We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get, avoid if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Probably closer to "Poor" rather than "average, but I am being kind... I have been visiting Rotterdam regularly on business for the past 15 years and have frequently stayed in the Ibis since the very beginning. Over the years they first renovated the restaurant and then (a year or two ago) the rooms. What I mean by room renovation, is that they added flat-screen televisions, replaced the old wash basins by plastic-resin moulded basins and replaced the bathtubs by larger, walk-in showers that occupy the same floor-space as did the former bathtubs. Guess they also upgraded the loos, can't remember how the old ones were. The resin basins are aging badly and apparently stain very easily. The size of the rooms has not changed, however - still miniscule. The walls are thin and not particularly sound proof - it was once obvious (and rather distracting) that the occupants of the room next door were apparently a honeymoon couple... There is a thermostat control pannel for the aircon / heater, that I have never managed to get to work to my satisfaction - either to hot or too cold. The windows are protected by insect screens. But if you open them in hot weather in preference to using the aircon, the traffic from the nearby A20 motorway is very noisy.

The breakfast buffet is usually acceptable and the restaurant staff friendly. But the restaurant staff seem to be overworked and service is usually very slow, with it often taking ages to attract anyone's attention. The choice on the menu is limited, the prices high, and the food usually mediocre at best. One recent improvement - a year or two ago they decided to make internet access free for all hotel guests. Only trouble is that more often than not the wifi signal is poor to nonexistant in the rooms.

With the afore-mentioned "renovations" and "improvements" someone seems to have decided that this justifies a significant increase in rates. I have never particulary enjoyed staying at the Ibis Vlaardingen, but continued to do so because the hotel was relatively inexpensive (up until a couple of years ago only about €80 per night) and conveniently located for me. For my last stay it was suddenly over €100 per night excluding breakfast (another €15). I consider that to be to expensive for what you get - one can get equivalent or better accommodation for less than that on the outskirts of Rotterdam.
Will now only stay there if I find that I have exhausted all other options. If they let me, after reading this review....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for one night as part of a business trip. The hotel had everything that I needed, and the location was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. If I were to have a negative comment it would be that the breakfast was not as good as I would have expected, it was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughan2433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjan P, General Manager at Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Vaughan2433,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.com.I'm sorry to hear the breakfast was not as good as expected. We are currently reviewing our breakfast. Your suggestions will help us to improve. We would really appreciate your suggestions so please be so kind to contact us directly on H1195@accor.com.

With kind regards,

Arjan Peterse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here same time last year, so had no doubts about choosing this hotel again. Room was perfect and clean (still single beds though!), very helpful staff and lovely breakfast again. Vlaardingen Centrum Station is not too far - about 8 euro taxi ride.

No doubt I will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VodkaQueenNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjan P, General Manager at Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear VodkaQueenNL,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor! It really motivates us to to perform even better next time. Please contact us directly for your next reservation. I will make sure you will stay in one of our rooms with a double bed.

With warm regards,
Arjan Peterse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

i went to this hotel in 2002 and stayed for 15 days,the room are clean ,well equipped but a bit small ,i do not think 2 persons can stay in a room .the hotel staff are nice and helpfull ,they all speak english .the location is good on a high way and about 10 minutes walk from city center and vlardingen train station .the breakfast is very nice and has plenty of varieties ,one of the good thing is that mc donalds is a few steps from the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yael39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The cleanliness of the hotel was rather welcoming. The design in the lobby, bar and Restaurant was exceptional. The staffs spoke multiple languages to include fluent English they were also extremely friendly and helpful. There were running tracks nearby if you are into exercise. There were also multiple television channels in English and sufficient channels to keep you comfortable. The bed was highly comfortable the floor in the room was new; the room was also very clean.

The room was on the small side especially if you have more than one persons; a bit too far from the City Center and from Rotterdam, The bar while has a good selection of alcoholic beverages did not have much patron during the time I was there, the breakfast was average and too costly for what you get, however there is a popular inexpensive fast food Global Restaurant next door to the hotel [Unable to name the restaurant because of my capacity, however will let you know if you ask].

Overall a good and pleasant stay and would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr CAMUY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel staff at reception were very pleasant . The rooms were clean, modern but a bit small. They also had air con. Breakfast times were excellent as it was from 6 am till 12 noon. The food was good and the room prices per night were great. The hotel is perfect for short breaks and i will certainly use it again when we return to Holland due to us having friends who live in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Check in was allowed quite early - 8.30am - with no extra charge, fantastic as we had just got off a long, very long, flight. Staff were always polite, friendly and helpful. Room was small by Australian standards, but usual for Europe. No tea/coffee making facilities, again not unusual in European hotels. A pity nonetheless! Room was clean, everything worked as it should and the bed was pretty comfortable. Love having a window that opens. Traffic noise not bothersome but present. The absolute highlight was breakfast, included in the cost - plentiful supply of sliced meats and cheese, freshly made fruit salad, yoghurts, teas, coffees, pastries, condiments plus cooked eggs and bacon. Designed to bring out the inner Miss Piggy. Really good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlaardingen
1.3 mi away
Campanile Hotel Vlaardingen
Campanile Hotel Vlaardingen
#4 of 4 in Vlaardingen
68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen
Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen
#3 of 4 in Vlaardingen
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Delta Hotel Rotterdam
Delta Hotel Rotterdam
#1 of 4 in Vlaardingen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam
0.9 mi away
B&B De Glasparel
B&B De Glasparel
#2 of 2 in Vlaardingen
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen

Address: Westlandseweg 270, 3131 HX Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Vlaardingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
Price Range: $74 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen: close to the ports In addition to individual travelers, this ibis hotel specializes in accommodating business groups. In just 10 minutes you can be at the ports of Rotterdam, Rozenburg and Spijkenisse. The ship and repair yards of Schiedam are also just around the corner. And why not visit the Euromast? The entire hotel provides free WIFI and free parking. In the evening, enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a drink at our bar. You can be at Rotterdam The Hague Airport within 15 minutes. If you are taking the Stena Line ferry from the Hook of Holland, then stay the night before or even after your trip at our ibis hotel, where staff will be on hand to help you round-the-clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing