We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“One of the best kept secrets in Suffolk”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Cosy sitting room with large inglenook and wood burner..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sitting room with large inglenook and wood burner..
…..beautifully dressed for Christmas Cocketts - pretty in pink
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
19 reviews
Cosy sitting room with large inglenook and wood burner..
…..beautifully dressed for Christmas
Cocketts - pretty in pink
Large well-equipped farmhouse kitchen...
…looking out onto front and back garden
King-size master bedroom with small dressing room
Second king-size bedroom that can be made up as a twin
Attic den with PS3, games, toys and double futon leading through to...
…vaulted twin bedroom with original oak floor.
West facing patio in safe enclosed small garden ..
…that shelters another little home, that hides outdoor toys for young ones.
Garden gate leading through to larger garden for ball games...
…an old orchard with fruit trees, picnic table...
...and two magnificent walnut trees
The owners keep pygmy goats, chickens and 2 turkeys.
This is Nancy and she likes attention!
Cocketts is at the end of a no-through lane, and the track beyond is just right for dog walking
The mid suffolk footpath which passes the cottage is perfect for a longer walk
Views across the fields from the cottage...
...and back the other way.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richard W
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“One of the best kept secrets in Suffolk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We arrived at the cottage with snow imminent for our usual family Easter get together, a party of six adults and two young children. The short trip down the lane to Tan Office had left us somewhat apprehensive as the road was slightly flooded in one place, but on opening the door of Crocketts any fears were instantly dismissed.

The house is exactly, if not better than described with comfortable furniture in the lounge and a modern TV that functions without problems. The wood burner was a real bonus especially as the snow stayed around most of the week and it adds to the ambience overall. The central heating system keeps the whole house warm. The house is carpeted throughout which also adds to the warmth.

The kitchen is extremely well equipped with virtually everything to meet ones needs ( I would struggle to find anything missing anyway) and everything was spotlessly clean with no signs of "grease" on or within the shining cooker. The Large fridge/freezer met our needs comfortably. The utility room similarly was well equipped.

Upstairs the bedrooms are cloaked in oak beams, twisting and turning along the walls and across the ceilings to create a restful and picturesque environment to sleep in. The beds are comfortable in all rooms and the crisp white bedding and towels completed the experience.

With the two youngsters it was good to have a large selection of toys available because due to the weather we were unable to use the outside areas so could only imagine what the garden would be like during the warm summer months! We did meet the owners on a couple of occasions and spent a few minutes chatting but otherwise they were extremely unobtrusive yet still comforting to know they were nearby.

Overall we enjoyed our week immensely and when a three year old cries and does not want to leave then it must have been a good place to stay. I am not one for repeating an experience but staying here may have just changed my mind.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It was a lovely restful place to stay in
Liked least: Only having one bathroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2013
I'm really glad you enjoyed the experience - it was a shame the weather was so cold! Thanks for the feedback.
Doug and Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenB190...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just what we wanted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Some girlfriends and I chose Cocketts for our weekend away as it was in the beautiful area where we had all grown up. It promised and delivered a quiet break in the heart of rural Suffolk. As friends we have shared weekend breaks away together for the last 20 years! The comfort, warmth of welcome and character of the beautiful cottage meant that this particular weekend rated very highly in comparison to the many others we have shared together over the years. The owners were friendly and generous and though on hand had we needed them, we were hardly aware of their presence nearby. The cottage itself was a dream, quirky and full of character, a real joy to stay in. It was incredibly well equipped and extremely comfortable. In fact, we scarcely left it all weekend! I would recommend this wonderful cottage to friends and family unreservedly, it was just what we wanted!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The luxurious comfort of the cottage.
Liked least: Leaving to return to the real world!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back!

Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetlafl...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

I have just returned from a weekend stay at Cocketts with a group of girlfriends. We regularly have weekends away to catch up as we are scattered across the country, this cottage has been the best we have ever stayed at.

Peace and tranquility are in abundance here.

Tha facilities are fantastic, the kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need and unlike many other places I have stayed there is enough crockery and cutlery to mean you don't have to wash up in between dishwasher cycles, and the knives are sharp ( I usually take my own as they are so often old and blunt!) .

The log burner was a welcome feature of the cottage and made it nice and cosy.

Everything was exceptionally clean and tidy, beds were very comfortable and lovely crisp bed linen.

It was nice having the owners close by, we only saw them when we collected the keys and other than that we wouldn't have known they were there, but it is nice knowing if we needed anything they were on hand.

I would recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to soak up the Suffolk countryside and will definitely recommend to friends and will return again myself .

5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: I loved it all!!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2012
Thankyou for the review - we are glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWill...
London
1 review
“Idyllic spot - lovely cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I simply cannot credit that the first reviewer of Cocketts stayed in the same place that we did.

The cottage is in a lovely secluded setting down a remote country lane. While the owners live next door the houses are not attached in fact, and we only saw them in the shared garden when they were cutting the grass. As for a "peep-show" experience, at the front of the house we saw the owner's house, but as we spent most of our outdoor time at the rear of the house where the owner's house is barely visible this is really beside the point.

The house is generally well-equipped and while a couple of small things didn't work (coffee machine for example) most of the practicalities of daily living were more than adequately catered for. I saw no such thing as a rule book though there was a folder with some interesting background about the house and some basic operational information (such as what could appropriately be put in a toilet which is served by a septic tank): the suggestion that Cocketts could be equated to a prison camp is laughably far from the truth.

With a young child we appreciated the tranquility of the garden and the security provided by our fenced-off area (given that there are two or three large and murky ponds in the grounds). Wonderful to see deer in the garden one evening too. Our little boy was utterly delighted to see the huge array of indoor and outdoor toys, as were we!

The owners have two medium-size dogs, but we never saw them in the garden, only by the car-parking area. As a non-dog-owner (and parent) I must say I appreciate knowing how a particular unknown dog is likely to react and on the one occasion when we met these dogs they could not have been friendlier. Maybe the first reviewer's comment says more about their own dog than about these two friendly mutts.

The house was generally spotless though we did have a bit of trouble with the dishwasher (I think it was a bit limed-up). Beautifully clean linen too. One potential drawback is that there is only one bathroom (though two toilets). This didn't bother us at all (only three of us after all), but Cocketts could potentially sleep 6-8 and a single bathroom might prove problematic for such numbers.

We had a wonderful week there and would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The setting and peace and quiet
Liked least: Broken cafetiere
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad you enjoyed staying in Cocketts and I'm really please you saw the deer - they can be a bit elusive. Thanks for the advice about the dishwasher and the cafetiere - we have replaced both of these now. We also recognise that having a second bathroom would make Cocketts easier for large parties. Addressing this is in our "mid term plan"!

Hope to se you again.

Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memo3Lond...
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great If you want a concentration camp experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

False advertising has never applied to a property more then 'Cocketts' (The best of Suffolk)
The property is advertised with the Best of Suffolk, as being -
'Cocketts is a delightful and peaceful retreat in the heart of Suffolk. Tucked away at the end of a lane, it is set in an acre of mature garden and is surrounded by trees and foliage. It provides a fantastic rural getaway from the hustle and bustle of daily life'
..sadly it fails to mention that it is attached to the owners house.
You enter into a kitchen (watch out for the greasy oven and dirty dishes hidden in the cupboard) where you will find the 'rule book'. (owners manual) telling you how to live for the time you are there. This ranges from how to recycle your rubbish to how their dogs should be approached, if you want to avoid being bitten! (Incidentally there is also no mention of these dogs either when booking)
It also explains that upstairs has uneven floors, with holes in places..again no mention of this when booking!

'Outside there is a safe enclosed garden, a dining area and a mature orchard through which you can stroll with a glass of wine'...again it fails to mention when booking, that this area is also SHARED with the owners, their children and their dogs..
We had brought our own dog, who spent the time locked away due to the owners dogs constantly appearing.

The photos used by the Best of Suffolk for 'Cocketts' surprisingly leave out the owners house (amazing when you see the proximity between the two buildings. I am still amazed as to why there is no mention of it anywhere) and leave you to believe you will have a quiet week away from it all...if only.
My advice is don't go, unless you enjoy the 'peep show' experience you get once you arrive. It's all a little too close for comfort.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 1 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 1 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Going Home
Liked least: The Owners house being Joined to Cocketts, and the owners 2 aggressive dogs
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2012
Ouch!

This is quite hurtful so I'd like to respond to give some balance.

I think these visitors, who brought with them a powerful American bulldog, believed that they would be able allow their dog to roam outside Cocketts but found they could not do so as Cocketts shares a garden with Duncons and our dogs (a Springer and a Sprocker) spend some of their time outside.

We did not know this was their expectation. The Google map on the Best of Suffolk site does show the two properties in relation to one another and our dog is visible in the photographs of Cocketts.

We find the comments about the rule book quite bizarre. We do provide information about Cocketts and some of its foibles (it is a 16th century house). These are written in what we hoped was a chatty and friendly manner; it includes information on how the local authority request rubbish is separated for recycling.

It also advises that our dogs (like any dogs) should be approached with care as, if surprised or threateneed they can snap. They aren't vicious, quite the reverse.

Be assured that the dishes are not greasy and neither is the cooker.

I hope you will not be put off by this review.

As I write this, I can hear pigeons cooing, jackdaws cawing, and horses hooves clip-clopping. Cocketts remains "a delightful and peaceful retreat in the heart of Suffolk. Tucked away at the end of a lane, it is set in an acre of mature garden and is surrounded by trees and foliage. It provides a fantastic rural getaway from the hustle and bustle of daily life."

I wish these visitors well and hope that all their future holidays exceed their expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2012
Louise - thanks for the review. I hope to see you back here soon.

Doug
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing