We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Swallow Barn, Wyverstone, Suffolk”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wilson20
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swallow Barn, Wyverstone, Suffolk”
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay here. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The barn is immaculate, tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. We took our 2 pooches with us and there were plenty of nearby footpaths to walk along. We ate at The Bull pub in Bacton, which took us 25 mins to walk to. Dogs are allowed in the bar and the food was lovely. We also took a trip to Bury St Edmunds in the car, 30 mins away which is a lovely place. We were fortunate to have lovely weather so we were able yo make use if the enclosed garden at the barn.
Thanks Richard & Rosie for accommodating us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 21, 2018
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed it. Do come and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andy R
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Our second visit to Swallow Barn - & we loved it again!”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My wife and I, together with Guy the Labrador and Fern the Working Cocker, had our second super holiday in Swallow Barn over Easter week 2018 (we first stayed there over Easter week in 2017).

The Barn conversion is lovely - cosy, comfortable, has plenty of character and is very well maintained. The owners Rosie and Richard are very welcoming, friendly and available should you need any help or advice.

The enclosed rear garden and the easily accessible 2 acre field are great if you do have dogs, both of ours loved having access to the field, as well as going on the many and varied walks that we enjoyed during our stay - the best of these was Knettishall Heath (we walked there twice), Flatford Mill plus Aldeburgh and Dunwich beaches to mention a few. There is also a network of public footpaths that start just a stone’s throw from the barn that are very nice.

Plenty of pub's with good food are within a very short drive, our favourites were the Blue Boar in Walsham-le-Willows, The Norton Dog in Norton and the Trowel & Hammer in Cotton (all three are 'dog friendly'). For a REALLY nice meal go to The Leaping Hare at Wyken Vineyard on a Friday or Saturday evening (about £50 per head for a 3 course meal including a couple of drinks each, but the food is superb and the service is excellent) you probably will need to book in advance.

There are lots of other great places to visit - Bury St.Edmunds is nearby, Ickworth House (National Trust) is a must and Sutton Hoo, Pin Mill and the Suffolk Punch Trust are all great days out as well.

Thanks again to Rosie and Richard - if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing and very enjoyable break Swallow Barn is highly recommended!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Thanks so much for your review and useful recommendations, see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
869karenr
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most relaxing weekend in this wonderful, super dog friendly cottage!”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Have just returned home from a wonderful, relaxing two night stay at this cosy cottage. Spotlessly clean and so comfortable and spacious. Beautifully decorated and so refreshing to go somewhere that dogs are so very welcome. Newton our black lab, loved the treats and toys and the blanket on the sofa so he could snuggle with us. Great to find a cottage with a secure garden too. Such lovely views outside.
We holiday a lot with Newton and he takes a couple of days to relax in new surroundings but in Swallow Barn he instantly relaxed and was snoozing by the fire within hours of arriving. Fantastic walks nearby, clearly marked public footpath signs and a nice walk to the super dog friendly The Bull at Bacton pub. Thank you Rosie for a much needed, relaxing weekend. We will most definitely be back and for much longer next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
Many thanks for your lovely review we are looking forward to hosting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceridesla...
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing little find”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We were greeted by the very friendly Rosie on arrival. This secluded property was the perfect country retreat with good access to local amenities.

Not only were myself and my partner made very welcome, my dog was also made incredibly welcome to. A nice little surprise was the welcome pack left for the her including treats and a very thoughtful dog tag for use in the area.

We enjoyed nights by the roaring fire and to top it off mornings waking up to deer in the garden.

An amazingly quiet area with an incredibly comfortable bed, we will definitely return hopefully very soon. A real Home from Home.

Thank you again Rosie and Richard

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed it. Come and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattC5515
1 review
“Just what we were looking for...”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We just got back from staying two nights in this lovely converted barn, we found everything to be pretty much perfect from the extremely comfortable bed to the well equipped kitchen and excellent shower. We took our 10 month old Shih Tzu and he settled in really quickly sniffing about your own garden whilst we enjoyed a glass of wine. The Bull down the road is under new management and the food was very nice!! We also took the dog to Flatford Mill which is about 40 mins away from the barn.

We would most definitely recommend this rental to a friend in fact we already have, several in fact and are planning our next visit!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
Many thanks Matt for the rave review! A large part of our enjoyment of letting the Barn is knowing people have loved what we provide. Look forward to seeing you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewsma...
Rowde, United Kingdom
1 review
“An idyllic dog friendly rural retreat.”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Swallow Barn is perfect for dog lovers. An enclosed garden, lots of footpaths that are easy to follow. We were even provided with doggy-towels & toys, even dog tags for each of our dogs in case they went astray. A lovely barn conversion with everything you need, even a bottle of milk in the fridge for that cup of tea we were so desperate for after our long journey. Can't speak highly enough. Perfect. Thank you Richard and Rosie, you have a little gem there.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2017
Thank you for you lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and you lovely dogs. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing