We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House”
Review of Verandah House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stowmarket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Verandah House
Ranked #4 of 8 Stowmarket B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked Verandah House a couple of days before my arrival and was surprised when my booking details alone were required for reservation rather than a deposit. I thought that was very trusting! The reason being there are no credit card facilities but you can pay with euro or sterling on arrival and there is an atm nearby. The location is perfect - right off the High Street. The house is 1700's and in general the decor, furniture etc. were quite quaint and old fashioned. This results in a really nice feeling of stepping back in time. My single room was huge with two single beds and the wooden ceiling beams were visible. There are also sash windows but not compromising your comfort there are also newer double glazed panes on the inside. The breakfast was cooked to order and really nice. The owners were friendly and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
Kindest Regards


Gianfranco and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
36
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cullen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked this at fairly short notice and arrived quite late at night after a 14 hour journey. Bruce, the gentleman managing the B&B couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We were shown to spotlessly clean attractive rooms which were well equipped and comfortable. Wireless internet was available too, which was most helpful
In the morning, after a comfortable night, we were served an excellent cooked breakfast following a very comprehensive cereal and fruit course.
We weren't around long enough to take advantage of the snack menu or evening meal facility but noticed this being available and might well find it useful in future.
Many thanks to Bruce and to the owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hec2r01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your review. We will convey your thanks to Bruce and Jan that looked after Verandah House whilst we were away for a few days. We hope to see you again soon!!

Kindest Regards

Gianfranco and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

As a retired hotel manager of hotels in Earls Court, Bloomsbury, Westminster and Brighton, I am a bit fussy about places I stay - an occupational habit I am afraid. I simply don't know a better place to stay than the Verandah. It is 'simply the best' and run by the nicest couple in the land.

Room Tip: All perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinGNlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Sir

What kind comments you have made about your stay with us.

It is always a great pleasure to reply to a review such as yours.

Kindest regards

Suzanne and Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Verandah house is excellent -its truly a professional environment with the owners treating you as one of the family. Nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. as a global Finance Director standards were high - both Suzanne & Gianfranco the owners exceeded my expectations. The condition and internal paint works are perfect and the hotel has a unique feel of comfort , home making as well as privacy when you require it.

Room Tip: rooms backing onto the garden provide a perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mr T

Wow! What a lovely review. We are very pleased you had a good experience staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Kindest regards
Suzanne and Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed there for one night recently and it was fine. The location is good, really central, and the room was good. Clean, spacious, and the bathroom was as it should be. The owners were helpful and polite. Just make sure you've got cash or cheques on you, as they don't take cards (there's a cash point nearby, though).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rosario001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Its always appreciated to receive feedback from our guests even if they stay one night.

Kindest Regards

Suzanne & Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visit Stowmarket regularly. We always find that Verandah House provides for us in every way with a warm welcome, interesting room, comfortable bed and the best breakfast possible.
It is also feels a safe and reliable place to stay when travelling alone.

Room Tip: We have stayed in different rooms and like them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neroni, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for your kind review.

We look forward to seeing you again .

Kind Regards

Suzanne and Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My family and I stayed for one night on a Saturday and can say that we were extremely happy with our stay. From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome, wonderful large (well equiped) rooms, courtesous staff, great advice about local recommendations (The shephard and Dog pub is a must!) and breakfast was made to order and great. Only downside was it is very close to pubs/clubs which means you can hear the traffic and people at night time but it wasn't too overbearing. Would stay again if we were ever in the area and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Call them if you want a spacious family room with bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neroni, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you very much for your kind comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back when visiting Stowmarket.

Kindest Regards

Gianfranco Neroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowmarket
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill
Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill
#1 of 2 in Needham Market
85 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Claydon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Limes Hotel
Limes Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham Market
98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
3.6 mi away
Fasbourn Hall
Fasbourn Hall
#1 of 1 in Buxhall
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandah House

Property: Verandah House
Address: 29 Ipswich Road, Stowmarket IP14 1BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stowmarket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stowmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Verandah House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandah House is an historic grade II listed building, located in the center of Stowmarket, and is a fine example of a Georgian gentleman's residence. Built originally around 1700, a cottage and stables were added to the original house in 1729. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verandah House Stowmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing