We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great location - worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delta Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
Certificate of Excellence
Skive, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great location - worth a visit”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Wanting to attend to this hotel for a long time, finally the holiday plan was made and 4 grownups was going to Rotterdam for a one night "on the way" stay at Delta. The hotel was just as expected, placed just in/by the river with a great view, rooms were nice and clean, and the breakfast very fine. We decided to spend come extra money trying out the menu of the day in the gourmet restaurant (3 dishes 30 euro), and I tell you, it was so good - the best food I ever tasted. As a plus the male waiter was really friendly, his attitude and charming smile made us all (definitely us girls!) feel welcome. Overall it was a great stay, and it's no joke that we are wanting to come back again already!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinegf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    159
    50
    19
    2
See reviews for
40
138
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at the Delta fo 1 week. The A/C in our room was broke, but the staff quickly upgraded us to a doubleroom with connecting doors! Breakfast was very good with a nice variety to choose from and eggs, sausages and bacon wasn't overdone. Staff was very serviceminded and friendly even at late hours. We will gladly return. Very recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

It has been 2 years since I last stayed at the Delta Hotel in Vlaardingen and I am pleased to be back. The service, rooms, comfort, style and restaurant have not lost any of their high standard during this time. I am more aware of canal traffic this time though, but it's a bit different and not an imposition. I hope I'll be back here again, it is a delightful, charming hotel with lovely staff and a fabulous setting on the Maas within a 10 minute easy walk from Vlaardingen Centrum station, perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Lovely hotel, lovely location with friendly and helpful staff. Particularly helpful was Receptionist Cherish who went that "extra mile" if I needed help and advice, and Stefan a waiter who made things happen, as in. we were there for almost 3 weeks and starting to get fed up with the menu. We asked if we could just have fish and chips which he organised for us, and they were lovely. A big thank you to all the staff. Patricia:)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happybee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

For me this hotel was good enough, with no reason not to choose to stay again.
The breakfast was very good, and had that been really important to me I would have rated as this hotel very good
My room was comfortable, but I wasabove the car park and was awoken early morning by a revving lorry- probably refuse collection.
The hotel has a nautical theme throughout, right down to the faint "formaldehyde" smell of the sea on entry, but for me it takes it a little too far with "emergency" boxes decorating the bathroom... as if the hotel is trying for boutique, but never quite getting there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

In the past 2 years I have made many trips to Netherlands on business and have generally resigned myself to there being very few pleasant hotels; Delta is one of those little beauties that makes being away from home that little bit less depressing.

I had booked an economy single room but it was unworkably small so I asked for a different room. The cost to upgrade was about 70% of the room price again but well worth it for space, comfort and ever-changing views of the Maas canal. I found it difficult to concentrate on work because the views of the shipping traffic that included cargo boats, speed boats and the Holland-America Line cruise ship were simply fascinating.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and welcoming and were a god laugh when I tried to book a taxi to Hoogvliet but mispronounced it as 'Hoog vlee et' instead of Hawg Flight...it's no wonder they didn't know where I was trying to get to!

I enjoyed a glass of wine on the outside decking, in the sun on both evenings. The meals were lovely and the kitchen were very helpful preparing a meal for me that was meat and pepper free. Bonus points for that!

During my stay there was a large conference in one of the rooms and a large French tour group across the lobby, but even this volume of people did not detract from the presentation and pleasantness (if that's a word?) of the hotel.

If I end up near Rotterdam again I hope to stay at Delta Hotel. The train station is about 5 minutes' walk away so there's no reason why I couldn't stay here and travel into Rotterdam. The hotel is in Vlaardingen, just outside Rotterdam. There are open spaces, fishing, water taxis on the doorstep and the town centre of Vlaardingen within a 10-15 minute walk.

For a 2 night stay in a double room with canal views, bed and breakfast and a meal and a drink on both evenings my bill was about 350 euros so it isn't at the lower end of the price scale - but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We arrived at the Delta to be greeted by a receptionist who told us she had been trying to contact us on the phone numerous times to let us know our 'luxury suite with balcony' room that we had booked was not available. She claimed that booking.com were at fault and that Delta Hotel had been trying to tell them to remove the rooms from their system. Having spoken to booking.com I have been told by them that this is un-true and having read another review on their site have found out that we are not the first people that this has happend to.
We had actually telephoned your hotel about one week before our arrival to confirm that we had the luxury suite with balcony and this was confirmed by the hotel. When we mentioned this to the receptionist she said that it was a trainee that had told us this and was incorrect to do so.
The receptionist was very apologetic and said we could have another 'river view' room (the small and basic nautilis room), VIP package of champagne/chocolates, free dinner in the restaurant and two free drinks at the bar and even offered us the room for free without even having to ask. We even asked if this would be okay with her manager to which she then stated that she was the manager.
We said we would take a look at the room. We went up to the very small room and as it was nothing like the suite we had booked we were very disappointed. Realising that even with all the 'free' stuff, this was not going to be the relaxing break we wanted we connected to the internet and booked a suite with a sauna in the bathroom in another hotel and left.
So as I said if you are prepared to take your chances, you could stay for free.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bif1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlaardingen
Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen
#2 of 4 in Vlaardingen
215 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,802 reviews
Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen
#3 of 4 in Vlaardingen
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Delta Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Maasboulevard 15, 3133 AK Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Vlaardingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotel Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Vlaardingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing