We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and just as good!”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We have just returned from a nights stay at the Tempest Arms and had a fantastic stay! We visited last August but just had a meal. We were so impressed with the quality of the food and the impeccable and friendly service that I booked a room for our anniversary this August!

We booked Suite 13 with the hot-tub. When we arrived, we were given a friendly welcome by the receptionist, who informed us about room information, times of breakfast etc We were offered free cakes and cookies that we could take to our room too!

We were thrilled with our room-I have never seen a bed SO big! We were also impressed with the little touches too-chocolate that was bought locally, little sweets and two pieces of flapjack! I especially liked the L'Occitane toiletries and the fluffy towels and robes!

The hot-tub was fabulous, with great views over the fields! This was on your own terrace which wasn't overlooked at all.

We booked a meal in the restaurant and had a couple of drinks in the bar first-the Raspberry Bellini was gorgeous!! We were impressed with the service of ALL staff last year and this year was no different. The menu was huge, with so much choice, but I chose the roasted asparagus and seafood pancake, and my hubby had the pate and lasagne, which was all delicious! I really wanted to have the sticky parkin with custard and ginger ice-cream but couldn't eat another thing!

The bed was so comfy and we both had a great nights sleep.

The breakfast was eaten in the restaurant too and we were given a warm welcome by the "waitress" . There was a great choice of cereals, fruit juice, fresh grapefruit, yoghurts etc. There was also a good choice of hot dishes, from the huge cooked breakfast to boiled eggs, kippers etc. I chose the omelette with vine tomatoes, field mushrooms and Wensleydale cheese which was absolutely delicious-so light and fluffy!!!

Overall, the stay at the Tempest Arms made our anniversary very special and we both said that we like to return in the winter-with the log fires in the bar etc.

If you are thinking about staying here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for The Tempest Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 831 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed in the Tempest on two different occasions while on business in the area. I have travelled extensively and ate in some fabulous places but the Tempest is one of all my all time favourites. Where do I start? The old world charm: the welcoming and cosy ambience: the fabulous location etc. The rooms are beautiful with large comfy beds and the bathroom accesories were Molton Brown. It had it's own decking area which looked out over a lovely river. I have never heard birds sing the way I heard them on both of those trips. It was truly magical. The staff were warm and friendly and were a pleasure to deal with. Finally the food! Wow is all I can say. The best Yorkshire pudding anywhere, melt in the mouth steak and the most wonderful homemade chips. Sitting in the Tempest on a cold winter afternoon with the fire blazing, having a lovely glass of wine, and talking to Prince the dog is a memory I will always treasure. I can still smell those logs burning. I live in the south of Ireland and would have no hesitation in jumping on a plane (recession not withstanding) just for the pleasure of experiencing that wonderful place again. A true gem!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Thank you for your review we are thrilled you have such happy memories of the Tempest it is a special place to us too! We do hope you get the chance to come over the waters again soon.

Best wishes till then
Martin & Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Tempest Arms and everything about the place made it a memorable celebration. We had been before but just for food (which is fantastic) but decided because of the setting to stay over. We'd looked around the room we liked the look on our previous visit and booked there and then.

We stayed in Room 11 with the hot tub, the room is very spacious with a walk in shower (wet room), roll top deep bath, very comfortable bed, really nice setting area, decked area at the back which is where the covered hot tub is. The room also has a fridge which is a nice touch. It was decorated to a very high standard and looked amazing.

After a few great ales in the bar we went for our evening meal in the restaurant. For a Thursday night the place was packed with a great atmosphere. The prices are very good and the menu is huge. The food was spot on, really nice and loads of it. Spam and Black pudding fritters in a mild curry were out of this world. Mains of liver and fillet steak (both cooked perfectly) were some of the best pub/gastro food we've had for a while. No pudding was needed! The service was really good too even though they were very busy.

The breakfast was lovely too in the morning and after we went on one of the walks that they provide. We did the 2 hour walk (which took 3) - but that may have been the breakfast and previous evenings meal that slowed us down!!

All in all our visit was perfect, a great way to celebrate our anniversary and a gem of a hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

And a happy anniversary to you both! We are thrilled you enjoyed you special stay with us and look forward to doing it again in a years time! Best wishes till then - unless we see you before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Ne and my partner stayed here for one night as soon as we arrived we went to check were the service was lovely and also help yourself to cakes and cookies when arriving at our room we saw the big huge bed which had complimenty chocolates on the bed lovely big hot tub clean bathroom and a flatscreen telly as we travelled all day have our dinner to the room the roast belly pork which was lovely and the Henry lamb which was like a lamb shank which was also delicious the hot tub was lovely in the morning we went for breakfast where we're asked if we wanted coffee or tea and which breakfast as the cereal and juice was help yourself . We had a full English breakfast which was lovely we had a lovely stay here and would recommend it to any one wishing to stay .

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for your delightful review we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future, best wishes from all at the Tempest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Were very pleasantly surprised by this pub/hotel. The room, a junior suite, was magnificant. Superb quality of decor, furniture and decorations with the biggest bed I have seen. Very comfy, clean and great ethos for the whole place with staff there to help. Loved the accomodation, the food and the location. Going for a walk in the national park with friends, stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pdehavilland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for you kind review. Hope you enjoyed you walk - there are so many to choose from around here, thats why we make the ideal choice for any one viviting the dales and surrounding areas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed here with my partner for my best friends wedding and were blown away. We decided to spurlge and book an executive suite. It was the nicest room I have ever stayed in. The standard rooms were pretty good too. All rooms with great bathrooms and beds and lovely L'occitaine toiletries in the bathroom.
The staff are really helpful especially Stuart. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
The food was delicious with massive portions. The only thing I would say is that there could be a better choice of lager and the wine was a bit pricey.
We are definitely looking at coming back next year to stop in one of the hot tub rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManchesterRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Its a date! till next year then! Thank you for your kind words from all at the Tempest Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed in one of the Clubrooms with a friend to go walking. Everyone very friendly, room quiet - despite there being parties on - nice touches of good tea and coffee. Breakfast and meal good. Thoroughly recommend it as very attractive inn that is great value in a good location. Viewed the suites and they are lovely.

Room Tip: Club Room 5 is quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kesEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for your kind review, good products always attract the nicest of people - hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,186 reviews
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
821 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
4.0 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: ELSLACK | SKIPTON, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range: $80 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Elslack, Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing