We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic - excellent venue - everything we...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Oak Barn

Old Oak Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Oak Barn
Welcome... The Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Old Oak Barn
Welcome...
The Entrance
Main Hall
Beautiful kitchen with Range Cooker
The Kitchen
Cosy Breakfast Corner
10 Seater Oak Trestle Table - Catering also available upon request
The Lounge at night
Cosy Lounge with Woodburning Stove
Looking down from the Bridge.....
Master Bedroom with Ensuite and Oak Four-poster Bed
All ensuites are in similar style....
Bedroom 2 with Ensuite. Can be used as a double or twin
500 year old Oak frame
Bedroom 3 with Ensuite
Bedroom 4 with share of the family bathroom. Can be used as double or twin.
Bedroom 5 with shared use of family Bathroom. Can be used as double or twin.
Bathroom with cast iron roll-top bath and shower.
Relax.....
The Bridge and Gallery with large comfy sofa and designer lighting
Large Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
diane g
essex
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic - excellent venue - everything we needed and more!!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were one of 5 couples to spend Friday to Monday at the Old Oak Barn - we had an amazing weekend and the barn had everything that we needed and more. We didn't feel the need to go anywhere as everything was to hand. Absolutely spotless, beautiful grounds, lovely walks. Spacious and extremely comfortable. The kitchen was equipped to the highest of standards including a large dishwasher, with more than enough plates, glasses and cookware etc. It has a utility room with washing machine.

We played out music, watched DVD's, played games oh and nearly forgot there's a pool table. We ate and drank to the full and had a special time relaxing with friends. Would highly recommend and will definitely be returning.

Thank you. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, spacious and comfortable
Liked least: Having to leave such a gorgeous venue
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thanks Diane - glad you had such a wonderful time.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrumpadi...
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Early Christmas at Old Oak Barn”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Just returned from an early Christmas break with eight girlfriends. What a great find the barn was; so well equipped and in a lovely peaceful location. We have stayed in a number of barns and I'd say this was one of the best. The bedrooms were all warm and beds very comfy; lovely bathrooms and kitchen big enough for nine cooks! We had everything we wanted and the owner and his son were both helpful when we had a minor issue with the sonos. Wasn't expecting a Christmas tree to be in place yet so this added to the Christmas celebration. All enquirers made prior to arrival were dealt with quickly especially helpful with booking a hot tub hire for the weekend and a lovely restaurant for the Saturday night. Would certainly recommend the barn to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The wi fi wasn't always working but we had been advised there was an issue prior to arrival
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deby22
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

All i can say is what a fabulous barn in a fantastic location! We were holidaying with extended family who all live in Suffolk and it was the perfect place for us all to get together
The barn itself is the best one we have ever stayed in and believe me we have stayed in a few! The accommodation was perfectly laid out and the fact that we could arrange the bed configuration before we left with Marcus was a a massive plus!
Everything you could possibly need was catered for and the added wine and chocolates were a very welcome surprise. All the facilities were hi spec and their was plenty of open grass space for the kids to run about and play badminton (just be careful if booking with small children as their is open water)
All in all a fantastic week made even better from fantastic hosts, we would definitely look to book Old Oak Barn again, thanks ever so much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the layout of the barn
Liked least: Open water, unfenced could be a problem for small children
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Thanks a lot Reece....it was a pleasure to have you as a guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having our own en-suite.
Liked least: You couldn't walk to anywhere without going miles.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 17, 2015
Hi - thanks a lot for the positive comments about the barn and your suggestion about the skylights - I have now fitted blackout blinds to all the skylights so 'light' sleepers will be able to enjoy a good nights sleep.

The nearest pub is 3.5 miles from the barn, either in Debenham or Thorndon - I have walked it before during the day and it takes a little over 1 hour. Alternatively, it is great to get out on bikes as there is very little traffic or there are some local taxi companies in the info file in the barn. Another trick I do myself, is drive to the pub in the evening, and collect the car(s) the next day using somebody else's. With 10 guests at the barn, there are usually 3 or 4 cars amongst the party. This also gives you the added advantage of going to other beautiful pubs in the area a little further away. The closest supermarket is also only 3.5 miles away in Debenham along with a butchers, bakers etc. This information is also in the info pack at the barn. Thank you for your stay and I hope you'll return to Old Oak Barn someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space inside the property, enough for everybody.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing