We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, shame about the service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lime Tree Cafe

Lime Tree Cafe
Ranked #21 of 58 Restaurants in Stowmarket
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good food, well presented. All the staff looked miserable and a bit rude so for that reason I wouldn't go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Husband and I called in for breakfast freshly cooked pipping hot lovely cup tea
Much improved since its been taken over nice and clean cakes look lovely
When we went they were making fresh scones
Small menu but all looks nice

Helpful?
Thank sandra s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pity less seems home made”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went here today on a trip to stow and thought from the outside looked like and interesting place. Opted for a cheese ploughmans as these are pretty hard to get wrong and sometimes can be incredibly good . The only thing that seemed fresh / homemade / not bought in was the chutney which i really really liked and would buy if sold per jar, the rest was average taste but well presented. I think with a bit more in house made / baked / local items this could be a great little gem of a place but as it is not something to recomend

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusBar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham Market, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stowmarket's Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a wonderful, homely, welcoming, and comfortable cafe in the middle of Stowmarket, right in the centre, between the Market Place and the Parish Church. The food is gorgeous, and not expensive, and is all homemade!
I've been going there ever since Julie and Racheal (NOT a spelling mistake:)) opened back in September 2012.
Long may they reign in their lovely cafe. We need you!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice coffee stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We heard that the cafe had changed hands, and was previously rather brash and tacky. On arrival we were pleased to have a warm welcome, we choose coffee and cheese scones, which were lovely and nicely presented. There is a good selection of home cooking. The seating area is small and a bit cramped, however there is additional seating upstairs. Well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lime Tree Cafe also viewed

Stowmarket, Suffolk
Stowmarket, Suffolk
 
Stowmarket, Suffolk
Stowmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to Lime Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing