will have walked about 10 miles so are ready for a good meal. We have never been disappointed yet.
The choice is superb, the food wonderful and the staff a delight. The portions are generous and nothing is too much trouble. A nice touch is you order your vegetables/sides separately at £1.25 per portion which is enough for 2. This way you can have as much or as little as you want of what you want. This pub won the Country walking overall Pub of the Year for the whole of the UK a couple of years ago and being regular visitors its not hard to see why. The pub itself has nooks and crannies and a wonderful ambience. You can eat in the bar area or in the restaurant the choice is yours as it is the same menu in both. Whichever you choose i'm sure you'll be as impressed as we were.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you Andrew for your super review we are thrilled we are your favourite and judging by it a few others too! See you very soon!

LOL the Tempest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A very cosy and welcoming restaurant, a seat in front of the roaring fire is especially comfortable. You'll be spoilt for choice, the menu is very extensive and the food is very good. I would book in advance as it's usually very busy and for good reason.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank touristfiwip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review! That is just what we like doing! Spoiling our customers!
We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stopped off here en route to Devonshire Arms for a leisurely lunch. I had contacted them ahead of our arrival and a table was reserved for us close to the lovely roaring fire.
The choice here is vast, but after relaxing with a lovely red wine our orders were placed and without too much of a wait the food arrived. Delicious! The breads were a nice touch and my duck caesar salad was delicious. The soup and ham sandwich were very nice too. We didnt stay for deserts and we were eating later but I have no hesitation in recommending the Tempest and we will certainly be calling here again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nannieannieWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

NannieAnnie!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us and equally thrilled you told the world! I do hope we see you again soon when visiting the Dales. With all best wishes from us all at the Tempest Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
821 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
4.0 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: ELSLACK | SKIPTON, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range: $80 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Elslack, Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing