We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun place to visit”

Museum of East Anglian Life
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Stowmarket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the history and natural world of East Anglia on our beautiful 75 acre site—explore nearly 3km of woodland and riverside nature trails. Learn about fascinating East Anglian crafts and traditional Gypsy culture, get steamed up with our powerful engines and meet our friendly animals including rare breeds of cattle and sheep. Discover 15 splendidly restored historic buildings, including the newly restored Abbot's Hall and try some delicious food and local produce in the new museum cafe.
Stowm
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a fun place to visit”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Looking for a fun activity to do with the kids look no further than here. My kids loved it - we went to the beer festival too a few months back ( not with the kids of course) this was a lot of fun and made for a good evening out

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    54
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
824 reviews
493 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Its very good if you can find it !”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As you approach Stowmarket it mentions the museum on the town sign. After that your on your own. The web site tells you not to follow the post code on your sat/nav, if you do, you can see it, but not park. Unbeliaveable that the local council cannot clearly sign the route.
Well, we parked a couple of hundred yards away and walked to a pedestrian entrance. It was a 'special' weekend, so in the field lots to see. A very enjoyable few hours around the very well displayed permanent exhibits. Do walk down to the Methodist church and spend a bit of time at the house. A good day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshments at MEAL”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very obliging staff. Delicious cake and great to have a choice of decaffeinated coffee! Plenty of space inside and out. We'll come again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Steam and Craft Weekend + Museum”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I visited this weekend because of the added interest of the Steam and Craft weekend but, sad to say, it was a big disappointment.....only two 'Craft Stalls', and I really would not describe their wares as 'craft', more like market stalls. As for the steam engines, there were only approximately six large engines and four smaller ones, we had expected a far larger turn out, as I think the museum had by the large area cordoned off for them. We also looked at everything else the museum was exhibiting and came away very disappointed. Abbots Hall, although an impressive building, was full of exhibits that we would class as "a lot of nothing", everything had been brought in from other places to fill the building as the museum took it over empty and, we felt, it was a mishmash of items. Some of the other buildings held interesting items, but these really were few and far between. On a plus side, the staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, and the grounds are lovely and make a pleasant stroll on a nice day. The 'Osier Cafe' is worth a visit for a bite to eat while you are there, everything is reasonably priced and the tables outside make for a pleasant meal.....you can expect a visit for the resident ducks looking for any tit-bits on offer....they even strolled in to the cafe!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nanni22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fair”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Its fair, maybe worth a visit if you are this way, probably not worth travelling too far for though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of East Anglian Life also viewed

 
Haughley, Stowmarket
 

Been to Museum of East Anglian Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing