We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rapidly decreasing circles” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willow Tree

The Willow Tree
Ranked #33 of 58 Restaurants in Stowmarket
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rapidly decreasing circles”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having visited the willow tree out of curiosity in the first week I was pleasantly surprised. Well renouned cheap drinks and food. Not being a huge drinker I was pleased with the friendly service and well prepared food. My wife and I decided to make it a regular cheap night out for a pint and a bite to eat.

Sadly these intitial relatively high standards have slipped significantly. The service is now slow and when your food eventually does arrive you wished it hadn't. I found myself ordering increasingly expensive items off the menu in order to fill the void of disappointment. This sadly had little effect and upon receiving the final bill I rearlise that I could have eaten at a 'proper' resturant for a similar price. Needless to say we now do just that. Shame......

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelWinnersDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    90
    80
    44
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adequate for a cheap beer— but NOTHING ELSE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't expect haute cuisine here. Food is microwaved beyond belief. Had a "Gourmet Mexican [veggie] burger supposedly with guac and salsa on it. I barely had a teaspoon of each. The oily onion rings and chips were clearly cooked in the same fat as meat/fish (the fishy smell was quite potent).

I won't go into why I didn't send it back as I was having a dispute about the supposed drink with the burger that I was OVERCHARGED for. The jury's still out on that one. The waitress couldn't find the time to take my order and seemed perturbed that she actually had to do it!

Long story short? I've had better service at other Wetherspoon locations. Go for the cheap beer IF you must (not even the mixed drinks were worth the price— VERY watered down).

Forget the rest.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRREngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

What you would expect from Witherspoons,very economical but still good quality. A bit of a wait to order at the bar.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank telcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Okay for a cheap lunch......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Wanted somewhere local and cheap for lunch with a couple of ex colleagues. Parking opposite made this a simple choice. Place was heaving with the usual Weatherspoons' mix of OAPs, young mums with small kids and local bar flies.

We managed to get the last available table and ordered the food & drinks. Food is incredibly simple but very cheap. It's not the greatest but I've paid a whole lot more in other venues for lower quality food. Food took thirty minutes but given how busy the place was, then it could have been worse.

The pub is fairly new and is still in a good state despite some of the obvious regulars! If you want something cheap and simple then this ticks the box. Get there early and find somewhere in the corner to avoid the hustle and bustle of the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice building but service and food a real let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I went here when first opened and was impressed by the level of service; oh how things have changed!

To be fair I left writing a review on the Willow Tree until I had visited it a number of times as every one has an off day...sadly every occasion I visited it seemed to be that they we having an off day. You sort of know what you are getting in terms of a Weatherspoons pub, a decent selection of drinks, especially ales at a very competeive price and pub grub again at a decent price. The Willow Tree lives up to expectations in terms of drinks and price but fails on the food.

The food is generally late in arriving and prior to arriving has almost certainly been sitting on the hot plate for around 10 minutes due to a lack of staff. This is fine for burgers and chips but does nothing for the salad! Yes we have been served warm salads with limp greens and after complaining have waited again only for the same to happen.

In summary the Willow Tre is a great place to go for a drink as it is cheap but in tms of serving as a restaurant it fails miserably being short on staff and in the food that is served...microwaved, late and lacking flavour. Having said that the breakfast is good perhaps due to the lack of customers and the staff being able to cope better. The pub is generally full of seasoned drinkers taking advantage of the cheap beer which makes the whole eating experience poor and off putting.

So great if you like cheap beer or are on a tight budget with lots of mouths to feed but if you have a choice... Walk on by and try Infuse or the Royal Oak.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apache2149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Willow Tree also viewed

Stowmarket, Suffolk
Stowmarket, Suffolk
 
Stowmarket, Suffolk
Stowmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Willow Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing